We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sea Gate Inn to your Saves list
The Sea Gate Inn
1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sea Gate for a family wedding. What a wonderful location. Wanda checked us in she could not have been nicer. True Southern hospitality! We love her!

The inn was all we had hoped for and more. Beautiful room, great view, everything we need. We did not bring bicycles but they are a must here. Wanda helped us with bicycles.

We will come back and stay at the Sea Gate!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
11
35
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved this place! Our first trip to St. Simons, and we would love to stay here again. We had a standard King room with oceanview. The suite was huge, and very clean, and I am picky about that. A nice touch...we were late checking in, found our ck in packet easily, got to the room, and they had turned on the heat and several table lamps were turned on, making it very cozy upon arrival. Beautiful King size bed and bedroom with lots of windows, shutters and space. Nice bathroom arrangement with separate toilet, shower, jacuzzi tub, two separate sink areas, and a surprise laundry! Bed was extremely inviting and comfortable. Kitchen could have used a toaster oven and a little more room, but I'm not complaining. Very quiet rooms. View of ocean from balcony. It was close to perfect. Beach across the street was not great, but it was Feb so we were not expecting a beach trip. Go to Driftwood Bch on Jekell for some great photo ops. Staff before & during trip were very pleasant and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend The Sea Gate Inn!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a larger room or ocean view. Standard King suites were plenty big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Finishing up our stay st Sea Gate Inn and it has been wonderful. We had a king suite with a nice balcony overlooking the beach equipped with a nice jacuzzi tub too !! Rooms look just as nice in person as they do online.......and they are NICE !! The bedroom is surrounded by windows that let in tons of sunlight.......its gorgeous !! You will probably need a car (def a bicycle) if you want to get to the shop right down the road but everything is really close. You must eat at Bubba Garcias ad you must visit the GA Sea Turtle Center !! I will def be staying at Sea Gate Inn during my next visit to St Simons Island !!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Sea Gate Inn. It's clean, modern and all the comforts of home. We will definitely be back. The view of the ocean while sitting on the terrace was great. The local town and delicious restuarants help make the long weekend complete. I would recommend this place. I can't wait to go back.

Lori Hendrix, Orlando Fl.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just returned from a few days at The Sea Gate Inn. We arrived three hours before check-in time and were able to get into our suite. We had a deluxe king room, it was very tastefully decorated and extremely clean. The kitchen was small and when booking we should have realized there wasn't an oven, but we made out fine cooking on the stove. The bed was comfortable and my daughter said the pull out sofa was comfortable as well. We loved sitting on the balcony in the morning and evening, the oceanview was fantastic. I was a little disappointed to learn there was no beach until very late in the day when the tide was out but we found a nice spot on East Beach at the end of a dead end road that was very private. The pool was sparkling clean and had it to ourselves the entire stay. When I return to St Simons Island, I will stay here again, it is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I like everything esp. the management.. A guy Ron Aco over there is such a nice person that u can't even imagine.. If u are looking for a really nice place on the beach with all the lastest stuff, awesome cleanliness, awesome view, and comparively low prices, then its the place.. i loved it and visiting again on june 10th Weekend!

Cheers,
Karam

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Absolutely incredibly wonderful. We will most definitely come back. The ocean view room is worth more than what they charge for it. The rooms (more like suites) are super-clean, very modern. The furniture is so comfortable. Even details like the fancy flooring and molding made a big impression on me.

There's nothing quite like laying in bed and hearing and seeing the ocean waves crash outside your 6 bedroom windows.

Great water pressure, free wifi with solid reception all through-out. There are about 73 channels available from comcast including local channels. HVAC in the room works very well. Eating on the balcony was so fun.

Another detail that was impressive was that the doors from room to room in the suites are real, thick, solid doors. They don't mess around go the cheap route. This place is amazing and their website doesn't do it justice.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gate Inn

Address: 1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious new hotel-condominium suites! Each 1 bedroom, 1 bath residence offers a full kitchen, modern decor, large balconies, and gorgeous spa-like baths. Hotel amenities, such as daily housekeeping included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Sea Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Gate Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.