We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
“A weekend in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stumbled upon this place looking for somewhere amazing for a weekend to propose to my wonderful girlfriend and now Fiance. This place was magnificent and even exceeded all of the amazing reviews. William, Jackie, Tina, and others were so helpful in planning our amazing night. The dinner was a complete success and the food was delicious. After dinner the Lodge offered a rose pedal turn down, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate our engagement. The next morning we went down for the complementary breakfast and everyone congratulated us on our engagement. The entire staff was amazing. They aimed to please and never fell short of doing so. We intend to make this a special place that we will come back and visit to celebrate the many special occasions to come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    48
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
37
366
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham,nc
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Lodge for two nights and were very impressed with the attitude of the staff and spacious suite. The cooked-to-order breakfasts were excellent and served in a quiet setting.The ornate furnishings and architectural details provide pleasant surprises throughout the property. We opted for the corner suite (401) and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the ocean and relaxing setting. In fact, we both remarked that the lodge seems to have quite a bit of outdoor space for comfortable conversations.
All of the staff were friendly and attentive. We even took the courtesy bikes for a spin and explored some of the St. Simons' sights that Jackie had suggested.
The Ocean Lodge is probably a five star property for St. Simons Island, but did not measure up to other 5 star experiences we have enjoyed in other parts of the world. Here are the shortfalls which are clearly minor, but in our opinion should not happen in a 5 star environment:
*the TV in the bedroom area did not work
*the K-cup coffee supplied were both stale (and not replenished on the second day)
*the king-sized bed was pretty soft and the sheets had a stain (like a shoe print?). This was corrected without our mentioning it so no issue on our second night, but could have been caught previously(?)
*the shower in the second bathroom was too small to have both of the shower heads (the one flexible type would have been just fine).
*the computer system was down on the morning we departed so we could not get a final accounting confirmation (no additional charges, but I like to have the final bill).
All in all, we would recommend this property for a quiet, couple's getaway where the attentive staff will cater to you and the other guests will respect your privacy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having a great experience at this Lodge on our first stay, we decided to return again for a two day stay. We were given a less desirable room and could not switch. We encountered several problems: (1) the televisions (Comcast) did not work both evenings, (2) the safe would not lock, (3) the lighting in the living room was limited to a single dim table lamp, and (4) the previous stay was less expensive and virually the same time of the year.

For lodging at these prices, we would not have expected to have such problems. On the positive side the full breakfasts were quite good. The best rooms are the odd numbered ones, especially those ending on 01.

We will think about staaying eleswhere on the next visit.

Room Tip: Choose those with an odd number, especially those ending in 01.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a wonderful property. The staff are so welcoming, Mr. Joe, the owner is so helpful. Everyone makes you feel so welcomed. We have been there before and vowed to return. It was worth it.
The only negative was the restaurant at night. Major disconnect somewhere there.. But, for breakfast, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: We got an end room...more light! But, there aren't that many of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is more than a Lodge, I would classify it as a petite 5 star speciality hotel. The suite is well done with comfort found everywhere, from a well organized kitchen to the living room and your comfortable en suite bedroom and balcony from living room to bedroom. A beautiful view of the sea and a lovely night breeze sweeps over you in an amazing bed. I felt very spoiled. Breakfast ordered delivered on time and every person we spoke with pleasant, polite and informative.
This gracious hotel leads you directly out to the water for a good walk in the am into the Village and a stop off at one of the many interesting stores.
If you find the time, want some fun in the sun, adventure and Mojitos at Christmas - a new trend then this is the location. Sweet people, room, location and views that keep on coming!
You will not want to have your holiday end, so you may want to book in advance. Mothers Day, Easter, and make up a holiday if there is not one that comes to mind. It's Thursday must be a holiday. , Live your life and fill it with adventure, it is too short to not take some sweet serenity time! And this will be one of my places to return to, I hope you will try it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I arrived late one night on a business trip, about midnight, and found the office locked. I was knocking on the door when Joe came out of a neighboring door. He let me in, offered some fresh coffee, as well as grabbing some ice for me. Little did I know at the time he was the owner!

I highly recommend the place. As the others have said, the decor is fantastic, and the staff makes it memorable. If you go, definitely hit the bar and restaurant upstairs! Seems all of the local personalities go there and I had a memorable evening with Joe and some of the locals. The food, by the way, if fantastic!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the more water you'll see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone on holiday to Saint Simons. The suite was beautiful, the decor was fantastic, the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was delicious! I went with my boyfriend and we felt so relaxed. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean across the street and I loved sitting out there having wine and cheese! The bed was comfortable and I loved having the jacuzzi tub in one of the bathrooms. Funny enough I also had my best cup of coffee there each morning for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.