We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rutland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrific experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is wonderful. The staff is personable and eager to help, the suites are fabulous, and the hotel has paid attention to the little things that make a big difference (four bottles of free water in the fridge, rather than paying 6.00 for one bottle, as my recent experience at the Mayfair in Coconut Grove). It's very nice to have two bathrooms, a balcony, a beautiful big hot tub, robes, free tasty hot breakfast, free internet, a very comfy and luxurious bed, and a full kitchen, all in walking distance of down town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Ocean Lodge. It is great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities. We do believe in not charging for the things that make your stay that much more enjoyable. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    48
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
37
363
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Ocean Lodge four times in the last six months. To say we like it is obviously an understatement. When we stayed in November we began looking for a second home on St. Simons. After a bit of looking and some reflection we decided to use the Ocean Lodge instead. Everyone on the staff is friendly and willing to help make the stay enjoyable. Jackie has helped with reservations and got us Christmas dinner reservations at the Jekyll Island Club when there was a waiting list; Willam is unfalingly cheerful and fun to talk with; Michelle's sunny disposition brightened our breakfasts and she took great care of our room each time; Gloria takes such good care of you at breakfast that you want to take her home with you when you leave.
The Ocean Lodge has made it difficult to consider staying anyplace else in the area. We have already made reservations for our next visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for considering us your second home. We like to consider anyone who visits us part of our family, but 4 times in 6 months? We may just have to adopt you guys. Also, thank you for mentioning the staff members who went above and beyond for you. I will certainly pass this along to them. I'm sure that we will see you again very soon, so until then thank you and come back home.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Lodge for New Years Eve and the hotel is simply amazing. The rooms are opulent and luxurious with beautiful architecture throughout the hotel. We also can't say enough about how wonderful and accommodating the entire staff treated us. Because the hotel is small, they are able to provide so much personal service. A special thank you to William - you made us feel extra special and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 301 was beautiful with a good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that we were able to make your stay here amazing and we are happy to hear that you will be returning. We pride ourselves on not only the building itself, but more importantly, the staff. We are so glad that it showed during your stay. Thanks again and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On a holiday trip, it's the little things that matter, and Ocean Lodge delivers.
We spent a second Christmas on SSI at Ocean Lodge (to escape), and we had everything we could need or want. We did not make a single request that wasn't cheerfully granted. From housekeeping to the front desk to the restaurant upstairs, everyone was friendly and seemed genuinely appreciative of our business.
Sure. You'll probably get a much better deal somewhere else, but Ocean Lodge is a treat, and I recommend splurging.

Room Tip: Room 401 is the best view, excluding the penthouse. Just don't try to steal it from us, when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Ocean Lodge and we hope to see you again soon. We are always looking for ways to make your experience that much better and we also believe that it is "the little things that matter". Thank you for recognizing that and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently stayed at this Lodge and found them less than honorable. We were quoted one price which was suppose to be discount off the internet however the Lodge was offering $198 per night for 2 nights if you make your reservations from Nov1 - Dec 31. Travel from Nov. 1-March 31, 2013. We made our reservations Nov. 8 and traveled this past weekend, Dec 15th. They would not honor their special, therefore we had to pay over $100 more than the offer. This is very bad business practice. We also had some of our specially purchased wine taken from our room out of two bottles..It must have been taken during the cleaning..it was missing when we returned to our room. The view was suppose to be ocean but it was possible to see pieces of the ocean if you looked between the condo's all in front of your balcony. A big let down. The shower head was way off and very little pressure. The sheets were not clean the first night. We had to strip the bed to make sure they change them. We are definitely not a happy couple. This was our 41 anniversary and we were so disappointed with our stay. Will not be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Reeves,

It is unfortunate we were unable to live up to your expectations. We have had many sales with Sniqueaway, during which time we do not post any other type of sale due to honoring our relationship and agreement. Our fall sale with SniqueAway began on October 29th.

We note your reservation with Sniqueaway was booked on Sunday evening, November 4th, with the sale ending on Monday, November 5th.

As with many properties, we have open dates throughout the winter months when we can offer a great value for suite reservations at Ocean Lodge. More often we offer these rates exclusively to our E-Club members and Facebook followers.

On November 8th, we posted our Winter Escape Special to our E-Club members, and followed that with an announcement of the sale on our website and on Facebook. While the Winter Escape clip stated November 1st, we waited until November 8th to advertise the sale so we could fulfill our obligation for the Sniqueaway sale, which allows for the best off of our rack rates.


Our weekend policy is a two-night (Friday and Saturday) minimum on the weekends, though we do honor alternate arrival/departure patterns for Sniqueaway guests, as with you stay with us on Saturday and Sunday nights. While you were here, there were also two other couples that took advantage of the Sniqueaway sale.

When we spoke on Monday, I was delighted to hear you say how wonderful your stay was, with your only issue being the discrepancy between Sniqueaway and Ocean Lodge’s two sale dates. Since the first reservation runs through an account with Sniqueaway, we extended to you a special Ocean Lodge rate to return for another get-away for you and your wife. Apparently you have declined. It is unfortunate you consider that “bad business practice”.

It is also unfortunate that you did not mention ANY of the issues you decided to relay to us via TripAdvisor, during your stay, so I could have had an opportunity to correct them.

Best of luck in your future travel endeavors.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great Experience! Plan on returning with friends. Luxurous room accomodations. Restaurant meal was supurb. The one thing that struck us most was the accododating and friendly staff. From the hostess in the restaurant to the houskeeping staff. Everyone was truly concerned that our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful getaway with us. We can't wait until you return!!!

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We experienced excellent service from the moment my husband called Ocean Lodge to book our honeymoon until we checked out. Jackie who made our reservations is such a darling. When she discovered that we were going to be on our honeymoon she had a special surprise for us. The entire staff was attentive, accommodating and extremely helpful. The decor of the lodge is exquisite and really makes you feel as if you are a world away, but at the same time the owner and all the staff are so down-to-earth that you feel at home. If you are looking for a romantic, first-class boutique hotel, home away from home where you can experience just the right amount luxury without the stuffiness-Ocean Lodge is the place for you. Good to know - 1) A delicious hot breakfast is served daily. Be sure to try the blueberry pancakes--soo good! 2) There is no official "room service" menu but you can order food from the Roof Top restaurant and they will bring it to your room no problem. The pool is tiny (if you are a pool person you will be disappointed), 3) free bicycles are available for guests, be sure to take a ride around the town. All in all we had a fantastic time, highly recommend it and plan to return to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, if you can afford to splurge go for the penthouse, the view is wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service. We will definitely pass this wonderful review to our staff, it will make their day! We look forward to your return to Ocean Lodge in the future.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.