We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little things that matter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The little things that matter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On a holiday trip, it's the little things that matter, and Ocean Lodge delivers.
We spent a second Christmas on SSI at Ocean Lodge (to escape), and we had everything we could need or want. We did not make a single request that wasn't cheerfully granted. From housekeeping to the front desk to the restaurant upstairs, everyone was friendly and seemed genuinely appreciative of our business.
Sure. You'll probably get a much better deal somewhere else, but Ocean Lodge is a treat, and I recommend splurging.

Room Tip: Room 401 is the best view, excluding the penthouse. Just don't try to steal it from us, when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Ocean Lodge and we hope to see you again soon. We are always looking for ways to make your experience that much better and we also believe that it is "the little things that matter". Thank you for recognizing that and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    41
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
33
340
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently stayed at this Lodge and found them less than honorable. We were quoted one price which was suppose to be discount off the internet however the Lodge was offering $198 per night for 2 nights if you make your reservations from Nov1 - Dec 31. Travel from Nov. 1-March 31, 2013. We made our reservations Nov. 8 and traveled this past weekend, Dec 15th. They would not honor their special, therefore we had to pay over $100 more than the offer. This is very bad business practice. We also had some of our specially purchased wine taken from our room out of two bottles..It must have been taken during the cleaning..it was missing when we returned to our room. The view was suppose to be ocean but it was possible to see pieces of the ocean if you looked between the condo's all in front of your balcony. A big let down. The shower head was way off and very little pressure. The sheets were not clean the first night. We had to strip the bed to make sure they change them. We are definitely not a happy couple. This was our 41 anniversary and we were so disappointed with our stay. Will not be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Reeves,

It is unfortunate we were unable to live up to your expectations. We have had many sales with Sniqueaway, during which time we do not post any other type of sale due to honoring our relationship and agreement. Our fall sale with SniqueAway began on October 29th.

We note your reservation with Sniqueaway was booked on Sunday evening, November 4th, with the sale ending on Monday, November 5th.

As with many properties, we have open dates throughout the winter months when we can offer a great value for suite reservations at Ocean Lodge. More often we offer these rates exclusively to our E-Club members and Facebook followers.

On November 8th, we posted our Winter Escape Special to our E-Club members, and followed that with an announcement of the sale on our website and on Facebook. While the Winter Escape clip stated November 1st, we waited until November 8th to advertise the sale so we could fulfill our obligation for the Sniqueaway sale, which allows for the best off of our rack rates.


Our weekend policy is a two-night (Friday and Saturday) minimum on the weekends, though we do honor alternate arrival/departure patterns for Sniqueaway guests, as with you stay with us on Saturday and Sunday nights. While you were here, there were also two other couples that took advantage of the Sniqueaway sale.

When we spoke on Monday, I was delighted to hear you say how wonderful your stay was, with your only issue being the discrepancy between Sniqueaway and Ocean Lodge’s two sale dates. Since the first reservation runs through an account with Sniqueaway, we extended to you a special Ocean Lodge rate to return for another get-away for you and your wife. Apparently you have declined. It is unfortunate you consider that “bad business practice”.

It is also unfortunate that you did not mention ANY of the issues you decided to relay to us via TripAdvisor, during your stay, so I could have had an opportunity to correct them.

Best of luck in your future travel endeavors.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great Experience! Plan on returning with friends. Luxurous room accomodations. Restaurant meal was supurb. The one thing that struck us most was the accododating and friendly staff. From the hostess in the restaurant to the houskeeping staff. Everyone was truly concerned that our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful getaway with us. We can't wait until you return!!!

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We experienced excellent service from the moment my husband called Ocean Lodge to book our honeymoon until we checked out. Jackie who made our reservations is such a darling. When she discovered that we were going to be on our honeymoon she had a special surprise for us. The entire staff was attentive, accommodating and extremely helpful. The decor of the lodge is exquisite and really makes you feel as if you are a world away, but at the same time the owner and all the staff are so down-to-earth that you feel at home. If you are looking for a romantic, first-class boutique hotel, home away from home where you can experience just the right amount luxury without the stuffiness-Ocean Lodge is the place for you. Good to know - 1) A delicious hot breakfast is served daily. Be sure to try the blueberry pancakes--soo good! 2) There is no official "room service" menu but you can order food from the Roof Top restaurant and they will bring it to your room no problem. The pool is tiny (if you are a pool person you will be disappointed), 3) free bicycles are available for guests, be sure to take a ride around the town. All in all we had a fantastic time, highly recommend it and plan to return to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, if you can afford to splurge go for the penthouse, the view is wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service. We will definitely pass this wonderful review to our staff, it will make their day! We look forward to your return to Ocean Lodge in the future.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From check-in to breakfast, to the outdoor dinner and menu, this Lodge is like taking a vacation in Europe. Each suite is impeccably decorated. A balcony to sit and have a drink, and listen (and see) the ocean. Fire pit and patio heaters made eating outside in the cooler weather very tolerable. We actually decided to stay an extra night because we liked it so much.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so there isn't a bad one. We stayed in 301 which was a corner room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to Ocean Lodge. It is so rewarding to hear feedback such as yours. We are very proud of our staff and will share your review with them, it will make them very happy I'm sure. We are so glad that you decided to stay an extra night! Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I figured with all the hype that this place has gotten (e.g., voted one of the most romantic places to stay) that it wouldn't quite live up to its reputation--which for us it didn't. However, it is still a very nice place to stay and I have no regrets having booked our three nights there. As many others have said, it is really more like an apartment--very spacious--and quite comfortable. I have to say that the decor was a bit heavy-handed for my tastes (large brocades, heavy curtains, furniture and paintings that are supposed to make you feel like you are in a Roman villa). However, I'm sure this would have appeal to some and it was not objectionable. I loved that my husband had his own bathroom and the two flat screen tvs came in handy when we wanted some time apart. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, bedding and towels were high end, and the robes were great. The staff all seemed very anxious to please.

Now to the few things that make me not inclined to give it 5 stars:
- When I made the original booking I tried to get a corner room for the best view, but was told these were all occupied. I was told that all rooms have an ocean view. This is true, but the room we had (in the middle of the lodge) looked out on other houses and you only had a sliver of a view of the ocean unless you went out on the balcony and looked to the far right.
- Like a prevous reviewer, I do have to say that housekeeping could be improved. We had 3 burned out bulbs in the room. I left the one by the bed on the bedside table. It was taken away, but a new bulb was not put in its place, thereby making reading in bed quite difficult. The faucets on our jet tub also did not work properly and it was not possible to control the temperature, so I gave up on the idea of trying to take a jacuzzi. Housekeeping also could have been a little less stingy with the toiletries, as ones I used were not replaced and we were only given one bar of soap in the bathroom, requiring that this be shared between the shower and the wash basin.
- Yes, there was a Keurig coffee maker, but no supplies for tea.
- Although we did not try to cook in the kitchen, it would have been hard to do so if we had wanted to as there was only one skillet and a platic spatula. Also, there was not a complete set of dishes--presumably some had been broken, but not replaced.
- Breakfast was quite plentiful, but there were some sorry aspects to it. Bowl of fruit I got on the first day looked several days old and the hash browns were old tasting and had clearly been microwaved. The ones served on the second day were better but still not freshly prepared.

O.k., now I know I'm sounding pretty petty, but this places bills itself as a high-end place (complete with butler services--somehow we never ran into him) and tries to get you to pay close to $400/room. Fortunately, we were able to get a good rate ($189/night) by searching for a promo code, and I think this is a reasonable rate to pay, especially given that breakfast is included. I did like the place, but still not quite certain about the tremendous hype it has gotten. A nice inn if you can get a decent rate, but I wouldn't go too far out of your way to stay there unless you can get the right price.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Ocean Lodge. I was pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and loved reading all of the great comments. I was also glad that you were able to provide us with some needed feedback on how we could have made your stay more enjoyable. We are always striving to improve anything that we can do to make our guest's stay more enjoyable and it always helps to have valuable feedback such as yours. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I chose this destination as the site for our wedding ceremony in November of 2012. We chose the Escape Package due to our desire for a small, yet intimate, ceremony. The hotel staff was excellent in providing us with everything that we wanted for our accommodations. Our wedding coordinator, Tina, was absolutely amazing. The 3-night stay at this location was beyond excellent. The 4-course dinner at their rooftop restaurant was top-quality with the freshest seafood in the area. Overall, our experience was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and we will definitely be back for future visits. We also very impressed with the friendly staff, and how everyone was more than willing to help us to make planning our wedding as stress-free as possible. The courtyard provided the perfect backdrop for our wedding ceremony. Every vendor recommended by Tina was very professional and accommodating toward our vision and budget. Our wedding coordinators make sure that our day went perfectly well and ensured that our vision was more than we could have ever imagined. To top it off, the hotel staff made our 3-night stay as romantic and comfortable as possible. We would definitely love to return every year for our future anniversaries. If you are looking to have any unforgettable experience for your special wedding day, Ocean Lodge is the best of the Golden Isles!!!

Room Tip: The corner suites have the best balconies which in turn have the best ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, Congrats on your new marriage. We are so thrilled that you chose Ocean Lodge as your venue for that special time. We are even more thrilled that we were able to help make your wedding as beautiful as it was. We can't wait to see you guys year after year for your anniversaries. Thanks so much for your kind words and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.