We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in St. Simons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beaufort, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection in St. Simons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second time at Ocean Lodge and we've already booked again. Wonderful rooms, great food (both breakfast and at the rooftop restaurant), but all of it would be nothing without the outstanding staff. Pampered is too weak a word.

Room Tip: Corner suites have huge verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to Ocean Lodge. It is so rewarding to hear feedback such as yours. We are very proud of our staff and will share your review with them, it will make them very happy I'm sure. Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    39
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
324
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a wonderful, little hotel and they treat you as if you are their only guest. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is delicious and served in a beautiful room. The rooms are really suites and full of tiny details that add to the experience...from the full wood doors and lighted cabinets, to the little finials on the hinges. The restaurant is quite good with a fantastic view. (But if you are looking for a pool experience, then this may not be your best choice because the pool is tiny and shallow.) But your private veranda is huge, and best of all, the bed is extremely comfortable! My husband and I had an absolutely terrific stay and hope to return someday soon.

Room Tip: There is a row of houses between the hotel and the beach, so the rooms on the higher up floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had such a great experience at Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Our staff certainly appreciates your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithtown, ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a wonderful property the Ocean Lodge is. The suites are absolutely beautiful, jet tub and all. The hotel is in a great location with a fairly short walk to town. We dined at the rooftop restaurant and enjoyed the early bird special. The food was delicious topped off with key lime pie or peach bread pudding. Scrumptious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had such a great experience at Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Our staff certainly appreciates your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had booked the Ocean Lodge as a surprise getaway for my wife's 50th birthday. She was delighted and said "it was like a second honey moon". If you seek something different from the regular 5 stars type of luxuray hotels, the Ocean Lodge is a good choice. You are not just a number among hundreds of others, you being treated like a VIP guest of the family.
The complimentary bicycles were a nice add-on which inspired us for a scenic ride to Sea Island.

Room Tip: If you want good ocean views, book suite 401 called Sea Island, this has the best views, besides the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all, Happy Birthday to your wife, and we are glad that you guys got to spend it here at Ocean Lodge. Your description of our property is exactly what we are looking to accomplish. We want to give you all the luxury of the larger 5 star hotels, but also provide the warmth of southern hospitality. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and we ca't wait until your return.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Our suite was amazing. Beautifully decorated and very cozy. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooftop restaurant was good with a beautiful view. The only problem we had was the matress, it was worn and forced us to sleep in the middle of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Ocean Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will return soon. I apologize for the issue you had with your mattress and want to assure you that we are inspecting all of our mattresses to ensure that they all all up to our standards. Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Ocean Lodge was FANTASTIC! The hotel lived up to the beautiful online photos, and far exceeded our expectations. Our room was spacious, the private balcony was wonderful, and the jacuzzi tub was an unexpected treat. The complimentary breakfast was top-notch and the staff was the epitome of customer service. I hope to return many times over.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope that you will be able to return many more times. We love to hear when a guest enjoys Ocean Lodge so much, that they can't wait to return. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I went to the Ocean Lodge for a weekend getaway. The suite was wonderful with two bathrooms (shower in one and jetted tub in the other), a full kitchen, and a large covered patio with a view of the ocean. Definitely do not miss the breakfast (included in room price)--the food was great and the coffee was amazing. We also had dinner one night at the rooftop restaurant and our meal was excellent--my wife had the prime rib special and I had the pecan-crusted mahi-mahi and we shared an outstanding mussels appetizer. We definitely plan on returning to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and wonderful service.

Room Tip: The corner suites are roomy with extra large patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful and memorable experience with us. We are looking forward to your return again soon!

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.