We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer's Village Cafe

Palmer's Village Cafe
223 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912 634-5515
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Saint Augustine, FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious & Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This wonderful small cafe serves traditional breakfast & lunch items but what's so special are the gourmet, unique offerings that are incredible yet still totally at a normal price. Everything is so fresh. There is also the charm of the place with it's wide planned wood floors and tin ceiling and the warm welcome the owner Palmer gives you. Makes you feel like a local. Wish I was visiting SSI long enough to try everything but, I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    93
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Sweet Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This charming restaurant was exactly what we wanted for breakfast! We found it by searching on Trip Advisor and it exceeded our expectations! I'll start with the service, it's what you expect from a 5 star restaurant every server that walked by our table refilled our coffee or checked our needs, they were so attentive I felt like we were celebrities.
The food was incredible, unique and not your typical breakfast fare.
We split one blueberry nut pancake (perfect balance between sweet and savory), and I had the Islander, my husband had the Hooch. Everything we ordered was perfect, cooked perfectly and seasoned well. I didn't finish my Islander because I couldn't eat another bite but the OWNER came by to clear our plates, yes you heard that right, the Owner bussed our table and informed me that I could order half of the Islander on my next visit! I love that they are willing to cater to your needs. We read so much about the blueberry nut pancakes but we both were in the mood for something savory so were able to order one pancake to share instead of the entire order.
Everything was perfect and we can't wait to come back on our next visit.
The owner, Palmer is hands on and super nice, he greeted us, shook our hands and then checked us out. This is a gem in St. Simons.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Treat Yourself to Dinner at Palmers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I've lived in San Francisco, San Diego and traveled extensively in Italy. It is with some authority I can say I know good food. I moved to Saint Simons Island four years ago and missed the quality of fresh and innovative food significantly. And then Palmers opened. Treat yourself by eating at Palmers, a locally owned restaurant, located in The Village. Palmer will greet you while John is creating interesting, delicious dinners in the kitchen. The presentation is magazine worthy. How many meals do you let the food linger in your mouth while you enjoy the varying flavors as you discuss them at your table? Prices are very reasonable and the house wine is delicious. They only serve dinner on Thur/Fri and Sat evenings so plan ahead.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It begins again in this little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you visit St. Simons, this is a must! Great food, great service and great atmosphere..............

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pimento cheese in the grits...yes, please.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I'm oringinally from Brunswick, but this place has popped up since I moved away. On a trip back home this past weekend, my brother's girlfriend took us all to breakfast at the restaurant where she worked, Palmers. I think that's saying something right there when you're willing to go eat at the place you serve food all week long. It was dang delicious. I went simple and had a biscuit with gravy (delish) and some grits. The waitress suggested that I add pimento cheese to my grits. OMG. What an amazing idea. Yes, yes, and yes. It was delicious. I couldn't get enough of them. I want them now. My mouth is watering.

I also tried everyone elses food and everything was amazing. My mom had an omlet of sorts, i forget what kind. But it had fried onions on top and it was to die for. I also tried the banana pancake and the PB&J pancake. They were very rich and very delicious. They're also pretty big, so I recommend getting a single pancake and letting everyone at the table sample it.

Amazing meal, great service, quaint atmosphere. I will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmer's Village Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Palmer's Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer's Village Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.