We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Japanese Food Made by Real Japanese People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanaka Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tanaka Japanese Restaurant
11235 Alpharetta Hwy Ste 122, Roswell, GA 30076
(770) 740-1488
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 289 Restaurants in Roswell
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Milton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Japanese Food Made by Real Japanese People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Fifteen years ago my wife and I stumbled into Tanaka. We have loved it since. I've had wannabe sushi eaters tell me how they prefer some fancy schmancy restaurant or some trendy "Asian" place. I can tell they think the more it costs the better it is. I tell them to go to Tanaka and they'll find out what real Japanese food made by real Japanese people tastes like. Every time they come back to me and say "You were right, the food was incredible."

Its called Tanaka because Mr. Tanaka owns the place and makes the sushi himself every night. He doesn't speak English. The food is so good he posts special menus written in Japanese on the wall because so many Japanese come into the place.

Besides sushi, he also has a wide range of other Japanese dishes. Its all good!!! Trust me, you'll be saying the same thing all my friends have said over the years -- "You were right, the food was incredible."

And if you have taken the time to read this far then you deserve my best tip of all -- get a Mexican roll. It's delicious!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tanaka, Consistently good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I am an ESL teacher and my Japanese students recommended Tanaka for good, Japanese food in the area. The food is very good. Restaurant is small, though, so I recommend getting there early (no later than 6) or there will be a wait. Service has consistently been excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta, georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi restaurant in Atlanta area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been going here for at least two years, and this is our favorite sushi restaurant in the entire Atlanta area. Prices are reasonable as well. The spicy scallops rolls and Dynamite rolls are the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Near failing grade on inspection -- RUN!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Attempting to find a replacement for the recently closed Nagoya, I read the reviews on Tanaka and felt it may become my new favorite Sushi place. Walked in to find an extremely small place, which is okay, with a short wait. Then I saw the latest inspection report: 71/100. That sealed it for me. My life isn't worth it. May try again but only when they clean up and get the score over a 95!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This restaurant has been my favorite for over 10 years. They offer truly authentic japanese food and the sushi is to die for. The atmosphere is small, quaint, cozy, and romantic. Service is excellent. I highly recommend Tanaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanaka Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tanaka Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanaka Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.