We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, great ambience, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foundation Social Eatery

Foundation Social Eatery
1570 Holcomb Bridge Rd, Suite 810, Roswell, GA 30076
7706418877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 289 Restaurants in Roswell
Price range: $10 - $27
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New, great ambience, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This place looks new and fresh. I love the open airy modern ambience. We ate outside and enjoyed the view and wonderful weather. The service was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. What I liked is that they had starters and main dishes but also a series of cheese and meat dishes that can be ordered singly or in groups and shared at the table. Great desserts too!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Odd Name, Odd Decor, Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is actually the fourth restaurant in this space in a renovated strip mall on Holcomb Bridge Road. I have tried it for dinner and for lunch. My first comment is about the name. It is so odd that I can never remember it in order to tell friends. Then there is the decor. Eclectic does not adequately describe it. There are panels that look like they're covered with '60s design shelf lining paper, and more odd looking wooden cut-out panels on the walls. Most of the chairs are hard wood with no padding. (Cushions would be nice for bony butts.) There are a few chairs with lattice woven fabric that look more comfortable, however the accompanying table top is of uneven artistic squares. How can it accommodate dishes and glasses without spillage? Overall the ambiance is puzzling. The bar takes up half of the front of the restaurant and is separated from the dining area, but that does not cut down the noise level at all. Dinnertime was crowded and very, very noisy, but lunch was quiet since there were only a few tables being served.

About the food: Both the lunch and dinner menus are short, with limited, slightly offbeat selections, also slightly pricy. The food has been uniquely delicious. I would recommend the scallops, mussels, and (lunch) lamb sandwich. I was not impressed with the Rosemary olive oil cake dessert. In spite of the description, it was flavorless. The service was fine. I was told that the menu changes seasonally, but so far they have only been open since May, one season. I would go there again, and I think a quiet lunch would be most welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Where is our food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We dined with our neighbors at Foundation on a Sunday evening with reservations. The place was packed and a wedding reception or similar event going on. We had a 20 minute wait for the table and were promptly met by the waiter for our wine selection. Very soon we ordered our dinner(s) but it took over an hour for the food to arrive. No offer for a glass of wine etc. which would have been nice. No explanation for the wait on the food, though were were told a few times it was next up.

The food was very good but I am not sure it was worth the wait. The restaurant had recently opened so we may have been part of the shake-down cruise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't sit in the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I met a friend for dinner recently and we were seated in the bar area. The food was very good....we both had the scallops and they were delicious. The grilled octopus was tasty although they could improve on the presentation of this dish as it made us both a bit squeamish. The wine list was limited and not many wines that are recognizable. Overall the food was good but my legs were numb by the end of the evening as the high tops are very uncomfortable. I prefer a nice comfy booth vs. a fusion contemporary atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Innovative new eatery in Roswell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had some wonderful creative and delicious food here. There were 4 of us so we shared some starters and entrees. The mushroom ravioli is a must. The potato gnocchi was delightful in a broth that was herb infused. The hanger steak is the best you will ever have. We thought we were eating tenderloin. Grouper was fresh and very good. We had no room for dessert but we will go back for sure and soon.
The atmosphere is contemporary and hardwood Floors make it quite noisy if seated out front near the bar.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Social Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Foundation Social Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foundation Social Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.