We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in kampar town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Kampar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Kampar Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Kampar Hotel
2188, Jalan Timah, Bandar Baru Kampar, Kampar 31900, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kampar
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best hotel in kampar town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

12 of us checked into the grand kampar hotel in kampar.The external features of the hotel was eye catching and beautiful.However the standard rooms were average.The toilet bowl needs changes as it was a little damaged.However this is the best hotel in kampar.The breakfast was average.The hotel rates were cheap.The staff were very friendly and accomodating.Overall the hotel is value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the executive room instead of the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    47
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
8
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is the place to stay whenever we visit Kampar, Cameron Highlands or Ipoh.
A good-for-money 3 star accommodation with spacious and clean rooms. Ideal for family stay
at reasonable charge.

Good food within and nearby the hotel. Plenty of parking spaces and friendly staffs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johor bahru
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed in the family suite, big, clean and comfortable. The living room was seperated from the beds.
The hotel is closed to Secredt Recipe, McDonald. Nice Asian buffer breakfast was served in the moring.
But No Chinese newspaper was given.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed 1n on a Sat nite. Located in Bandar Baru Kampar ie. new part of Kampar town, easily distinguishable by its palace-like facade with roof architecture resembling a cathedral or resort in the "happiest place on earth". Parking plentiful at front & back, all free! We were given a standard deluxe room roomy enough for 2 single beds + 1 extra. Could fit another single bed for a family/larger group with sufficient walking space. Bathroom was ok - shower tiles a little grimy; water flow tended to end up on floor possibly due to design or construction problem. However, shower strength was excellent and made up for shortfalls (all's well so long as shower head is aimed in correct direction). Had a challenge taming the airconditioning unit as airflow was so strong, could feel it even at furthest corner of room even when set at its lowest. TV entertainment a limited choice betw local & satellite channels. Else hang around the lobby & tap into the free wifi.

About 30 of us sat down on a long table for "banana leaf rice" dinner - waiters moved around serving rice/meat/curry/condiments/etc. Plenty to choose from but tasted better ones in KL. Coffee house was probably not the right atmosphere to savour this fare as it's meant to be eaten in an authentic Indian curry house, hot & sweaty all the way. Buffet b'fast so-so.. probably get better & cheap enough food at the many coffee shops nearby. Else a 5-min stroll to the golden arches for those needing their fastfood fix...

Used one of the function rooms for our event - spacious and clean. With restrooms at the rear, minimised disruption with ppl going in & out. Apparently there was a swimming pool & gym at rooftop but didn't get a chance to use them. Our party made full use of the sports complex next door - covered tennis court + futsal.

Visited a nearby church (2mins drive, 5mins walk) for Sunday service - Calvary City Church. Small yet energetic congregation courtesy of nearby campus (UTAR & TAR college).

Check-in and check-out was smooth, attentive & polite staff. All in all, good value for money as the hotel caters well to nature lovers (caving, whitewater rafting, lighthouse, etc nearby), stopovers as well as visitors to the nearby tertiary institutions. Short drive from the old town for those seeking some nostalgia & traditional eats (chicken bread, steamed buns, noodles, etc).

Room Tip: Non-smokers can request room on non-smoking floors eg. 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed over for one night on 10 Aug 2011 on our way to Kota Bahru.

We were impressed with the size of the room, complimentary Wifi and the service staff were all very helpful. Conveniently located at the new township where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We drove down to Kampar in early August and checked into Grand Kampar Hotel. The building is tall and it can be easily seen when close. The hotel is situated in a student town close to a private university (UTAR), Therefore you may lots of restaurants, fast food, pubs around such as Secret Recipe, MacDonald is just nearby and lots of other restaurants.

The check in was fast and the receptionist are friendly and helpful. We were fascinated when we see our room. It is spacious, clean and neat. Everything is in place. We have a joining room and so our parents are able to access into our room easily. The hotel also provide us a baby cot for my baby without charge. Great service.

The tin-mining museum is nearby and it should be opening soon. The swimming pool at the roof top is nice and clean. I would recommend it to everyone who wants to stay a night in Kampar.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

People stay in this Hotel are mostly bypassers.

A very clean and cozy hotel. And the rate is quite reasonable. The hotel front staffs are friendly, internet in room is free if you have your own laptop and cables. The rental of the cable is 5RM, it's cheap but I think this charges can be waived off. I forgot to bring my own cable though.


Just around the Hotel , there are places for food....very nice local food. As this trip I suppose to stay in Ipoh bypassing Malaysia after my long road trip from Thailand, my GPS lead me there.


Wort staying, no complains at all! I sure I will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Kampar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kampar Hotel

Address: 2188, Jalan Timah, Bandar Baru Kampar, Kampar 31900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kampar District > Kampar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kampar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kampar Hotel is a 3 star deluxe hotel in Kampar lies within Kinta Valley, close proximity to Cameron Highlands, Perak, Malaysia.Grand Kampar Hotel GPS Coordinates : North : 4° 19' 39.1" , East : 101° 8' 44.5" .(Google Map)Grand Kampar Hotel is an impressive Spanish architecture and situated in the heart of Taman Bandar Baru Kampar, which is the fastest growing township in the area. The town was a centre in the tin mine industry, founded in 1887. The name Kampar was derived from the Cantonese words “kam pou”. It means 'precious gold' and refers to the town's previously large tin reserves.Located within the vicinity of this hotel is Kolej Tunku Abdul Rahman, University Tunku Abdul Rahman (Main Campus), banks, corporations, and factories. A wide variety of restaurants and bistros are within walking distance. Eco-recreation activities such as bird watching, trekking, fishing, caving and white water rafting are within easy reach.Grand Kampar Hotel features 155 rooms in five categories; Standard Deluxe, Executive Deluxe, Triple Deluxe, Family Suite and Executive Suite. All the rooms are equipped with modern facilities for your comfortable accommodation in Kampar. Wi-Fi connection only available at lobby area.For good and cheap dining in Kampar, there is so much to offer. Guests can dine in under the cozy atmosphere of the in-house cafe which serve Asian and Western cuisines. We also cater for a wide variety of Chinese cuisines in our in-house Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Kampar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Kampar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.