We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Pig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin Pig

Smokin Pig
3986 U.S. 17, Richmond Hill, GA 31324
(912) 756-7850
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Kerrville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“the Pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

great food, great staff and the service was on time even though it was a friday nite. will come back here for sure

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    67
    26
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have eaten at alot of the local BBQ joints and found The Smokin Pig to be our fav. Had the loaded baked tater the other night and some brunswick stew YUM.

We will be back.

The service was great, very clean and friendly for the whole family. Try their mustard base hot sauce.....MMMMMM

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“you must eat the brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

the side mac and cheese is to die for, always get the vinegar sauce with the chicken and the spicey with the brisket. Brunswick stew is just OK, but I always get it for some reason

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kure Beach
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“really smoked meats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

the smoking pig had a excellent pulled porked with a couple nices sauces, a bit harrd to find in a strip mall but you can see the cooker a bit off the road.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A tiny hole in the wall.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just off of I-95 in a small strip mall this storefront restaurant has just a few tables. The food is served on paper plates. It is a typical barbecue menu. The brisket was dry as was the pulled pork. Without sauce the brisket was tasteless. The meat fell of the bone on the ribs and was tasty. They offer a selection of sauces and after trying the hot and the mild I ended up with the sweet sauce. All the condiments are in a bucket on your table. The cole slaw was too spice for my taste and I did not care much for the potato salad. The portions are fairly large. Next time I "hanker" for barbecue I will hold out for Sonny's or Fat Boys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin Pig also viewed

 
Richmond Hill, Georgia Coast
Richmond Hill, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Smokin Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.