We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Your Paperwork” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3741 Tramore Pointe, Powder Springs, GA 30106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Powder Springs
Crestview, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Check Your Paperwork”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Holiday Inn was clean and staff was pleasant enough. Noise levels were minimal, always a good thing. Breakfast could have been a bit better, some of the "hot" foods tasted rather old as though it had been reheated several times. But my real issue with this hotel was the pricing tactics. I checked in on a Wednesday and stayed two nights. When I got my bill the price for Wednesday was more than Thursday? I called the front desk and asked about it. The person on the phone said to me, and I quote, "you did initial the paperwork". OK. After driving for 7 hours, I guess I should have been a bit more on top of things, but I was exhausted. My fault.The manager came on the phone and told me, again I quote, "our prices change daily". For some reason, this did not make me feel better, go figure. Lesson here is just check your sign in paperwork carefully and ask right up front what the nightly pricing is or deal with incompetent and uncaring employees.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear wanderbug123,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you found our property clean. On the other hand, I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the rate confusion. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
2
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rawson, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice location, easily accessable from highway, close to shopping and eateries. Room was very nice, located on back side of hotel. View over looked trees, quiet for sleeping. Staff was friendly and acknowledged IGH Platinum elite status right away. Good location for business as meeting only 1/2 mile close by.

Room Tip: Choose the back side of hotel, over looks tree area, quiet sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We were visiting family in Georgia for Thanksgiving and this hotel was half a mile a way so we decided to stay here. When we get in out room late that night we kept trying to turn the air on and it wouldn't come on. So we tell the front desk and someone comes up and looks at and d*** near takes the thing apart and says he's not sure what's wrong and they are fully booked. So I ask for a discount he states he will take care of it. It got so hot in that room we went and purchased a fan, my kids were sweating in their sleep. So I woke up around 6 am to use the bathroom and see my receipt they slipped under the door. My "discount" he gave was $5!!!! I was so pissed I went down to the front desk a couple hrs when the lady working seemed less than interested that the air in my room didn't work and I told her the discount is ridiculous! She proceeded to take 10% more off my bill wow a whole $15 in total making my bill $102. So I called guest relations to complain they stated they would let hotel management know. We check-out around 1030 am a couple hrs later I get a call from the lady I spoke with at the front desk stating she went to the room I was in and checked the air and it was fine, she states there is a thermostat on the wall that was on 74 and we were supposed to switch it to ac then do something with yhe unit in the room?? Yes I felt dumb for a sec but the man that came to our room ye night before to help should've known that right? She states he is new and she apologizes for his mistake. She then brings up my call to guest relations and how they also told her I had a complaint about the bathroom?? Umm no wrong person must've been someone else's complaint which wouldn't surprise me. She then went on about how every time they get a call from guest relations it $150 for them. So what? I'm glad! I'm pretty sure they would've shown no concern for my room unless I called guest relations! Beware! This place is decent but if there is a problem they do not care :-/ There is a coffee pot and fridge for those who need that. That was a plus...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have never written a review either good or bad and I am a priority club gold member which means that I frequent this hotel chain often. As any business traveler can tell you, business plans can change quickly so I have always made it a policy to select hotels that allow same day cancellations. (I called at 4:00 pm on my day of arrival to cancel my reservation) It turns out that this hotel is one of the few “holiday Inns” that demand cancellation by 6:00pm the day PRIOR to arrival. As I went up the “food chain” discussing this situation with various holiday inn management staff, it became evident that regardless of my past loyalty with this hotel chain, they had no intention of refunding my payment. To makes things worse, one of my colleagues was also in town staying at this very hotel. The nature of our business has us frequenting this area multiple times but rest assured it will NOT be at this Holiday Inn or any other that takes this position. My business dollars go to any neighboring “Hampton Inn” or like property that promises 100% satisfaction or you don’t pay. (Not gouge you out of money for a stay that you couldn’t make) Hotels should learn that the consumers have choices and if their stance on this issue is steadfast then they can expect to loose many loyal customers and rightfully so! Shame on you Holiday Inn! Im making it my personal mission to post this any review site that will listen (I think people need to know)....Holiday Inn had their chance to do the right thing!

Michael

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadhville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My daughter's soccer team was staying in this hotel this past weekend. We got home from games and dinner late that night and went straight to bed. The four of us were woken up at 4:47 in the morning by the low battery chirp from the smoke detector. I went to lobby and was told there was nothing they could do about it until maintenance came. She did not even apologize or try to come up with a solution. I went back out at 5:45 to let her know the shrieking sound was still happening and was pretty much told it was my problem. However, she was able to slide the bill under my door. The lady who took over the front desk that morning was nicer and did take $10 off my bill, however I paid $91 for a room that was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep in! The sound was still there at 10:45 when I checked out! Ridiculous and I will never stay at any Holiday Inn property again!

Room Tip: If you get room 121 make sure you ask if they have changed the battery on the smoke detector!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Robin F,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that you found our location satisfactory enough for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the noise levels at our hotel and service received from our staff. I will address these matters with the staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided in the future.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,SC
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed here before and it is a very nice place, although pricey. The rooms are nice, they have microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers w/coffee. The bed is comfortable and it is a very safe atmosphere, fine for traveling alone. There are great restaurants and shopping located nearby. This one is a winner!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were put in room #101 our first night. DO NOT stay in this room!!! All night long, we heard the electric door to the lobby open and close. The window to our room was right at the smoking section and we were awake all night listening to conversations. We tried to get directions to the hotel and were given wrong directions by the front desk and were taken about an our out of our way. Other reveiws stated it is hard to find but it would have been helpful if the front desk could give good directions. My hunsband was upset when we arrived and complained, so I am sure that is why we got room #101. Other than this the hotel was very nice. Clean and modern.

Room Tip: Do not get put in room #101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs

Address: 3741 Tramore Pointe, Powder Springs, GA 30106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Powder Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Powder Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Austell-Powder Springs, Georgia Offers Easy Access to Atlanta. On your next trip to the greater Atlanta area, rest easy in our hotel just outside of Georgia's largest city. In close proximity to the city's center, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Austell-Powder Springs, Georgia is close to many of Atlanta's main business centers and attractions. Six Flags Over Georgia is only eleven miles away, and Whitewater Park is also a short drive from our Austell-Powder Springs, GA hotel. While lodging in Austell, GA, be sure to visit the World of Coca-Cola Museum, Georgia Aquarium, Stone Mountain, Turner Field, Philips Arena and CNN Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in the greater Atlanta area is just a half-hour drive from the city and is near IBM, Cobb Hospital and the Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (ATL), which makes traveling to and from Atlanta easy. Unlike cheap hotels in Austell-Powder Springs, Georgia, we offer premium business amenities such as a Business Center, catering and two meeting rooms. We hope you try the hot breakfast bar, take a dip in the pool or take advantage of the Fitness Center at our hotel in Austell Powder Springs, Georgia. While visiting our Austell hotel, stay connected by using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. Call our hotel today to book your reservations and enjoy our great hotel deals in Austell-Powder Springs, Georgia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Powder Springs
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs Hotel Powder Springs
Holiday Inn Powder Springs
Powder Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Powder Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.