We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7050 Highway 21, I-95 and Hwy 21 - Exit 109, Port Wentworth, GA 31407   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 15% Book Early
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed, with our two dogs, at the Hampton Inn Savannah I-95 North for one night from 11-12 March 2011. We were very happy with both our room and our stay. The staff was very nice, allowing us to check-in a little early; even greeting us with small gift packages of dog treats for our canine friends. We had a good night’s sleep and a very nice breakfast at the hotel. We very much appreciate the hotel’s welcoming of travelers with well-behaved pets, at no additional charge. We then stayed at the same hotel again, for one night, from 25-26 March 2011, and had a very, very different experience. Let me say first that the staff was once again very friendly and welcoming to our dogs and us. The problem was with the room itself. We were put in room #126 (or possibly 127?), which was the “Oglethorpe” room. We noted that the room seemed smaller than what we had two weeks before, but we really didn’t care, as the most important things to us were the ability to keep our dogs with us and get a good night’s sleep. It was the good night’s sleep that ended us being elusive. This room is apparently usually used for meetings and not normally assigned to overnight guests (as per the desk clerk the next morning). We had a horrible night’s rest in this room. The walls are paper-thin and there are two connecting doors to the room adjacent, through which we could hear the television and every single sound made by the couple in that room. Additionally, we constantly heard the horribly loud ice machine and the doors leading to the exterior of both sides of the building, as well as conversations in the hall and the lobby. By the time we started enduring this and not getting any sleep, we had already unpacked and the dogs were settled down, so we decided to “tough it out” and not ask to be moved; this was our mistake, as we ended up getting hardly any sleep that night.
When we mentioned this to the desk clerk the next morning upon checkout, she didn’t seem surprised and in fact stated that the room is usually not given out to overnight guests. When I asked why it was given to us, she responded with “I don’t know…I guess we were full.” We checked into the hotel around 12 noon on the 25th, so we couldn’t have been the last guests to arrive that day.
I wrote to the manager of the hotel after our return home, not really expecting any response, but was very pleasantly surprised: not only did she respond, and thank us for our "candid" comments, but she credited the price of the stay back to my credit card! This was greatly appreciated, especially in this day and age of poor customer service being the norm. This manager's willingness to stand behind her product and make things right reinforced my loyalty to the Hilton chain. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early if you need a pet room...they fill up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotelmanager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of the hotel! We are in the process of changing the room layout of the particular room that you stayed in, and your wonderful comments helped us to make the final decisions on that! I hope that you will stop by and see us again on your next visit to the Savannah area, and please bring your dogs for another visit! Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Kovacs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    145
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
185
167
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a very nice Hampton Inn. The lady that checked us in was extremely friendly! We were very comfortable there, the room was nice and clean, and the breakfast was very good. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a road trip from NJ to Florida last week and it was perfect. We needed a pet friendly hotel, but we are extremely particular about the level of cleanliness. Hamptons are usually a safe bet, but I was a bit nervous because we have never before stayed in a pet friendly hotel. My fear was that you would know it as soon as you walked into the room. What we found was a breath of fresh air.... literally. The room was immaculate (not a term I use lightly). There was no evidence of prior guests of either the two or four legged variety. The carpets appeared new and the bathroom was pristine. The beds were quite comfortable and the complimentary breakfast in morning was your standard fare- waffles, bagels, Danish, cereal & fruit, but it was exactly what we needed to eat and run. The hotel has an outdoor pool that basically sits in the parking lot, but some creative landscaping allows you to ignore that fact when you are splashing around. Overall, it was a perfect place to rest your head at the end of the day.

Room Tip: If you are a person who wants to retire early, ask for a room away from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I had to spend 3 nights unexpectedly here due to a bus breakdown that had to be fixed across the street at Freightliner Savannah. The Hotel had a sheet on the bulletin board at Freightliner Drivers Lounge at a special rate. I called and they had a courtesy van come pick me up with all my luggage. Carrie was very nice about coming to pick me up fast and running me across the highway to the Pilot and I did not feel like crossing it and it was hot there.
The room was a King Accessible which means you have a roll in shower, larger bathroom and a phone in the bathroom next to the toilet. It was on a nonsmoking floor, thank goodness. This hotel does accommodate pets and smokers. I did not smell any smoke on the 1st floor.
There is a pool and hot tub outdoors. The fitness center is only 2 treadmills and a cross trainer by Precor. Very small room. Decent business center.
Great Comp breakfast in the morning from 6-10 am. I just wish the TV channel selection was better for more cable channels. Not a fan of Lodgenet. The Flat panel TV in room was nice but annoying to turn on and cut off. For Dinner delivery options, you are limited.
Domino's Pizza or Pizza Hut for Pizza. Chinese delivery is a $15 minimum. Ideal for a couple or Family. Wifi worked great with iPod touch.
Just off I95 and great for a quick overnite and a spacious parking lot.
Downtown Savannah is 30 miles east of Hotel.
A thank you to the folks for giving me a late check out and helping me out during my stay.
Will recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were looking for a good, clean (no bed bugs) place to spend the night and that's what we got. The room was nice and comfortable. The price was reasonable. The proximity to I-95 was great. My kids enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies and the pool. I thought the continental breakfast was better than average. I was not impressed with the local options for dinner but can't really hold that against the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and its staff! Housekeeping is just awesome here... so friendly and personable. They are spot on with the cleaning/maintenance. We had to request a chair be removed from the room (traveling w/ a pack n play) and everyone was super pleasant about it. The breakfast is amazing (try the cheese omelette) and really fresh. The servers are constantly replenishing the dishes and beverages. The front desk staff have been very friendly and helpful too, willing to give recommendations of restaurants, entertainment, etc. The pool is pretty and well-maintained. Rooms are a decent size and just have that clean, fresh feeling. We've stayed at other hotels in the area OFTEN and this place is a luxurious palace compared to those! Bathrooms are bigger than average and in good working order.

Staff provides lemonade, ice water, cookies, and popcorn in the evening. Delicious! Don't miss the chocolate cookies w/ a little glass of icy cold lemonade... yum!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We have always enjoyed staying at Hampton Inns and this was no exception. The room was up to date and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good.
Location is very convenient to I-95 and about 10 miles from historic Savannah.

(There aren't a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity. A staff member recommended the Island Grill up the road; we weren't impressed...it was just ok.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North

Address: 7050 Highway 21, I-95 and Hwy 21 - Exit 109, Port Wentworth, GA 31407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Port Wentworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Savannah I-95 North hotel is located just outside of Savannah in Port Wentworth, GA. Our hotel is near Savannah Airport and offers easy access to all downtown Savannah attractions. Enjoy our comfortable amenities like our free hot breakfast and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - i-95 North Hotel Port Wentworth
Hampton Inn Port Wentworth
Port Wentworth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.