We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Fantasy of Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Callaway Gardens Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Callaway Gardens Resort to your Saves list
Callaway Gardens Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fantasy In Lights
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss Fantasy of Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Callaway Gardens offers a number of specials--the most reasonable being a $99 one-night stay at the Mountain Creek Inn. The rate includes Fantasy of Lights admission and admission to all the Callaway Garden facilities--gardens, butterfly center, horticulture center, discovery center, etc. Your stay at the Inn is practically free when you consider Fantasy of Lights tickets are $17-24 per person!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Fantasy In Lights is well worth the visit and with the $99 Fantasy In Lights Package, you can't beat it! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit here at Callaway Gardens. Fantasy In Lights is a great way to start off the holiday season and also make many great memories. The 8 million lights, and the scenes on the beach and even Santa in the Christmas Village make a great night of fun. Thank you for visiting with us and we hope that we will see you again in the future. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    195
    123
    120
    88
See reviews for
275
257
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we've brought our daughter to the Festival In Lights. My rating is low because of our experience, but i feel the property is actually better than a "3". First the positive. The location is excellent. Less than 5 minutes from the Festival entrance. If you're a bike rider, you can rent bicycles from the hotel and can ride to Callaway gardens directly from the property. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean with new carpet and furniture. The negative. We arrived very late and our door did not lock. They were very quick to send maintenance and he offered to fix it immediately or move us. Our young daughter was having none of it, however so we decided to ride it out till morning. They did fix it first thing the next morning. As a previous reviewer stated, the rooms are a little dark. The shower head is mounted very low. I'm only six feet tall, but the shower head was pointed at my navel. Also, the tub did not drain properly. The complementary coffee is very poor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. Guest feedback is by far the best way we can celebrate the things we are doing well or address things that we need to do better.

We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we had some shortcomings with your room.

Again we are so sorry that you felt you had a subpar experience and we will take your feedback and continue to work hard to provide each and every guest that comes to Callaway the best possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Rooms have been refurbished, new paint, carpet and linens. Because this is an older building the sound proofing is not upgraded, you can hear conversations in the next room which can be disturbing if you are trying to sleep. I thought is was clean and comfortable for its age.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Mountain Creek Inn as your destination of lodging. As stated the rooms have been renovated. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations regarding the sound proofing between rooms. Those items will be addressed immediately to our Department Managers for review.

Your time spent with us is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RINGGOLD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped for one night on way back from Florida. Last night of vacation decided to stop and see Christmas Lights. Took the trolley for the light show. We stayed at the Mountain Inn, lovely and clean. The room were comfortable and clean. Bathrooms clean not large but I don't live in the bathroom, it served the propose. As far as lighting goes it was good enough. The price of the room includes entrance to the gardens, so people need to deduct that from the price of the room before they start to complain about the price. Have stayed here twice and been satisfied both times. The restaurants are a little pricey but, they are other places to eat. You just have to go get it. Over all will go back and recommend to other people. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300's have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Happy Holidays! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Fantasy In Lights was a hit with the family. The Mountain Creek Inn was renovated earlier this year and the rooms are nice and cozy. Your stay with us is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain creek inn for 2 nights as part of a travelzoo deal. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the rooms were recently refurbished. Once inside the room, there was almost a boutique-type feel to the room - soothing colors, new furniture, framed photos of the resort from years ago, plus today. Free wi-fi was nice, and worked well. Our room had a great view overlooking one of the lakes on the property, plus there was a balcony with chairs to sit and relax. The desk staff were excellent, efficient, and very professional (the service reminded me of the calibre of service found at omni/kimpton hotels). We ate at both restaurants on site, and again very good service. The meals were a little more expensive than I would expect, but you pay for the convenience I think, and also one meal was the seafood buffet. Yes, this is more of a motel (outside entrance, thin walls), however it was spotlessly clean, and certainly met our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite end of the property from the reception area, and with a view of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback regarding your experience with our property and Fantasy in Lights. Feedback positive or negative is how we celebrate successes or learn from our mistakes and get better for all future guests.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your room was to your satisfaction. Your stay with us is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at the Mtn. Creek Inn at the resort. The rooms have been refurbished, but still has issues. I can only speak for the standard room that we had. $119.00 was pricey for the room and lack of amenities. Room was ok size, shower was good and the beds were comfy, and the room was clean. On the downside, be careful of shower valves (on backwards), there is a single cup coffee maker with tasteless brand of coffee, and the thing that was important to me, but lacking was the lighting in the room. Has 3 lamps and no ceiling light in BR at all. They get an F in lighting. Only one small elevator for numerous rooms. Also, the only breakfast and additional coffee available was at their over priced restaurants. Also, there is no microwave or refrig. If you want to spend time in the area, this is a convenient choice and darn near your only choice. There was a Days Inn down the street, but for 2 days I didn't see ANY cars there, so that was scary to me.

Room Tip: IF I stayed there again I would check out the Garden Rooms and forego the standard room. At least t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. Guest feedback is by far the best way we can celebrate the things we are doing well or address things that we need to do better.

We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we had some shortcomings in the areas of coffee and food. Those items will be addressed corrective action.

Again we will take your feedback and continue to work hard to provide each and every guest that comes to Callaway the best possible stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Ten of us stayed 1 night in a 3 bedroom villa as part of our Fantasy in Lights Package.
It was beautiful! It was clean and well stocked with towels, soaps, toiletries, etc, It even had wood for the fireplaces. Each bedroom had comfortable beds, a sitting area, large private bathoom and it's own deck. Two of the three had fireplaces.

There was a line to check in ( many people arrived at check in time) but the process was very fast and the line moved quickly. The staff was very courteous and professional.

The light show was great and I would definitely recommend you ride the trolley. It adds tremendously to the experience.

We will be making this an annual event for our family.

Dislikes: Should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room descriptions and pictures are listed on their website. They will try to honor specific room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Awesome!! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. Fantasy in Lights is best viewed by Trolley. The cold air, holiday music, and the lights are a wonderful way to enjoy the holiday season. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Callaway Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens Resort

Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Callaway Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callaway Gardens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.