We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Mt. Creek Inn room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Callaway Gardens Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Callaway Gardens Resort to your Saves list
Callaway Gardens Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fantasy In Lights
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Horrible Mt. Creek Inn room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

The Mt. Creek Inn is sadly in need of updating AND a thorough cleaning. My husband and I had the unfortunate pleasure of staying in Room 382. We were welcomed upon entering the room by a foul, moldy smell and a room that was so depressing to see that we almost went back to the check-in counter to check-out! The 2 full beds were hard as rocks, the bathroom beyond gross, and no internet access to boot (extra charge) and a non-functioning heating system. The bed had torn and shredded blankets, the pillows were more quills than feathers. One can easily hear the guests in the adjacent room through the connecting wall. I would not recommend staying at this horrible inn. The staff, however, were the most pleasant we have encountered recently and that compensated for what was lacking in room amenities.

We contacted management with our concerns, and of course, no one ever replied, even though we commented how nice the staff was during our visit. Even with all the kindnesses of the staff, we would not return to the Mt. Creek Inn.

  • Liked — The staff who were very kind-hearted.
  • Disliked — DIsgusting room, filthy and outdated.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    197
    124
    120
    90
See reviews for
279
258
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
auburn, al
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

This hotel was totally disgusting!! My wife and I decided to go to Callaway for our first anniversary. When we pulled up it looked like something out of a horror movie. It probablyt hasn't been updated since the 50s. Then, we had to wait 45 minutes in line to check in because they will only start checking people in at 3:00 PM. You'll notice that they have great package deals on the website....it's because the hotel is really dingy. Our room had cracks in the walls, water stains on the ceilings, broken tiles in the bathroom, a leaky faucet, and comforters from the 70s. It smelled really musty too. My wife almost had tears in her eyes when she saw it (and not the good kind). Trying to make the best of it, we changed into our swimsuits and headed to the pool. The pool was clean and updated, but there were a thousand screaming kids splashing water on us and there were no chairs by the pool. We immediately went back to our room, got our things, and returned home. The lady at the front desk gave our money back, but it didn't make up for the experience. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Although Callaway Gardens is absolutely beautiful, especially this time of year, my husband and I will not stay at the Mountain Creek Inn again (this was our 3rd visit) until it has been remodeled. The Inn is outdated and tired looking. I can't believe we paid $129.00 per night. The bathroom was so tiny and the door would barely shut. The carpet, furnishings, bed coverings, entertainment center, etc. were all very worn. It is time for them to bite the bullet and update. The Friday night buffet was mediocre to say the least. Forget the breakfast buffet-watery gravy, spoiled milk, dry eggs (yuk!)
They were kind enough to comp. our breakfast after I complained. We love the bike trails and the scenery and we had a great three days because of this. If it had rained (which it doesn't do in the South anymore), we would have left. The room was not a pleasant part of the trip.
The Lodge is new and looks outstanding but the prices are more than we can justify even for a nicer place to stay at Callaway Gardens.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed here as wedding guests for an extended weekend. It was my first time visiting Callaway and it truly was a great time. The setting is beautiful and my husband and I enjoyed running in the fresh air around one of the lakes as the fog was lifting. The restaurant brunch was acceptable and not ridiculously priced. We ate pool-side for one lunch and when they mixed up an order, they quickly fixed it (although service in general was slow since they had to walk it over from the main building). The rest of our food was catered by Callaway for various events, all of which was fantastic. Our bed was very comfortable with what felt like a mattress topper, plenty of pillows, and a comfy duvet. I enjoyed reading on the balcony overlooking the woods. The flat panel TV and beautiful bathroom completed the expectation for luxury given the price of the room. All in all, the staff was gracious and accomodating, the room was beautiful, but you really come here for the life outside the hotel, which is worth it. My parents did have trouble with the lack of thorough room cleaning during their stay.

  • Liked — the surroundings
  • Disliked — relatively expensive
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nys
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed at the lodge and were very pleased with our room. It was clean and nicely furnished. The gardens are beautiful and there a so many things to do for single adults and families.

  • Liked — gardens and exhibits
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

My daughter and I checked into a two bedroom cottage for three days and were very impressed with all aspects of the resort. We chose to cook on the charcoal grill two nites and had dinner at the Gardens Restaurant the other nite, which was outstanding. Everyone we met was really friendly and eager to please.
We hired Dick to do a little bass fishing on the property and we each caught six bass on a half day trip. We played 18 holes on the Mountain View golf course and loved it. Gorgeous course in great shape. Don't miss FDR's Little White House in nearby Warm Springs! We also biked around the Gardens and really enjoyed the Butterfly gardens and Horticultural Center. We topped it all off with massages at the new Spa and can't wait to go back again! Well done Callaway!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We booked a cottage at Calloway. When we arrived they had given our cottage away & stuck us in this terrible inn. We had a "suite" on the top floor which hadn't been decorated OR cleaned since 1980. This place is the pitts. We left and drove all the way back to Savannah rather than sleep in this scary place filled with cobwebs and most likely the spiders that made them. STAY AWAY! Stay somewhere--anywhere--else.

  • Liked — The gardens.
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Callaway Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens Resort

Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Callaway Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callaway Gardens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.