We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 Southern Pine Dr., Pine Mountain, GA 31822   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited the hotel and Callaway Gardens for just one night. The hotel was clearly the nicest in the area, which we were pleased about, but the hotel itself is way overdue for an update. The staff was very pleasant, and overall things were fine.
Walking throughout the grounds, the decor and furniture were clearly dated and worn. The pool was small and disappointing compared to pictures.
The spa was nice and professional, but just like the hotel, it seemed a bit overpriced and overvalued compared to other higher end hotels and spas I have stayed in, usually in much more desirable locations.
Restaurant and room service staff were again very nice, but the staff was not very knowledgeable regarding the menu (Did not know what a carafe of water was, nor what type of hot tea they had available, and was able to provide honey after she told me it was available.
None of this ruined my experience, but with an average hotel at $220 per night and $500 for only 1 1/2 hours of one spa treatments each for two, and the gardens albeit beautiful, were just not worth it.

Glad I have seen it and won't be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear LaLaAtl,

Thank you very much for your feedback as well as your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped you would. Your feedback is very valuable to us and I will be sure to communicate this onward and upward. We hope you enjoyed your spa treatments with us as Spa Prunifolia was just ranked in the Top 10 Organic Spa's in the country. Many of our guests come spefiically for the spa.

We do hope to see you again in the future while visiting Callaway Gardens and thank you again for your time and business.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    118
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
90
133
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 days and 2 nights for a romantic weekend getaway here at the Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens. The Lodge and Spa is really the only luxury accommodations around Callaway Gardens. We once stayed in the Callaway Gardens Mountain Creek Inn and that felt like a 1950's motel. NOT somewhere I'd stay again. The Lodge and Spa is a very nice upgrade to the Mountain Creek Inn.

First, it's a little hard to find, neither of our smart phones could find it, so we followed the directions to Callaway gardens, and then followed the signs. For the most part, it worked.

The Room:
We were supposed to have a King Mountain view room, but we ended up w/ a room w/ 2 queens overlooking some trees. It was fine, just not what we expected. The beds were super comfortable, and the room was super dark allowing us the luxury of actually sleeping in, something we don't get to do very often at home! The bathroom was my favorite part of our room, nice large walk in shower w/ frame-less glass door and a separate soaking tub. I was a little disappointed there was this awesome tub, and no bubble bath provided, but oh well. The setting of the lodge is very nice and secluded and quiet in the trees, and the lodge has lovely rustic architecture, bonus points for being a LEED certified building (this from a LEED accredited professional).

I'm not sure what they use to wash the towels, but they were small and very stiff, not the soft towels you expect at a posh hotel.

Spa:
We had a couples side by side facials and a couples deep tissue massage. The spa at the Lodge and spa is lovely, and the staff is excellent. Their prices are a little on the pricey side, even for such a nice spa, but I guess they have a captive audience and can charge what they want cuz you are in the middle of no where. Overall we were both very satisfied with the services of the spa.

Pool:
I thought the pool, while nice, was really small for a hotel of this size. But I suppose they expect the majority of their guests to spend their time at Callaway Gardens and Robin lake beach and not the pool. It was not crowded, although it was a bit off season and the hotel did not seem full. Pool side service was a little slow, friendly, but slow.

Food:
The food was decent, sometimes good, but for the only high end dining in the area, I was a little disappointed. The Piedmont room seemed understaffed, especially at dinner. I don't know if it was because most of the staff were attending a reception outside and a birthday party in the back room, but Glenda was covering way too many tables in the dining room and couldn't keep up. I put no fault on Glenda, she was lovely and as attentive as she could be, but she just couldn't keep up with the number of tables and I felt bad for her. I think it took 20 minutes to get water. Dinner started and ended well, but the main course was disappointing. We got the she-crab soup which was lovely to start, and finished off with the red velvet cheesecake, which was divine. We both got the prime rib for dinner, and it was disappointing in that it was overcooked. It was a lovely cut of meat, and seasoned well, but I ordered medium rare, and the hubby ordered rare, and mine came out medium and hubby's was medium-well gray, to the point of where we contemplated sending it back. It was just a shame, because it could have been a lovely meal, but execution was lacking on the meat (which should have been the star).

Breakfast buffet at 14.50 pp was fine, loved the fresh fruit every morning.

We had another service hiccup on the room service (which we ordered twice). I ordered a salad, and was told it would be 20-25 minutes. After 50 minutes and no salad I called, and they "checked on it" and our salad arrived 10 minutes later. It seemed our salad order got lost somewhere in the process. But I'm glad we waited for it, because the flat iron wedge salad may have been my favorite thing I ate at the Lodge and Spa (okay, it maybe tied w/ the red velvet cheesecake).

The bellman at the front who opened the door and helped us load our luggage was so sweet and friendly.

I loved our stay here, and would return as it's a lovely get away for a long weekend. If they didn't have those few hiccups, they would be a five star property!

Room Tip: I think the rooms overlooking the courtyard would be a better view than the "mountain" vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear ATLWanderLust,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent romantic getaway with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens. Thank you very much for your feedback as well as your business. You surely utilized all we had to offer and pointed out some of our guests favorite parts of our resort including our guestrooms with four fixture bathrooms as well as our award winning spa. Please know that your feedback will be communicated with our team to ensure we stay on top of improvement and make sure everyone is aware of each guest experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

As a Marriott elite member we were treated great with an upgraded 4th floor room with view of the pool and trees. Additionally, these tossed in breakfast coupons to be used in the restaurant. The lodge has a very feng shui atmosphere starting with the landscaping, music, decorating motif and water elements. The restuarant had very good food though fairly expensive. They could use a cafe type restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear wildmangolfer,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. You were very kind to take the time to offer us feedback. We get many comments on the grounds here at our beautiful resort and are very happy you were able to enjoy the view. Also, I will be sure to tell our Executive Chef your comments on our food and beverage. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to having you back to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We just completed a short 3-day trip to The Lodge - co-located on the property of Callaway Gardens. What a great get-away for our family of five! Want to know why? Here's my list:

1. The Front Desk and Bell Staff at the Hotel were very helpful, enthusiastic and accommodating. They answered all of our questions, went the distance in creating a fun-filled experience, and even gave us passes to Callaway Gardens (helping us avoid a Memorial Day Weekend entry fee of $25/day). They rocked!

2. The Hotel facility is lovely - set amidst trees, water fountains, and small rock formations. It's located near the Callaway Gardens "beach".

3. The rooms were quite nice. While we were upgraded due to my Marriott status, I peaked into a regular room and it was more than adequate. Each room has a balcony. If possible, request one overlooking the pool area. Yes, the balconies are next to one another, so privacy is not possible while hanging out. This didn't seem to pose a problem for us, or anyone else who wanted to just relax outside.

4. The pool and 2 hot tubs were well-maintained and set amidst the trees. There is a Grill co-located with them which wasn't open while we were there; however, seems like a great convenience to people who want to lounge by the pool for an extended period of time.

5. The restaurant was pretty good. The brunch was plentiful as were the offerings on the menu. We ate there during the Friday night Seafood Buffet. Only one of us wanted the Buffet while the rest of us at the cedar-planked salmon (yum yum) and the free range chicken (good - not great). The wine list was very extensive.

6. Being near Callaway Gardens AND staying at a first-rate hotel was a treat. We biked for 10 - 15 miles in the AM, went to the beach to relax and watch the Master's Water Ski Show, headed into Warm Springs to see FDR's Little White House, hung-out by the pool, AND then returned to the peace and serenity of this Hotel.
Also, there is a full-service Spa, if desired. Prices were a bit steep - but, in line with most high-end Spas. And the Workout facility contains decent equipment that works, and offers enough variety for most guests.

Nit-picky Comments? Just a few (and they are minor):

1. Wish the Hotel had Pay-Per-View movies. We were tired in the evening and wanted to watch a movie with the family. This option is not provided on the televisions.

2. Would have liked one more restaurant option on site i.e. a casual coffee shop or a snack bar. I suppose that once the Grill opens by the pool, that this is another option. It would have been nice to have another place to dine without having to leave the hotel property.

3. Restaurant staff is slow. Might not be important to people on vacation. We noticed that there were plenty of servers in the restaurant - except they were often hard to find in the dining room - seemed to disappear quite often. Once located, they were always eager to help.

We're already talking about making a return trip to this Hotel. There are still many things that we want to see and do - besides just a quick R&R weekend at this property.

And, it was great to get Marriott points, too.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool - quite lovely (although might be noisier during peak season).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear georgiadenverite,

It was truly a pleasure reading your review and thank you for your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. We greatly appreciate your business and kind comments on our beautiful resort. Like you have stated, our guests greatly enjoy the rooms with balconies and four fixture bathrooms, as well as our natural grounds and outdoor space. Being able to use and receive Marriott Rewards Points is also a plus now that we are associated with the Autograph Collection.

Thank you for your time and business.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I didn't expect much when I booked a room for $168/night for a weekend spa trip -- after all, it's a Marriott hotel over an hour south of Atlanta in a small town. But from the minute I drove up, I began to relax. The hotel is in a lovely LEED certified building, with staff that are helpful and accommodating, and large rooms that are well furnished. Mine overlooked a courtyard and the pool area, but it was never too noisy. The spa is fantastic, and uses all natural product lines. If you plan to visit Callaway Gardens or FDR's Little White House in nearby Warm Springs, this is where you want to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Valhallapix,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. We appreciate your business as well as your amazing feedback! You summarized it perfectly! You do truly begin to relax on the drive in and the fountain in our courtyard is very soothing. Thank you also for mentioned the Little White House and FDR State Park. The drive through the park is beautiful as well. We look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Only stayed one night, but enjoyed every minute of it. Our package included a pass to Callaway Gardens. Eventhough check in isn't until 3:00 they gave us our Garden pass at 8:30 the day of check in. We were able to enjoy various venues in the Garden until check in time. By the time we did check in, we were exhaused and were well pleased to see our very spacious and very clean room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the balcony had a great view. HUGH bathroom with a separate shower and bathtub. The property well maintained with tons of sitting areas both inside and out. Would absolutely recommend. Breakfast was above average, but not worth bragging about. Staff was great...rates a 10 without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Tom A,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens. We hope you enjoyed your adventure through Callaway Gardens as well as the beautiful grounds of our resort. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our guestrooms and bathrooms. The four fixture bathroom is a huge hit with our guests! Next time you stay with us, do not forget about our Spa Prunifolia which was ranted Top 10 Organic Spa's in Organic Spa Magazine!

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for an overnight trip to Callaway Gardens. The hotel is nicely appointed. The pool is heated and warm enough to swim during early spring. Grounds and biking/hiking are beautiful. The rooms are huge and easily fit our family of four. Dining was fine, but not wonderful.

The price is a bit high for middle Georgia, but the property is far and away better than the other Callaway Gardens property. One complaint is a decline in the level of service. I was here a year ago for a conference and there was always someone to get the entry doors (they are heavy and not automatic). During this stay, I was 8 months pregnant carrying a stack of luggage and corralling 2 children and there was no bellman to be found.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear ATLtraveler306,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens. Many of our guests enjoy our heated saline pool just as you did! We also have food and beverage service at the pool from May through October. I apologize you missed our bellman. At times they are assisting guests with luggage to their rooms. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to you returning to our premiere Georgia resort.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection

Address: 4500 Southern Pine Dr., Pine Mountain, GA 31822
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens is an oasis located within the 13,000 acre Callaway Gardens community, just 1.5 Hours south of Atlanta. The Lodge is adjacent to a plethora of activities for the family, couples, group outings, and corporate meetings and team building. These activities include golf, tennis, hiking and biking trails, Treetop Adventure, ropes course, a lake and beach, Discovery Center, Butterfly Center, and Sibley Horticultural Center. The Lodge and Spa is a LEED Certified green hotel offering 149 smartly appointed guestrooms and suites. With a 13,000 sqft award winning spa, an outdoor pool set within gardens, and a full service three meal Piedmont Grille and Ironwood Lounge, you will have all the amenities at your finger tips for a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection Hotel Pine Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.