We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the WORST but pretty gross” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jameson Inn Oakwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jameson Inn Oakwood to your Saves list
Jameson Inn Oakwood
3530 Thurmon Tanner Pkwy, Oakwood, GA 30566   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oakwood
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the WORST but pretty gross”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room smelled awful, to start. It was definitely dirty looking and old/worn. The interior decorating was very busy. Also, we were on the second floor and could hear everyone outside and next door all night, walking around outside and closing their doors made our beds vibrate. This isn't the worst place I've ever stayed, but it was definitely pretty gross.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks, NC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel has a great location, however it is in need of some serious inside updating and cleaning. The customer service by the staff was great, very friendly.

The rooms are dark and dingy, out, outdated dark furniture that is fairly beat up and marked up. no office chair, just an old straight chair. The carpet was so dirty that just walking accross it your which socks would turn almost black. The bedspread was dirty and had an oder as well, the banket on the bed was worn and had several small holes in it. The last thing was the bath towels were a joke, small, and totally worn out, super thin.
For the room rate here I would highly recommend going down the road to someplace else. I have stayed in several Jameson Inn's, this was the worst, and I honestly do not know how even meets there chain standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The first room I was shown was absolutely worn and dated. I switched rooms after having to insist on it with the uncooperative check-in manager. I had a one night stay free coupon for this room or I would have kept driving. The second room was only marginally better. To be fair, I did not wait around for breakfast so that may have been decent. The room seemed clean but just in dire need of refreshing.

Room Tip: I asked for a handicapped room since the hotel was wide open on the night I stayed and the handicapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a decent enough hotel, but the towels were very thin and even though we had three people registered in our room, there were only enough for two people. Every day we had to go to the front desk to get another set of towels, which got old.

The place need some tlc, but it was ok for the cost.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed at jameson inn, Oakwood and enjoyed our stayed. Staff was very polite and room were small but clean. We enjoyed fitteness center and microwave and fridge was worked out well for us as we stayed 4 nights.
I recomand to everyone who goes to this area. Nearby lake has good view and for people like us for walking and Walmart is just next door.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Stayed at the Jameson Inn in August of 2007. The rooms were relatively basic, with very, VERY few frills. On my first evening at the hotel, I turned on my hair dryer to dry off, and a cockroach flew out of the dryer and into my hair. Upon opening the cabinets under my sink, I noticed a lot of roach droppings that had piled up since who-know's-when...

The breakfast is barely qualified to be referred to as "Continental". Stale Cheerios, Corn Flakes, or Raisin Bran, absolutely fake orange juice, the milk was hot (most likely powdered), no sugar-free syrup, the Hotel Manager, was spraying bleach next to my food while I was trying to prepare it, and was constantly in the way.

The air conditioner barely worked, and struggled the keep the room below 90 degrees. My husband and I noticed, some sort of "human stain", and I think you know what I am referring to, all over the in-room recliner. It was so bad it looked like something out of CSI.

The entire staff were extremely rude, with the exception of Mary, who was always friendly, accomodating, and quite helpful. The rest of the staff, were unhelpful, rude, and difficult to deal with. The maid service was abysmal, often bringing broken bars of soap, and shampoo with the seal already broken.

Finally, my husband left the door open to try and let the room cool off due to the malfunctioning air conditioner, and the hotel manager continually would enter the room. I am talking about actually setting foot INSIDE the room. Then he said, "Oh! Door open."

The straw that broke this camel's back was when I attempted to return to my room in the morning with my husband's breakfast, and the hotel manager threatened to charge me $10.00 for leaving the breakfast area with ANY items whatsoever. We are talking about two bowls of cereal, and two glasses of juice. Ridiculous!

We are often traveling, and stay in many motels and hotels, but my family's experience at the Jameson Inn of Oakwood was nothing short of terrible. STAY AWAY!

  • Liked — Absolutely NOTHING
  • Disliked — The roach that flew out of my hair dryer
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

Stayed at Jameson Inn on Jan 27-29. Found motel to be very basic in terms of other Jameson Inn we stayed in. Nothing was wrong with this location. Clean and very nice staff. Mary was very helpful in booking the room. I would advise anyone going to Gainesville Ga that after see the other motel/hotel in the downtown area, we made a wise choise in staying in the Oakwood area. It's only 5 miles I would say from the motel. The choise of resturants are limited around the motel to fast food. But if leave the motel going toward downtown, you will run into a very nice shopping area with many more resturants. Note there is a new Walmart being built next door to the Jameson Inn.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jameson Inn Oakwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Oakwood

Address: 3530 Thurmon Tanner Pkwy, Oakwood, GA 30566
Location: United States > Georgia > Oakwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oakwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Jameson Inn Oakwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Jameson Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jameson Inn Oakwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.