We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms cold and food awful !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh)

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh)
Carberry Rd., Inveresk EH21 8PT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Inveresk
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rooms cold and food awful !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The room was cold as the heater went off and on all night had take baby into our bed as it was so cold even tho the box on wall read the room was at 23*. As for food in the restaurant it was awful over cooked and then re heated. Order was wrong and the staff just did not seem to care about it. This was our first and last time staying here. I hope this helps someone pick a different primer inn as they are good few in the area like the one at airport or a deer park which is a few miles out but worth it if you have to stay here or there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    55
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
54
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went back to the hotel over the easter period to see if it was as good as when i stayed there at christmas. Got to say i was not dissapointed the staff there are so good and helpful especially Danielle who is always happy. The room was as ever up to standard and the people who will be staying there for the golf open later in the year will not be dissapointed. Will be going back at my first oppotunity.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Usually enjoy the Premier Inn stays but this stay was not up to usual standard. Absolutely no problem with cleanliness or check in. Temperatures fell during the night and we were all cold. I now know there was a temperature control unit but did not switch the lights on during the night to look for this so I could have rectified this myself during the night. We had an early start too in the morning so we left cold and without breakfast.

We have stayed here before and never had a problem and visit this Premier Inn in March and August but to be fair, temperatures have never been a problem ever.

We had a meal at night and foot was served quickly too. Quality of food was fine and the chicken ceasar salad was lovely. Enjoyed a glass of chilled Chardonnay and went back for another to find the same wine was not chilled so the 2nd glass wasn't as nice. Kids enjoyed steaks and trimmings and nice desserts so they were happy.

We were told about the good night guarantee but did not complain at check out about the cold.. Just wish we had knew about the temperature controls and could have sorted things out for ourself. . Will likely go back in August and enjoy Premier Inn back to usual standards. ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Typical Premier Inn - clean, modern, friendly but, as we booked a bit late, a bit pricier than usual.

Also the breakfast at £8.25 seemed a bit pricey too! (Nearby Tobys had all-you-eat breakfast deal at £3.99.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stopped here over the Easter weekend to visit Edinburgh sightseeing and Musselburgh Racecourse.

If you want to get to Edinburgh from here we found going to Wallyford station (instead of Musselburgh) the best option. About a mile and a half along the road, ample car parking at the weekend. The trains run every half hour and take less than ten minutes to Waverly Station with one stop at Musselburgh.

The hotel is also very handy for the racecourse. Buses run to/from Musselburgh from directly outside the hotel. But on a nice day the walk into Musselburgh would be easy enough, about a mile.

If you go to Musselburgh for a meal, I would highly recommend The Gurkha Bar & Restuarant on Bridge Street. It's menu is a mixture of Nepalese and Indo/Pak food. Brilliant food great service.

The hotel is a you get what you pay for, 3 nights for £166 is very good, considering what you would pay in Edinburgh City, and you have the quiet of the countryside.

The staff were great, always cheerful.

Standard eating and drinking facilities as per all Prenier Inns.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Typical new ish Premier Inn at a quiet location. All in very nice stay and I slept well. The check in was quick and although I begrudge paying extra for Wifi , at least it worked well and allowed me to work in my room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Third Premier Inn stay this year. The product is consistent and you are guaranteed a good night's sleep. The bed is comfy and the sound insulation excellent - even in one of the older style properties, which includes this one. Even though it is an older Premier Inn the room decoration was pristine. Had a look at the restaurant, but I'm sorry to say the buffet looked very unappealing and we gave it a miss. The receptionist readily gave us some helpful local information and was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh)

Address: Carberry Rd., Inveresk EH21 8PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Inveresk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Inveresk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Inveresk) Hotel Musselburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.