We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killeen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Killeen House to your Saves list
Killeen House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 days at Killeen House in July 2013. Geraldine and Michael were superb hosts and made us feel most welcome. Accommodation and food were excellent.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we would highly recommend Killeen House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi Dermot and thank you so much for the super review here on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your taking the time and making the effort to write it and post it up.

It was a pleasure to look after you and we'hope that now that you've discovered the delights of the Kingdom of Kerry that you won't be a stranger to us!

Thanks again Dermot and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
246
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 … I am writing this review in 2013, because our experience here has stayed with us this long. Great food, great people, the best experience we could have ever hoped for. Kileen House is a must see and stop when visiting Ireland. Four years later, we are still talking about it and so glad we made this a stop on our tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
What an amazing review Gail! Thank you most sincerely for writing and posting it up here on Trip Advisor - even if you did take your time in doing it....!

We are deeply touched and honoured that you harbour such happy and fond memories of your visit with us so long after the event. It is surely a true sign that you had a special and meaningful experience with us.

Thank you again Gail and we do hope we'll have the pleasure of your company one more time here in the Killeen House at some future stage.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recently we spent a fantastic week at the Killeen House Hotel. It is in a marvelous setting about 10 minutes outside of Killarney . The accommodations are wonderful ...our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. The warm and cozy bar is a perfect place for making new friends when stopping in for "a pint" after a day of golf, touring, fishing, or just relaxing. The excellent cuisine is extensive and changes seasonally. Geraldine and Michael Rosney and the entire staff are great hosts and always available to help you plan your day, whether it be golf, fishing or sightseeing. We feel there is no greater value than spending time at the Killen House Hotel . We can't wait to return !!
Becky and John Halleron

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Becky and John, and thank you both so much for writing and posting this fantastic review of your recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful to you.

It was a pure joy to accommodate and look after you and it was very gratifying for us to see not alone how much you enjoyed what we here in the Killen House had to offer, but - much more importantly - what Killarney, Kerry and Ireland had to offer.

As far as we're concerend our function in life is to do what we have to do to send all of our guests home from Ireland as happy as we possibly can. Then al we do is pray that they have big mouths, good memories and lots of friends......!!!!

Thank you both again for the wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you both back the the Killeen House at some future stage.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent a few days a the Killeen House in August and have to say it was fantastic. As a frequent traveler, I'm probably more picky then most .... but can absolutely attest to the fact its a first class operation. The rooms were immaculate, the staff was friendly and always available, the bar was lively and the food was outstanding. If you are traveling to Ireland, this is a hotel where you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What an outstanding review Bill - one we are truly grateful to you for writing and posting up here on Trip Advisor.

The review headline says it all and it is extremely gratifying for all of us here in the Killeen House to know that we can manage to look after so many of our guests in such a way as to give them happy memories that live long in their minds!

When you spend your money in a store, you walk out the door with something tangible that you can point to and say to everyone that this is what my money got for me. But when you spend it with us here in the Killeen House, all we can give you as you leave us is memories. And the better the memory the better the quality and value of the spend!

Thanks again Bill and all the best to you all.

Michael & Graldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at the Killeen House on a golf trip, excellent stay, room was clean, food was great and the Guiness was even better. The owners were great and accommodating, they couldn't have done more to make our trip the best ever. I recommend a stay at the Killeen House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Robert and thank you most sincerely for this wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you for going to the time and trouble of writing it and posting it up.

We're delighted that we clearly played our part so well in giving you an Irish vacation experience that will hopefully live long in your memory, and hopefully also one that will also encourage you to contemplate a return visit at some future stage!

Now that you've discovered the joy and beauty of our great little country, please feel free to tell everyone in Maine (another stunningly beautiful place!) all about us....

Thanks again Robert and all the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's hard to believe but with every stay at the Killeen House the experience just gets better and better. Our group has stayed with Michael and Geraldine on numerous occasions over the years and the first thing we do in planning our Ireland Vacation is to make sure the Killeen House has availability. Every other aspect of our vacation is secondary to the incredible Irish hospitality everyone receives as a guest at the Killeen House!! The attention to detail that Michael, Geraldine, Gavin and the staff give to each and every guest is second to none. The food is superb and I can honestly say I had some of the best laughs in my life sitting in the pub pre and post dinner. The rooms are spotless and the beds are extremely comfortable. If you have a golf group or just want a quick couple getaway the Killeen House is prefect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What an outstanding and wonderful review - thank you very much!

We truly appreciate all the business we get here in the Killeen House, but we are especially aware of and thankful for that part of our business which is repeat, because that is about the best compliment and recognition that a place such as ours can get from a guest.

For someone like you to say that the very first thing you do before booking your overall Irish vacation is check our our availability is just about as high a praise as we can possibly imagine!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the not too distant future.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I expected a country house hotel but it was just a bit old world for us.
I dont like wallpaper everwhere especially in bathrooms.
We were looking forward to eating here as the restaurant has very good reviews,
But our bar food wasent the best to be honest.
The walls were paper thin in fact we could hear every word the people next door were saying.
and we heard every time the gentleman used the loo.
Hot water was plentyfull in the shower etc.
Breakfast was served to you but very annoying haveing to get up every time you wanted a refill of coffee you had to go into next part of dineing room.
A pot of coffee would be much more handy on the table.
A lot of golfers seem to stay here
If you wanted to go into killarney for the evening you would have to get a taxi as its a bit out of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Tammy from Cork and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to us last August here in the Killeen House.

Naturally, we are really sorry that, as you say in your headline, we were not for you.

Indeed having looked at many of the other Trip Advisor reviews you have posted on your hotel and restaurant experiences (especially in Ireland) we can very clearly see that we would never be in a position to totally satisfy your needs and requirements.

That being said, we are very sorry that you didn't mention any of the issues that did not meet with your approval while you were actually staying with us Tammy. Some of them could have been resolved on the spot, while obviously more of them could not.

Like for example, while we certainly wouldn't have torn the wallpaper off the bathroom walls to satisfy you, we would with a heart and a half have given you enough coffee at your breakfast table for you to take a swim in.....!!!

We were especially sorry to note that noise was an issue for you, because we take great pride in having a nice and quiet atmosphere here in the Killeen House. It's extremely rare for any of our guests to be affected by noise, except very occasionally with loud cars sometimes going up the side road that a few of our bedrooms face out on. And all the internal walls here are concrete, which greatly helps to reduce - but not obviously totally eliminate - noises.

Our location is what it is Tammy. Some guests love the fact that we are 10 minutes outside town, and then some like yourself find it an inconvenience. On balance the vast majority of our guests appreciate the peace and calm of the location and the nice quiet gardens we are surrounded by. But certainly if an 8 to 10 minute €12 taxi ride into the nearest town is an issue for someone, then clearly the Killeen House is not the ideal location for them to choose to stay in.

In any case Tammy, thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we also again apologise to you that we did not meet your expectations.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House

Address: Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killeen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killeen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.