We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection , once again !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killeen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Killeen House to your Saves list
Killeen House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection , once again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My better half just treated me to an amazing weekend at what is quiet simply the best hotel in Ireland ! As we were celebrating my 40th birthday there was talk of London , Paris , NYC etc. but for me The Killeen House Hotel was the only place i wanted to go. Geraldine & Michael have the art of real personal service off to a tee ! As always Gavin made our visits to the bar full of entertaining craic ! As for the meal in the restaurant , all i can say is that you love food , you have not lived until you have had the pleasure of dining in this amazing hotel.Every time i check out of this hotel and leave , i'm wondering to myself , how long will it be before we have an excuse to return ? I think i feel a little golf break coming .......... :-)
Thank you everyone at Killeen for making our weekend a celebration we will never forget !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
What a fantastic headline for us to read Anthony - thanks a million!

We're always delighted when anyone staying with us for the first time really enjoys themselves....

But when they come back again (and again!) and enjoy themselves just as much or even more, well then that makes us especially happy and contented!

It's a true pleasure to welcome you and to look after you here in the Killeen House and you honoured greatly by choosing us to celebrate such a major milestone in anyone's life (BTW, Michael reckons you don't look a day over 39....!!)

Thanks also for name-checking our man Gavin. He has his moments for sure! We always love it when our staff are singled out because not alone is it very gratifying for them, but it also highlights the personal nature of our service.

Thanks again so much Anthony, and we'd really love to welcome you back again before we close the door on the 2013 season at the end of October.

All the best to you both

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
246
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were visiting Ireland from Canada and Michael and Geraldine were the most memorable people of our stay. Everywhere we went we would compare it to our stay with them. They learned our names right from the start and made us feel so welcomed and at home! The service was phenomenal and the food was to die for! I absolutely loved staying there, even though we were there for one night, it was the best night of our stay! My brother and I loved playing checkers in the bar and very much enjoyed the complimentary tea and scones! Over all, amazing and would definitely go back when I head over to Ireland again! Thank you so much for the wonderful experience
- the milne family from canada

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
What a stunner of a review Kim! Thank you so much for going to the trouble of writing it and posting it up here on Trip Advisor - it means a lot to us that you did so.

You were a great family to have staying with us and our only regret (just like you!) is that you stayed only one night....

We always worry when we see one night bookings in the Killeen House, because we are located in such a big, beautiful and diverse area that it's just not physically possible to see and fully appreciate how wonderful and special it truly is.

We're delighted that we played our part in giving you all some happy memories of Ireland and we hope you might make it back to Killarney and Kerry again at some future stage.

Thanks again so much Kim and all the best to you and the rest of the Clan.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived there was a very warm welcome. The proprietors Geraldine and Michael were extremely professional and superb hosts. The food was out of this world. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

Room Tip: The bedroom looking out across the church to the mountains is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
There's not a lot you can say when you open your Trip Advisor page early in the morning and see a headline like your one Susie - except thank you so very much!!!

As with the vast majority of people in a business like ours, we work extremely hard at it, we put stupidly long hours into it, and - most of all - we take it very personally.

So when our efforts result in satisfaction levels for our guests like you recently experienced, it is enormously gratifying for us, on both a personal and a professional level.

It was a real pleasure to look after you Susie and we hope we'll see you back again with us at some future stage here in God's Own Country.

Thank you again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of a two night stay at this treasure of a hotel! Michael, Geraldine, Gavin and all of the other staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and added the personal touch in every way they could. On our first evening we ate in the restaurant which was a most fantastic meal. We have eaten in numerous Michelin starred establishments and the food here is up there with the best! On the second night we ate in the bar and were served the best Steak Sandwich we had ever tasted. Breakfast again is a gastronomic delight with a full Irish and locally caught fish heading up the very extensive menu.
Our room was homely, comfortable and exceptionally clean. It had all the amenities that we needed and complimentary coffee is available at any time. We have already started to recommend Killeen House to family and friends but secretly I would like to keep this little gem quiet so there will be room for us on our next visit!!
When in Killarney this hotel is a MUST.
Thankyou again,
Kay and Mark Newman

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Kay and Mark and thank you most sincerely for this stupendous review here on Trip Advisor - we are really grateful to you for going to the trouble of writing it and posting it up.

And thank you especially for commenting on the personal nature of our service. This is something we take a fierce pride in. We deeply believe that in the final analysis, it is this aspect of our operation more than any other, that a big chunk of all our guests really like and enjoy.

Also, we really appreciate your wonderful comments about our food, another area we work really hard at. Although we don't for one second thank that we are anything but Michelin style or standard, we do source absolutely the best raw materials that we can, and then we treat it with the respect it deserves and try to cook and present it in a way that pleases our guests.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and we hope some of your future plans might bring you back to Killarney and Kerry again at some future stage, where you know there will always be a warm (and personal!) welcome waiting for you here in the Killeen House.

Thanks again and all the very best to you both.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just back from a great stay at Killeen House. I booked for 4 days extended it to 5 and then to 7 days! Michael and Geraldine are wonderful hosts, immediately calling all their guests by their 1st names whilst taking a genuine interest and care that everyone gets the best out of their stay.The other staff are great too, most notably Gavin and Michelle.The hotel does attract a lot of male golfing parties, which to a non golfer can be a bit in your face at times. No matter there was always the bar to go to where Gavin was great for the craic and all the talk about other things like racing and football ! The food is exceptional , and the rack of lamb I had on my last night quite superb.Free use of the hotel's internet also much appreciated. I can't wait to visit Killeen House again. Go there and enjoy a truly, friendly Irish welcome and stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
And we didn't want you to leave either Ian.....!!!

Thank you sincerely for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you here in the Killeen House and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing time with us

Thank you for mentioninig both Gavin and Michelle by name too - we always love to see our people being mentioned by name because it servesd to truly highlight the personal nature of our service.

And our rack of lamb recipe is certainly going to be staying on our Menu for the foreseeable future! It is getting more than it's fair share of compliments from our dining guests this year....

Thanks again for the great review Ian and we look forward to welcoming you back to the
Killeen House in 2014 - wheteher there are Races on in Killarney or not!

All the very best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Killeen House. Michael and Geraldine are gracious, accommodating, and all around good people. Their B&B is clean and well maintained, their staff call each of their guests by first name as do Michael and Geraldine. When one stays here it feels like your home that's how comfortable the place is. And it is as nice as the pictures! Anyone who has the chance to visit Killarney should not miss this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What a truly great review - thank you!

We really do appreciate your taking the time and effort to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor.

And of course the thing we appreciate most is the fact that you are a repeat guest, which is far and away the best possible recommendation that a place like ours can get - and all the moreso when you come back with a big group of family and friends!

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we hope you are now all safely back home, fully loaded up with many happy memories of your Irish vacation.

Thanks again and all the best to you all.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildeer, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a group of 13 adults and 2 children in our group and we could not have asked for a more hospitable host for four nights. Food was spectacular and the Championship rooms were well worth the price. Bar on premises allows for private gatherings and a few pints! Country environment with in-town feeling. We made an excellent choice selecting the Killeen House!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Bob and most sincere thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really are thankful to you for writing it and posting it up

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we are delighted that everything went off so well for you all.

Even though you'll all have different memories of the trip for a variety of different reasons, we are glad that we were able to help and accommodate you all here in the Killeen House.

It was a pleasure to look after your party and you know where we are if and whenever your plans bring you back our way again at some future time.

Thanks again and all the best to everyone

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House

Address: Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killeen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killeen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.