We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining is what's special here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killeen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Killeen House to your Saves list
Killeen House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dining is what's special here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a sweet place, caters especially to the golfing crowd. The hosts could not have been nicer or more friendly
Reputation is based in large part on the kitchen, among the best you'll find in Ireland. Fine dining dinners and excellent breakfasts. Killeen House especially suitable for couples, as flowery decor meant to please women guests more than men. Not the place for a bunch of guys playing 36 a day, but ideal for slightly older crowd.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi SC and sincere thanks for the overall great review of your recent stay with us here in the Killeen House - we truly appreciate it.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the visit and thank you especially for highlighting the food part of our operation, which is an area we take special pride in running to the highest level we possibly can.

But unless an awful lot of guys have told us an awful lots of little white lies over the last twenty years, you're wrong to say that we're not the place for a bunch of guys golfing on the magnificent golf courses of the Southwest of Ireland....!

This year, golf guests will probably account for about 40 percent of all of our business in the Killeen House. Of that 40 percent, at least 80 percent of them are groups of four or eight guys over in Ireland on what Geraldine calls 'male bonding breaks'!! And thankfully many of tyhem are either repeat guests, or else referrals from past guests.

You're right about the age profile though - the clear majority of all of our guests would tend to be a little bit north of their mid thirties! But much younger people also thankfully seem to have a great time with us too.

Regardless, in our experience and no matter who are guests are, it's all about friendliness, food and good water pressure in the showers.... If we can manage to get those three things consistently right, then we feel that we will be able to properly look after all of our guests.

Thanks again for the review and we hope you have arrived safely home with an abundance of happy memories fo your recent Irish holiday experience.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
246
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a night in the Killeen House Hotel last week and are looking forward to going back. The welcome, food, bar and bedroom were all first class. We felt like we were old friends returning rather than first timers to the place and Michael, Geraldine and staff really know how to make you feel comfortable and the restaurant serves food at a very high level. This year we have stayed at the Muckross Park and the Killarney Plaza and last year at the Aghadoe Heights Hotel and we will be going back to the Killeen House when down again. Really great place and a deserves all the credit it gets. A romantic spot - you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Des and sincere thanks for the sparkling review here on Trip Advisor - we're really grateful to you for going to the trouble of writing and posting it up.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and we are honoured that you compared us so favorably with our more famous and fancy friends and colleagues here in Killarney

Michael maintains that we get a lot of our inspiration for how we treat our guests from the old "Cheers" sitcom on TV, where they sang in the intro tune that "you want to be where everybody knows your name".....! Geraldine says that it's all about treating people the way you'd like to be treated if you were in their shoes. So when you bring those two attitudes together, you end with with a Killeen House type of welcome!

Thanks again for the great review Des and you know where we are when next you plan to visit the Kingdom. (And we hope Dublin come second in the big match on Sunday!!)

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Geraldine and Michael know how to provide a great experience. Don't be put off with the distance from town -- Killeen House is a 3 mile walk (near a paved path through beautiful country that leads directy to town) or short drive from Killarney: lowing cows, lovely and lush green fields and a warm, wonderful, friendy and accommodating staff enthused to help and serve you are your reward. My room was a single which was quite comfortable. The busy bar and restaurant, both patronized by locals and visitors, have a menu with outstanding choices which are all carefully prepared and are tasty, tasty. Breakfast included with the lodging spares nothing; generous servings of hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a wonderful and straightforward review Sam - thank you very much! We truly are grateful to you for taking the time to put it all together and posting it up here on Trip Advisor.

Lest you convey a slightly wrong impression, we are in fact just under four miles from the Town Centre of Killarney, but for those so inclined, it is a beautiful walk. The first part of it - less than a quarter of the overall - is along country roadside, but then you enter our amazing Killarney National Park and the remainder is along beautiful parkland and woodland trails.

Also, every single room rate we quote here in the Killeen House includes a full Irish breakfast.

Because we are so removed from other breakfast options out here in the countryside, we feel it would be unfair to charge room only rates!

Thanks again for the great review Sam, and we trust the rest of your Irish vacation went off extremely well and that you are now safely home in MN, hopefully with many happy memories of your time among us.

All the best.

Mic hael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Killeen House this summer and didn't want to leave ! The proprietors are friendly, helpful, and so genuine. We look forward to a return visit to golf at more of the outstanding courses in the area , and explore the many areas we didn't have time to see. The restaurant is outstanding, the service excellent - can't say enough positive remarks . We will highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Lynda and thank you so much for the wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and we're delighted that your first trip to Ireland was all that you hoped for it to be.

And we were especially pleased that you listened to Michael about which golf courses to play Lynda...otherwise there might have been a different outcome!

Thanks again for the wonderful review and please say a big hello to the man in purple....

Until we meet agin, keep very well

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I just finished an 8 day run through Ireland. We stayed at the Killeen House for 2 of those nights and it was by far our favorite place to stay. The hospitality was just excellent. The owners are both so friendly and kind and their warm welcomes are very genuine. The same goes for their other staff. The bar is a great spot to hang out and chat with others about your day's adventures. We also ate dinner in there one evening and their pub grub was exceptional. The food in the restaurant was excellent for dinner and breakfast. It really was the perfect base for us to explore the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula and many other locations across our 3 days in the region. The name of the place is perfectly representative of the place also. It looks like a house, has rooms like a hotel, but feels like a B&B with a fine restaurant and nice pub all built in! Do not miss it!

These weren't complaints for me, but just noting them for other travelers... As with most hotels in Ireland, there is no AC in the room. There aren't a lot of TV channels to choose from, but that's hardly the point of a trip to Ireland is it?

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and had no issues with noise from bar/restaurant or common areas personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Richard and sincere thanks for the fantastic review here on Trip Advisor - we are really grateful to you for it.

And thank you especially for highlighting one of the attractions of our Hotel that we often overlook, and that is it's great location from the point of view of touring the entire region.

Killarney (and the Killeen House of course!) is a great hub in which to stay, and each day for four or five consecutive days, you can take off in different directions, to see and enjoy such amazing experiences as the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula, the Gap of Dunloe, Cork & Blarney and of course the jewel in the Crown of Kerry Tourism that is the Killarney National Park.

We're very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that we played our part in hopefully creating many happy memories of a special Irish vacation.

Thanks again and all the very best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in June and wish I could have stayed longer. Damien checked us in, showed us to our rooms and then took care of us in the pub where we all had the seafood chowder which was delicious! Then he gave us tips and information on where to go and what to see in the short time that we were there. The next morning Michael took care of us at breakfast (which was by far the best that we had during our whole trip) and then he checked us out and gave us information/directions on what to see that morning before we headed out of town.

On my next trip I will definitely stay at Killeen House again and next time I will make a point of staying for more than just 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks a million for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate the time and effort you put into writing it and posting it up.

We are always happy to welcome guests into the Killeen House, but we are especially happy to welcome repeat guests, That is a particularly gratifying thing, in that the guests already know what you are, and are happy to rely on us to give them what they want in terms of a nice break.

And thank you also for mentioning Damien and complimenting him on looking after you so well. He is a marvellous young man who hopefully will have a bright future in our business.

We're delighted that we again lived up to your expectations - and all we hope is that you'll stay with us again if and when your plans ever bring you back in our direction!

Thak you sincerely again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We first stayed at Killeen House in 1999 and had such an amazing time it was the first place we booked when we traveled back to the area 14 years later! However, we were a little concerned we'd never be able to replicate such a great experience. Fortunately, our concerns were totally unnecessary! The Killeen House was just as charming as we remembered it (actually even better) and Mike and Geraldine made us feel like long lost relatives!! The bar and restaurant were wonderful and the food was among the best we had our entire trip! There are a LOT of B&B's to choose from in the Killarney area - I can guarantee you will not be disappointed if you choose Killeen House!

Room Tip: They have rooms with single beds, queens and kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
What a great review - thank you, thank you, thank you!

As Michael said, you took your time about coming back to us, but when you did we were delighted to welcome you with open arms, because we were so honoured that you could even remember our name after such a long time.

For sure, there's an awful lot of water after flowing under an awful lot of bridges in the intervening time!

It was a pleasure to look after you both and we sincerely hope that your new-found friends had a ball as well.....!!!

Thanks again guys and remember your faithful promise not to wait so long until you visit us again....

Best to everyone.

M+G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House

Address: Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killeen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killeen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.