We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations - No Blarney!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killeen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Killeen House to your Saves list
Killeen House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Salinas, California
2 reviews
“Exceeded our Expectations - No Blarney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our golf club pro told me before our trip that Killeen House would be the highlight of our trip to Ireland. He was absolutely correct! Michael and Geraldine treated us like long-lost relatives (the kind you are happy to see!) and we felt like we were staying in their well-appointed home, not a hotel. The accommodations, food choice and quality, and staff service all exceeded our expectations. Frankly, we regretted planning only a two night stay. If you are traveling to southwest Ireland, a stay at Killeen House is a must-do. Oh, by the way, did I mention that the water pressure in the shower was great?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi and thanks a million for the fantastic review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate all the time and effort you took to write it and post it

It was a pleasure looking after you and we just knew that the water preessure would be one of the highlights of your trip!! It's always nice to have nice food, nice staff and a nice atmosphere, but the real cream on the cake is the water pressure!

Now you know where we are, we look forward to welcoming you back to God's Own Country again - hopefully in the not-too-distant future

And by the way, pease say a big hello and thank you to your Golf Pro - and always listen to him, because he is clearly a wise man....!

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
246
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Room was large and airy with good beds and pillows. Silence at night was wonderful. Food was excellent. Owners were very friendly, efficient and extremely welcoming. We will certainly be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi and a very sincere thank you for posting up this wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate it

We're delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, and of course the best compliment of all that a place such as ours can get is when people like yourselves declare that they definitely will be back!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you here in the Killeen House again in the future. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a must stop for anyone traveling in the southwest of Ireland. Michael and Geraldine have the hospitality formula figured out. Great hotel, location, room size, number of rooms (23); and a big dose of "how can I make your stay here exceed your expectations!"

The Killeen House is well situated near the town center but also feels remote if you are looking for beautiful and pristine landscape with no noise, lights and traffic. It will meet your every need if you don't choose to venture out in the evening after a long day of sightseeing, golfing, etc.

In addition to their claim to have the best service and hospitality in the area, they also claim to have the best water pressure for showers and baths. I can confirm that both claims are true!

The accommodations, restaurant and pub are first class. (see my review of the dining facility - Rossers)

You don't have to be a golfer to appreciate the Killeen House but, if you are a golfer, you will enjoy Michael's knowledge of the area golf courses and his "ballroom". Most people would call "the ballroom" a really nice pub but golfers find it a place to enjoy the interface where golf meets good drink. Michael collects club logo golf balls from his visitors. Although he does not have enough time to chronicle all of them, he believes he has in excess of 8500 balls to display. I knew about this collection before we stayed there so I now have a ball on display! The balls are mounted on the walls of the pub and you can check them out as you enjoy one of their nice draft beers, quality spirits or after dinner drinks.

We used the Killeen House as our launch point for golf rounds at Waterville (on the Ring of Kerry) and the Killarney Golf and Fishing Club (home of the professional tour stop for the Irish Open). A perfect place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for the sparkling review of your recent stay with us here in the Killeen house - we are really grateful to you for going to all that time and trouble

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we hope that you landed safely home laden down with a bucket-load of happy Irish memories!

We have always said that we pride ourselves very much on just three things here in the Killeen House. These are our uniquely Irish ambience and friendliness, the high quality of our food offering, and the superb water pressure in our showers.....! We're delighted that you experienced and enjoyed all three.

Thanks again for the great review and hopefully we'll see you all again here in the Killeen House in the years ahead. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We received the warmest of welcomes and from the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Geraldine and Michael sorting out 'Tee times and arranging everything to make our stay as perfect as could be.The accommodation was perfect and the facilities second to none.The Restaurant was immaculate the food gorgeous and served in such a personal and helpful manner.The the bar staff Gavin and Damien was highly amusing and very professional in the way they looked after us.I could not recommend this hotel more highly













sorting out 'Tee times and arranging everything to make our stay as perfect as could be.The accommodation was perfect and the facilities second to none.The Restaurant was immaculate the food gorgeous and served in such a personal and helpful manner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Dermot and thank you most sincerely for the super review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you for it

Thank you especially for specifically mentioning Gavin and Damien and how they looked after you so well. It's always great for them to be singled out in such a nice way

It was a pleasure to look after you and we're delighted that you enjoyed everything so much here in the Killeen House in particular, and more importantly in glorious Killarney and the South-west of Ireland. When you get the weather, it's a pretty special and amazing part of the world....

The three words that we are delighted to see in your review are, professional, personal and amusing..... That's what we like to think we're all about here, so reviews like yours reassure us that we're still on the right track!

Thanks again Dermot and all the very best. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykvarn, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After the marvelous dinners we had good sleep in the silent rooms. This was a really nice hotel for us golfers with good golf experience from the owner and his wife. The personel was nice and friendly and some of them we will remember for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Per and thank you so much for the wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it

It was a pleasure to look after you all here in the Killeen House last week, and we're delighted that even the weather co-operated over the few days

Now that you have experienced the difference between Irish and Swedish Golf courses, we hope that you will become regulars here every year!

Keep well Per, thank you again for the review and best regards to all the guys. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It has been a few years since I last reviewed this Emerald Isle Gem. Given the economic issues that have beset Ireland as well as the rest of the world, you might expect some properties to show evidence of decline. No so with Killeen House. My wife and I stayed 3 nights during or recent trip. The cleanliness, service, and hospitality retain as high a standard as ever and Michael and Geraldine continue to provide not only extensive travel assistance, but a true feeling of welcome. As for specifics, although the standard rooms are more than adequate, I recommend opting for a Championship room, they are beautifully appointed and spacious. The grounds and gardens are delightful and on a fine late afternoon, I recommend a glass of wine at the gazebo, beautiful views of the peaks. But above all, don't pass up dinner, you will miss one of the finest dining experiences in Ireland. In short, Killeen House has retained it's place as one of the best.

Room Tip: Championship room, 2nd floor corner, quiet and jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Lou and thanks a million for the sparkling review (your second one over the years) here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it

You and Pat are part of what makes the Killeen House the type of place that it is. At least 75 or so percent of all of our guests are just like you guys, as in either repeat or else direct referral from past guests

And we're delighted that even after 18 (yes, EIGHTEEN!!) visits to Ireland, that you still manage to fine new stuff to delight and entertain you.....

Keep well and all the best to all our friends in PA. Until trip # 19....... Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Killeen house is home away from home. I've never had a more relaxing stay at a hotel or resort.

You can rant all you want about the pool, the spa, the food, the location, etc.
What travelers really want is to feel welcome.
We see it all the time. Maybe a request for a late check out and clerk doesn't have authority to approve. Maybe the laundry wasn't quite right yet the laundry people have left for the day....

Micheal and Geraldine's warm welcoming attitude permiates throughout the staff.

Can't wait to visit again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Scott and thanks a million for the stellar review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate your going to the time and trouble to write it and post it up

Thank you especially for pointing out what we all feel here in the Killeen House, and that is that it's the people rather than the physical building that really matters in any Hotel (But we're probably just saying that because we don't have spas, pools, gyms, suites and all that kind of stuff!!!)

Our philosophy is very simple - treat every single guest the way we would like to be treated if we were in their shoes. Rocket science it isn't, but thankfully it seems to work for us pretty well....

Thanks again so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Killeen House at some future stage

All the best to all the boys. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House

Address: Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killeen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killeen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.