We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killeen House

Save Saved
You added Killeen House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free car parking and wifi
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Aghadoe
Windermere, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gem in the countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 4 nights at the Killeen House near Killarney in September of 2012. I was on a golf trip (arrangements facilitated by owner Michael) and it really couldn't have been better. The rooms & bathrooms are generous and especially well-equipped for European standards and the beds and bedding was great. Owner Geraldine (Michael's wife) runs an efficient and very pleasant staff and the food is exceptional- definitely plan at least one evening meal there. The pub is small, maybe too small, but friendly and definitely a good place to have a night cap and good conversation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi and a great big and sincere thank you for the great review - we are very thankful to you for posting it.

It was a pleasure to look after you all on the recent trip and we're delighted that even the weather more or less co-operated with you during all the golf....

Thanks especially for your very favourable comments about our food - this is an area we pay particular attention to and take great pride in...

Thanks again and all the best to the rest of the boys. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    25
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
123
214
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was my second trip to Southern Ireland and I have to admit, my finest. The first trip was with my wife and another couple. We stayed a couple of nights at several locations in Ireland and truly had a marvelous vacation. The one place that stuck in my memories of our vacation that year was our stay at the Killeen House Hotel. The Killeen House might be a small hotel but it had the most comfortable rooms, a fabulous restaurant, the most unique bar than any hotel I've stayed at in Ireland and in a lot of cases, in the world. All that being said, I have to admit the biggest asset of the hotel are it's owners/hosts. Michael and Geraldine Posney are unparalleled in their service and willingness to assist in whatever it takes to provide a memorable experience in Ireland.
My second trip was a golfing trip with seven of my best friends. Nothing against the wives but this was a "guy" thing and we did nothing but eat, sleep and play golf. In the plannig stages I determined that we would use the Killeen House as home base and didn't have to worry about packing and unpacking every day. It was fabulous and the smartest decision we made regarding the whole trip. Michael and Geraldine made sure we had tee times and caddies for all six rounds of golf, motor coach service to transport all eight of us, with golf clubs and luggage, from the time we arrived at Shannon Airport until we were returned to the airport for our trip home. The trip would not have been nearly as successful without the Killeen House Hotel and it's brilliant owners/hosts. Thanks Michael and especially Geraldine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Philip and thanks a million for the sparkling review - we are really and truly grateful to you for posting it up here on Trip Advisor

The absolute best compliment a place like ours can possibly get is when people choose to come back to you again, which you did, and especially with a different group from the first time. Because then, what you are essentially doing is giving us the loan of your reputation among you friends, and trusting that we will deliver on what you have promised.

Thank you for trusting us and we're delighted that we lived up to your faith in us....

It was a true pleasure to look after you all and one we hope to repeat again in years ahead

Thanks again Philip and all the best to everyone. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My first trip to Ireland was such a fabulous one due much to the experience I had with my sister, Kathy, and good friend, Deirdre, at the Killeen House. Michael and Geraldine were absolutely spectacular with their warm and generous spirit of hospitality. Personally, I have never encoutered a bed and breakfast that had it all like the Killeen House. We later stayed at a castle built in the 1200's and I would rather go back to Michael and Geraldine's Killeen House than stay in the castle again - and I do want to add that the castle was superb. Staying in the Killeen House was like being with old friends that you hated to leave. They take care of all your needs - from where to go and how to get there, to making sure you have the best food and service you could possibly receive anywhere.

Damien, one of our greeters and waiters, and all around accomodation person at the house, is one of the nicest young men I have met. He has the charm, wit, and finese of someone twice his age. Loved him!

Gavin, Marguerite and Ciari (misspelled) were just additional wonderful people. You must have to be extraordinarily terrific to work here! They are excellent at what they do.

I will tell everyone I know to go to Killarney and stay at the Killeen house if you want the very best of hospitality, food, service, and accomodations. Love you guys!!!!!!!!! Betty Furmanick

Room Tip: All were lovely! Really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Wow Betty....! What a stunner of a review - thank you so much for going to the trouble of writing it up and posting it up here on Trip Advisor - all of us here in the Killeen House really appreciate it

It was a real pleasure to meet and look after you all and I hope and trust the rest of the trip went off just all well for all three of you. With a guide like Deirdre, you can't go wrong!

And thank you especially for mentioning all our staff by name..... It's really all of them that make the pleasant and relaxed atmosphere that our guests enjoy so much

Thanks again Betty, and now that you've discovered us, don't be a stranger!

Thanks again Betty, keep well and all the best to the girls. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We absolutely loved the Killeen House!! Geraldine and her staff were so warm and welcoming, they made us feel right at home! The rooms were clean and spacious, and we loved the pub filled with golf memorabilia. Rozzers restaurant there served breakfast and dinner...the food was outstanding. The Killeen House truly was a highlight of our stay in Ireland. If you're in Killarney, don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Julie and thanks a million for the review.

We just loved the headline "Great home away from home", because that's exactly what we want the Killeen House to be for all our guests.

In fact, one of our most common comments to guests is to treat it like home - except we'll do the cleaning up and washing up!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope the rest of your Irish adventure went off just as well for you both

Thanks again Julie and all the best. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a great place to stay! The restaurant was 5 stars! The bar had some of the best Guinness in Ireland! The bed was just like being at home...and don't get me started about how good the water pressure is. Michael and Geraldine make you feel right at home and attend to your every need! Will definitely stay there again!

Peter Corbett
Seattle, WA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Peter and a sincere thank you for the magnificent review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it

Delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us here in the Killeen House and that we ticked all the important boxes for you - including the Guinness!

And of course the best compliment of all that places like ours can get is when guests announce to the World that they will come back and stay again....!

Hope you have a great weekend watching the Ryder Cup Peter - and we hope America comes in second - Go Europe!!!!

Thanks again and all the best to everyone. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

To paraphrase a quote from Mark Twain - "You can go to heaven if you like, but I'll stay right here at the Killeen House".
If your plans include a trip to Killarney, this is absolutely the place to stay. It is the essence of Ireland. Michael, Geraldine, and their wonderful staff will welcome you and take care of you like you've come home. The warm hospitality and excellent service they give to their guests is top notch. You can believe all the rave reviews about the Killeen House - this is my third visit and I can't wait for my fourth!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Deirdre and thanks a million for the sparkling review here on Trip Advisor (your second one in the last couple of years) - we are really grateful to you

And thank you also for creating only one degree of separation between Mark Twain and the Killeen House with your super paraphrase!

We're delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience and that the girls also had a ball on their first Irish vacation - but with a guide like you, why are we not surprised....?

Thanks again Deirdre, keep well and we hope to see you back again in God's Own Country in 2013

All the best. Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

WOW, what can we say. Our golf group spent 2 nights at the Killeen House and the experience couldn't have been better. Michael and Geraldine are the prefect hosts and their knowledge of Ireland is second to none. We had one of the best meals we have ever had as the food and service was A+ and we loved the fact that you could order dinner in the pub and they would call you to the table when things were ready. We can't wait for a return trip to Ireland and in particular a few nights in Killarney at the Killeen House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi and thanks a million for the stellar review here on Trip Advisor - we're really grateful to you for it

it was a pleasure looking after you all and we're delighted that you all enjoyed Ireland so much

Some of our guests love to order their meal in the Pub and then relax there until they're ready to go through to the Rozzers for their food. But more like to go straight in and sit and order at their table.

We're just happy that people want to eat with us! And happy too that we're able to give them whatever option suits them best....

Thanks again and you know where we are when next you're planning a trip to God's Own Country

All the best and please say hi to the rest of the group from all of us here in the Killeen House.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Killeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House

Address: Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Killeen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killeen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.