We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bar Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If you can get past the ugly frontage....the views alone that this hotel offers are worth it!

We had Sunday lunch in the bar and it was excellent. We ordered the gourmet burger, Fish & Chips and the fish of the day. There were no complaints and nothing was sent back :-)

The staff were welcoming and the service excellent.

If I was to make one comment, the furniture is a little jaded and could probably do with a little freshening up but that is a minor point.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    127
    78
    27
    14
See reviews for
146
437
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is in a beautiful setting. The rooms were great with very nice views. We wished we had not stayed in Cork and pushed on to Aghadoe Heights for an additional night. Spa services were great. The food was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

All I can say is lovely hotel, small, quiet and very very friendly! Staff couldn't do enough for you and always stopping with you asking how you were getting on and having the craic with you and making a fuss with the children! Only thing is the beds, stayed 3 nights and I can safely say was the worst 3 nights sleep I have experienced an that includes my pregnant wife, hard as the road!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed in Aghadoe Heights for 1 night last week as a part of our mini Irish honeymoon and it was just an ok experience for us. We stayed in the superior room with garden view, at the check in we were offered an upgrade to lake view for an extra €80 which we couldn't justify as we were paying over €300 for 1 night as it was, so we kindly declined the offer. The room, although spacious, didn't strike like 5 star accommodation: cheap oak furniture, ancient tvs, 2 beds pushed together and very ordinary bedding, which you find in your average 3-4 star hotels. There was nothing special about the room, no little luxurious touches and etc, so we were a bit disappointed with our accommodation. I don't know if all the rooms are the same or we just got unlucky, but it would ve been nice of the hotel to upgrade us to the lake view free of charge since they knew it was our honeymoon and the room was available anyway.
We had dinner included in our package as well but after looking at the menu we decided against dinning in the restaurant but instead opted for bar food, which again was grand but nothing special. During our honeymoon we stayed in 3 hotels: Inchydoney Island Lodge, Hayfield Manor and Aghadoe heights, we had dinner included in the package in each hotel and coincidentally price of the dinner was €55 per person in each property. Dinner at Hayfield Manor was the most amazing experience, with wide choice of starters/mains/desserts all executed and served to perfection (I had salmon tartar, fillet of steak and cheese board). In comparison, Aghadoe's restaurant menu was very poor, no steak for mains, just chicken, fish, vegetarian and lamb (1 of each) and if you wanted something from the a la carte menu - extra charge was applied on top of your €55 per person.
Breakfast was nice, good selection of cold/hot food.
Yes, hotel has spectacular views of lakes and mountains from bar/restaurant, leisure center and some of the rooms but the rest of the hotel didn't live up to expectations.
Service was good throughout our stay.
Would we go back/recommend - probably not; we felt this hotel was massively over priced for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Now this one i would have no hesitation in recommending. We didnt stay but had an evening spa experience. Staff were so pleasant and helpful - its a sign of a first class place. We used the facilities (steam room, sauna etc) before having our treatment. All of which ticked all the right boxes. The view is spectaculour.

Nice touch having the IPOD in the relaxation room at the end.

If i have to critise I would recommend they need bigger changing areas - only one toilet & a small enough area if you'd a few people using it.. but that would be our only critisism.

Room Tip: Didnt stay.. but OMG i'd love to ... & its sufficiently near Killarney / Tralee for shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

All of our traveling companions had nothing but great things to say about the place, but our experiences weren't as good... we stayed 2 nights.

A 5 star place referencing bose integrated sound systems with flat panel plasma displays. We had a 19" TV that appeared to be 10+ years old.

Dinner was good. Breakfast was good.

Being in the room under the bar was not so good. One could hear the bar stools sliding.

Room Tip: avoid room 102 as it has a 19" tube television and the room is under the bar--one can hear bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This has to be the nicest hotel I've stayed at I can't fault anything. The staff are amazing. The food fabulous . Room spotless clean very comfortable bed. And view breathtaking looking over lakes.. the spa and pool worth spending time there so relaxing definitely going back to Aghadoe heights ..

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.