We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous festive fun with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous festive fun with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had a fantastic time in aghadoe with a gang of girls last weekend. Total luxury all the way. Fabulous rooms, food, spa, but the best by far is the warm welcome and outstanding service from all the wonderful staff. Have stayed there on numerous occasions - can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly decorated rooms. Junior suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    118
    73
    26
    14
See reviews for
131
418
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for an xmas party night on Saturday night.All staff were excellant very attentive. The hotel itself was great the views from our room were amazing.Would highly recommend this hotel didnt get to use the spa but i will next time..

Room Tip: Look for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here more than a year ago....sorry for delay in reviewing....with three of my best girl pals. I had never stayed in this hotel prior to this but always wanted to book in. I had a totally different picture of it in my head. I felt it was going to be an older type interior which I love with antique furniture and definitely fabulous pool. I found the hotel to be quiet modern which was a shock to be honest. I particularly found the bar area to be bit almost bare in its furnishings. No wow for me and felt same with the reception area and in fact the unassuming cold entrance frontage. Why have the entrance at the side when the view out front is fantastic? Our rooms were okay ...two twins..but nothing to write home about either. I have to say I was shocked when I saw the pool. Again I expected luxury but to me it looked like a 70s conservatory with small pool in it and ugh plastic loungers and not enough of them. The four of us didn't even have one each. Acutally I had quick swim but there was no bit of luxury to make me want to sit and relax..I just wanted to leave the area. We booked a meal in the hotel restaurant and food was excellent. I felt the atmosphere at breakfast was dull and food wasn't inspiring...room was quiet dark. We were checking out on a Sunday and by 3pm having paid up and just sitting by the fire waiting for one of my pals husbands to arrive with their children to pick her up suddenly the gas fire went out........then the overhead ligths started to go out. We discovered the hotel was only opened for weekends at that particular time of year and we were being nudged to get moving to main door as it was about to be closed.

I am not writing what might seem like a negative report for the fun of it.........I have reviewed numerous of other hotels etc etc but this is the truth as I found this hotel at that time. I do not want to stop people going or damage hotel or jobs etc but I have to say honestly it was not at all the magical spot I believed it would be from the blurb on newspapers or what I had heard about it. My pals who knew this hotel are from Kerry told me it had been that older building with antiques that I imagined it would be but it had been upgraded and changed shortly before and they also felt it had lost its uniqueness somewhat.

I have to say going on the pool area alone and the size of the pool that would be one thing that would not entice me back and I havn't been back since. I sincerely hope this has changed but when I looked at website recently it does not look as if it has and acutally I could not get a full photo up on site of the poor area.

Room Tip: I was not blown away with our twin room on first floor so no I cannot make any recommendations ref b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel . Totally relaxing . Lovely piano music in the bar . A bit sad & lonely at breakfast Monday morning in a reduced size room as the hotel closes mid week but got great treatment by their really nice staff . The room could do with a little more back ground music so we can't hear other conversations . Could have stayed all week but will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

In a room facing the lake, the view is spectacular. Beyond that, this hotel is the equivalent any nondescript hotel. The service is friendly, but poor. The food is OK. The location is peculiar. It's a bit away from the town and the lake in a rural area. It's not convenient for enjoying the town, walking, or hiking.

Room Tip: Face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The staff at the Aghadoe are fantastic. They, more than anything, are what make this a 5 star hotel. We found that the almost exclusively local staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome and at home. The room was fantastic and the food was excellent and good value for money. I became addicted to their brown bread with walnuts. One small point - we paid for a lake view room which was superb - huge with a fabulous bed, bathroom etc but we got a ground floor room and the view was not worth paying extra for. I should have said something before we settled in, I have no doubt they would have moved us but we were too tired when we arrived. I look forward to returning here.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view don't stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here in Nov '13 in a lakeview room - complimentary upgrade from the hotel.

The views are extraordinary and the bar and restaurant overlook the lakes as well which is great.

Food: fantastic - we had barfood on the night and it was really good value. Plenty of choice too. We ordered a shared platter and it wasn't quite as described on the menu (some things missing, some things additional) but tasty nonetheless.
Breakfast was OK. the fried breakfast did not look nice - like it had been pre-cooked and resting for far too long. the healthy options were lovely though

Room: lovely room and very comfie bed. the bathroom is very nice too with a lovely roll top bath and nice toiletries. we didn't have any patio furniture on our balcony which is disappointing as some of teh other rooms next to us did.
the door out to the balcony doesn't stay open - that was pretty annoying as it would have been nice to leave it open overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa Ireland - Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.