We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner I had in Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rozzers Restaurant

Rozzers Restaurant
Killeen House Hotel | Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 663 1711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $72
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A beautiful family run Restaurant, with a special emphasis on locally sourced quality food.
Acworth, GA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best dinner I had in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did not stay at Killeen House B&B but we did stop by for dinner one night and it was incredible. Without a doubt, this was the best food we tasted in Ireland! Michael and Geraldine were warm and funny. We had a great time. If you are a golfer, then the bar is a must stop to see the wall of golf balls!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Jack and sincere thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

We're delighted you discovered us on your travels around Ireland and hopefully your time in Killarney was as good as the rest of the best of the country!

About 60 percent of all our dining guests in Rozzers are not residents of our Killeen House, so it's a terribly important part of our livelihoods, so we really appreciate when people just like you discover us - and then spread the word about us...!

Thanks again Jack and now you know where we are if ever your wanderings bring you back in our general direction!

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    16
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best restaurant, by far, in southwest Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I have had many a meal in Ireland. In general, Irish food has improved tremendously in the past 20 years with excellent restaurants to be found all over the island. However, it is really hard to find a restaurant that has the consistency of quality, imagination and presentation that Rozzers at the Killeen House Hotel offers. This is Irish cuisine at it's best - from the starters to the main courses to the deserts, The Kerry rack of lamb is divine. Absolutely the best, my husband's favorite. I am a fan of the fresh Irish salmon, prepared expertly by the talented chef of Rozzers. Each evening there are different specials offered apart from the menu that are creative and delicious. Whenever we are in Killarney, Killeen House is our choice of accommodation and we never miss a dinner at the hotel restaurant, Rozzers. There really is no point in going anywhere else; the food is the best. The wine menu is wonderful and you will not find a better meal anywhere in town. That's our opinion, but judging by the very full restaurant every night, it is a popular destination. Be advised - you should make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks a million for the stuning review and the truly kind words Carolyn - you know how much we appreciate them!

You two are among our most regular and most favourite guests and we always love to see you coming in the door....

All we can say is that it's people like you and Jim that make all of us enjoy the job we do so much.....

Keep well and hopefully this will be the winter that we'll finally get to see you on your own turf!

All the best.

M+G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food we ate in Ireland!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food was fresh, purchased from local venders and prepared on sight each day. The scones the best we had ever had. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and made necessary changes to the meal as per our request. The food was the best I have ever eaten!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
HI Annie and most sincere thanks for the great review of Rozzers - we truly appreciate it.

We're delighted you enjoyed Rozzers while you were staying here with us in the Killeen House. As you no doubt noticed, we operate it very much along the lines of a stand alone restaurant rather than along the lines of a hotel dining room.

We take fierce pride in doing everything as well as we possibly can, and also in being as local as possible in every way.

Thanks again and all the best to the boys.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Superb food with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A really excellent dinner with lots of choice and a range of specials available for the evening. The ambiance is also very homely and the staff superb - some of the best I have encountered. Michael the owner and his wife do an excellent job making you feel very at home in a 'golfy' interior ! - (the bar in particular) - Might I suggest you have a monographed ball in your pocket.....
That said its not just a golfers location. The food is absolutely first class. I started with one of the night's specials of scallops that were cooked to perfection and followed up with a rack of lamb that was also perfectly cooked and seasoned, my wife had the same main dish but an excellent starter of house smoked salmon on a pasta base. All really top class with some very well priced wine selections. Desert was a tad disappointing but not to worry. We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi and thank you very much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

The part of it we loved best was undoubtedly the very last three words "We wil return".....! That's as good as it gets for a place like ours.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your starters and mains so much, and just to set the record straight, our smoked salmon is not actually smoked here inhouse - but it's smoked by one of our main fish suppliers, Spillanes Seafoods, a local family firm who are less than a couple of miles from us.

We were sorry to see that you feel the desserts let down the rest of the meal a little bit, and sorry also that you did not specify which of them you felt could do with a bit of improvement, because it's that particular type of feedback that allows us to stay as well as we can at the top of our game......

But overall, you had a great experience and that's all that matter to us!

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rozzers here in the Killeen House Hotel at some future stage.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Small restaurant in the Killeen House Hotel. Owners are very glad you are there. Wonderful meal. Nice bar, golf oriented. Over 3000 golf balls on display in the bar.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Jim and sincere thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor, for which we are very grateful.

You summed it all up very nicely.

All we try to do is to provide nice food to nice people in a nice atmosphe, and to serve it in a nice way.

Sometimes that can be easier said than done, but when you have a bunch of people working with you like the bunch that we have, well then you've got a major advantage right away.

Thanks again Jim and delighted we contributed so well to your happy Irish memories.

All the very best to you and yours.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozzers Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rozzers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.