We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally Visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxfire Museum

Foxfire Museum
Black Rock Mountain, PO Box 541, Mountain City, GA 30562
706 746 5828
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Edgefield, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Finally Visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Been a fan of Foxfire for years and finally saw the museum. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Well laid out and informative. We went to the area for business and wished we had more time to visit. We'll definitely go back. A must see stop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Awesome and beautiful history here~ Great tour of amazing very old cabins! Cute gift shop! Very friendly!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fall At Foxfire”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

First time we went to Foxfire Museum. The lady at the office was informative, polite. We got in the car and started up the mountain. Went too far and had to turn around. Very cold, blustery day. Went to get out of the car and my hubby was calling me and I didn't see the hole and fell on both knees. The right knee was just injected November 7th due to a torn meniscus. A gentleman came over to check on me which I appreciated. Of course when you fall initially, you're embarrassed. Hope it's going to be okay. Needless to say that put a damper on exploring that area. Did stop back by the office to notify the lady. Under the length of the visit, I left it unchecked as the fall prevented our staying very long.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited the Foxfire Museum in Mountain City, Ga and it was a delight. Also visited the Foxfire Festival and enjoyed all the handmade crafts. Price at the doo is $5.00 and well worth it. Will go again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Take Me Home Country Roads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was born in the deep Appalachian Mountains of Virginia - so far back sunlight could barely make it through the canopy. The Foxfire Books have been a treasured series in our home library since I started keeping house. When we read about the Museum and Heritage Center, it was one of the first places we wanted to see while in Ga.

There are few words to draw an image of the investment in time and resources which has enabled this living example of our mountain heritage to exist in a way that allows a hands on experience. The walking tour of the buildings was literally like walking back into time, Living in the mountains, I was especially blessed to have seen and use many of the tools and techniques being saved in this lovely place. The buildings are from a time in our history which forced our ancestors to grow strong and self reliant.

The light coming through the trees, the cool under canopy and quiet invites you to sit a spell and close your eyes to imagine the lives of these hardy people.

Thank you for the privilege of experiencing the precious history that is our Mountain Heritage.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxfire Museum also viewed

 

Been to Foxfire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxfire Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.