We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't love it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolis Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Metropolis Cafe
138 N Wayne Street, Milledgeville, GA
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Milledgeville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Didn't love it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for the first time tonight and didn't care for it. My experince with Greek food is somewhat limited but greasy phyllo on Spanakopita doesn't seem like the proper way to prepare it. I also had a Greek gyro and the flavor just wasn't there. I had a gyro at the state fair this year that was times more flavorful than what I had tonight. Prices were very reasonable and service was quick and friendly but we won't be going back to Metropolis Cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crescent, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a college hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited on a Parent's Weekend at GA College & State. It also happened to be Deep Roots Festival Saturday. With all that, I expected a long wait. We were pleasantly surprised as we waited no longer than 10 minutes at dinner time. Maybe because the place is not directly on the main drag.
I've been before and this time too, the food was great. I had the Gyro with beef and lamb and it was delicious. The meat was tender, moist and not overdone. All Gyros come with chips but you can get fries or salad for a little extra. Our party tried the Steak Kabob Gryos which were also moist and tender. The food came out fast and hot. Pretty good for a weekend where the population of Milly was increased two or threefold because of the festival. We got a quick bite to eat for less than $25 with drinks. I've been twice and we'll sure to visit again when we see our daughter at GCSU.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Gyro in Georgia, very comfortable atmosphere, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great local business with conscientious owner and staff. Having recently traveled elsewhere and ate at a Greek restaurant, I was reminded how terrific the food is here. I have eaten most everything on the menu. The gyros are always good with fresh lettuce and tomatoes, great tzatziki sauce and quality meat. The other traditional greek fare is delicious.

Don't be afraid to try an Americanized special. I never would have thought Greek nachos would become one of my favorite dishes. The Baba Ghanoush is so good and rich in taste.

Beware - despite the very reasonable prices, the portions are huge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Send 'Em to the Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love this place. If I had money to eat out all the time, I'd have their greek salad, gyros, and kabobs. There's a hookah lounge and a bar if you're looking to relax. Small quaint restaurant, dim lighting, and good service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My favorite Milledgeville diner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great food! Haven't found anything I didn't like. The chicken kabob is fabulous. The portions are generous. The ambiance is just fine. The prices are most reasonable. Hands down my favorite restaurant in Milledgeville.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolis Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Metropolis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolis Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.