We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amidst the strip-mall kudzu of the New South, a timeless farmhouse continues the stories of old.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andalusia

Andalusia
P.O. Box 947, Milledgeville, GA 31059
478-454-4029
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic farm in Milledgeville, GA where Southern fiction writer Flannery O'Connor lived and worked until her death in 1964.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Amidst the strip-mall kudzu of the New South, a timeless farmhouse continues the stories of old.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After being a fan of the late Ms, O'Connor's writing since I discovered her in college, I was finally able to make it out to Milledgeville. It was a pilgrimage, so your value may vary depending on your pilgrim status, but few could deny that it is a lovely old farmland in a rustic setting.

One of the many glories of Flannery's writings was in her economy - very readable stories with variable interpretations covered in just a few pages. For that reason, I highly encourage others to dig out some reading prior to their visit or for the curious to pick a story or two out of "A Good Man Is Hard To Find". Then, when you see the dilapidated barn on the premises, you know it's not just a barn but the barn where the Bible salesman took the girl with the wooden leg. This simultaneous wave of emotions (pleasantness with a faint disturbing trace) makes one feel like they're living the fiction.

And of course the fiction came from inside the house. There wasn't a tour per de but just a minute-long speech and a suggestion to watch a brief video. There is honestly not much to see inside the house - it's more a place to feel. There's a gift shop in the back where you can be the first person you know with a Southern Gothic bumper sticker.

There are peacocks on the premises, a remnant of the days when Flannery had as many as 50 strutting their stuff. It's down to 3 now, and sadly they are caged but the guide says it's for their own good. It almost feels like a story.

As for the rest of the area, you can roam around, but we didn't, deciding to go into downtown to see her grave and her church. By all means grab a beautiful hand-drawn map of "O'Connor Country" inside the house, which gives you clear directions of everything you'd want to see in Milledgeville.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Lovely home of Flannery O'Connor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I love this house, especially that it's been kept as it was when Flannery O'Connor lived there. Don't get hung up over the peeling paint, etc., but remember that it hasn't been renovated, just maintained for character. The curtains her mother sewed still hang at the windows. Real, not replicated. Imagine that! And of course, the peacocks are a big part of the aura surrounding her. I'd never read her books until I visited and bought her book of short stories. "A Good Man Is Hard to Find" -- wow -- she was a gifted storyteller. I especially enjoyed seeing the kitchen and rocking on the front porch, chatting with my friends. It's a magical setting. If you love historic homes (and we all should!), don't miss seeing this one in Middle Georgia.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour for Flannery fans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I want to start off by saying I'm a big Flannery fan, and this was my sole reason for visiting Milledgeville (which was a beautiful town, but I'd only heard of it because Andalusia was there.) The tour was short but informative, and there are live peacocks there too! The house has a lot of interesting Flannery photographs, and the tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The grounds are stunningly beautiful, also. I particularly want to mention that the gift shop was great-- if you make it here and have writer friends who would appreciate strange Flannery O'Connor gifts (I do) then you'll be pleasantly surprised. I would say, though, if you don't have a big interest in Flannery herself, you may be bored on the tour. No one would argue that the grounds are gorgeous, though!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flannery O'Connor's Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is where the writer Flannery O'Connor lived and wrote (and raised 50 peacocks at a time). It is fascinating to see. There's her house to see and a nice walk through the woods by her pond. Highly recommend this visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breath taking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A visit to Andalusia, the home of Flannery O’Connor, is a trip into magic land. After visiting there, one can easily see why Flannery loved it so much and why she was so proficient a writer while living there.
The entryway to Andalusia is inspiring. The scenery is breathtaking and one can easily imagine being a prolific writer while living there. A few feet from the highway, but hidden by gorgeous groves of trees, sits Flannery’s home. It is a fantastic building in and of itself, and the surrounding countryside scenery is amazingly inspiring.
There is no entry fee to the home, but there is a suggested donation of five dollars. Most other celebrity homes I have visited have a set fee just to get into the house.
The interior of the home is relatively the same as when Flannery was working there, and many of the artifacts are the actual ones she used throughout her writing career. Visitors are given a short guided tour of the house and then are encouraged to stick around and inspect the house at their leisure. Several of Flannery’s books are on sale inside the house, along with quite a few other interesting souvenirs.
On the porch there are several huge white rocking chairs where guests are encouraged to sit and meditate or think about whatever it is that they would like to consider. Also, the porch is screened in, so folks don’t have to worry all that much about being annoyed by bugs. There is no requirement for a reason to go and sit on the porch, and certainly no fee. If you happen to be in the area and want a peaceful milieu in which to enjoy some peace and quiet, You are welcome.
When you leave the house and go out into the yard, there are further thrills. For example, when Flannery lived there, she had a collection of peacocks that she loved. Most of those are gone by now, but the O’Connor Association does keep three peacocks, caged, on the premises, and they are especially beautiful. As is usually the case in the world of animal nature, the male peacocks are the most colorful and beautiful. I have to admit, however, that the females of the species are not exactly ugly!
There are several other old buildings on the property, some of which are being restored as money allows. There is a beautiful old barn, and a brick building where, in Flannery’s time, milk was kept cool before it was sent to market. Also, the grounds are kept impeccably clean and beautiful adding even more pleasure for visitors.
If you are ever near Milledgeville, Georgia, it would be worthwhile to stop in and have a look-see!
Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday – 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Also can make advanced appointment.
Phone: (478) 454-4029

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andalusia also viewed

 

Been to Andalusia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andalusia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.