We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by abandoned buildings, stains on bedding” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites McDonough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites McDonough to your Saves list
Comfort Suites McDonough
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 SR 81 West at Exit 218, McDonough, GA 30252   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in McDonough
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surrounded by abandoned buildings, stains on bedding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I did my research before booking this hotel. I felt safe booking this hotel given the many positive reviews. I cannot believe that no one mentioned that this hotel is surrounded by an abandoned gas station, plaza, and low end motel. It did not feel like a safe area. When we went to check in, there was a woman asking if she needed to sign in to attend swimming classes at the hotel pool. The receptionist waived her off and said there was no need. As in, we don't care or keep track of who wanders around our hotel. This added to my concern over the location and the surroundings.

We checked in and proceeded to our room. We began unpacking and noticed there was a large reddish orange stain on the bedding. I asked the front desk if they could change the bedding (this was at about 5p.m. only about 5 minutes after we checked in). They said their housekeeping went home and that was not possible. My husband and I decided this on top of all of the other concerns mentioned above, this was the last straw. The receptionist (his name tag said "concierge") didn't seem concerned when I brought up the reasons we did not feel comfortable staying at the hotel. I had booked it for three nights. Although we had only been at the hotel for a total of about 15 minutes he refused to refund me all three nights and said we would have to pay for the first.

We ended up staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Kennesaw, which I would very highly recommend. I am very surprised that this hotel had as many positive reviews as it did. I would strongly suggest doing a Google Maps walking tour of the area to see if you would feel comfortable staying in this area.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton Garden Inn in Kennesaw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
20
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed for nearly a week, meeting for a family reunion. It was a good location and the beds were comfortable; however, the staff were rude. As well, they host a swim school daily until 8pm, despite the fact that signage indicates pool is for registered guests only. We could not relax in the pool except between 8pm-10pm, a little late for our little ones. There were several stray cats on the property, including dead kittens, which was a little disturbing. Security cameras were visible, but duct tape was covering the lenses. Interesting to see..... I will not be staying at this hotel again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay once in March an now July on our way to Florida..location is right off interstate very convenient and didnt notice any noise...so quiet an cozy. Nice hot shower an beds so comfortable. I highly recommend whether one night or longer! Wish the pool was open later!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently while on my way to an Atlanta meeting, and will do so in the future. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was basic but did the trick. It's a very short drive from here to Atlanta and you can't get a room there at this quality for anywhere near this price. Highly recommended for business travelers getting around by car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were south of Atlanta which was our goal and wanted a safe and quiet place to sleep. Lots of restaurants in this area and easy on and off of I75. Good hot breakfast at 6 which helped us get on our way to Florida early.

Room Tip: Even though close to 75 it was quiet. We were on 3rd floor. Would us again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here for an event at the Speedway. The hotel was in close proximity and there were many restaurants nearby.
The staff was very friendly as well as accommodating to our extremely late check in. The parking lot was overly crowded, and there were no empty spaces, this due only to the event at the speedway. Otherwise, it looks as though parking would be sufficient.
The breakfast was good, and was always well stocked even with the high demand.
Rooms were clean and well kept.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel employees were all polite and helpful on local places to eat and shop. Our room was a king bed room and was clean and spacious. We enjoyed a quiet nights sleep even though we were next to I-75. The breakfast was nice with eggs, sausage, waffles and the usual cereals and pastries. This was a great place to stay being so convenient to the freeway.

I do object to a "safe fee " of $1.50 being tacked on to our bill. Come on, if you want to raise the rate $1.50 then do so and do not try to sneak in a fee for a safe that we did not and would not ever use.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites McDonough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites McDonough

Address: 64 SR 81 West at Exit 218, McDonough, GA 30252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > McDonough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in McDonough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites McDonough 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites McDonough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mcdonough Hotel Mcdonough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites McDonough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.