We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, wonderful service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marietta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stanley House Inn
Save
You added Stanley House Inn to your Saves list
236 Church Street, Marietta, GA 30060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Marietta B&B and Inns
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
“Beautiful house, wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I were married in this house 13 years ago. We have come twice since then, once for our anniversary and this past Valentine's day weekend. It is within walking distance to shopping and dining in Marietta square. We brought another couple with us this time and it was beautifully remodeled and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the service was amazing! We loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
21
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A charming historic inn located just a couple of blocks from Marietta Square where there are dozens of unique restuarants and shops with a lot of personality. The Inn Keeper was very helpful to my wife, who wasn't feeling her best. Prices are very reasonable for the area. Parking is tricky, water pressure not so great, and the breakfast is not the main attraction. But overall I will consider staying there again the next time my wife accompanies me on a business trip to Atlanta. Particularly in warmer weather when we can hang out comfortably in the square.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Stayed here and celebrated a friends wedding. The venue is totally set up for weddings and everything was organised superbly. We had a great Wedding Day and the Ceremony and arrangements ran smoothly.
We stayed in the front turret room, Alpharetta.It was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside to staying here is the noise of the regular Freight trains that run about every 20mins throughout the night, and they Hoot loudly as they pass by. This effectively renders a night sleep impossible. Shame
We stayed here 3 nights and saw nobody here until day three! The property is extremely clean and our room was kept superbly but offers no other services to speak of.
Wi-fi in our room was excellent...

Room Tip: Don't (can't) sleep here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The Stanley House Inn was decorated beautifully for the holidays. All of the rooms were very clean. We were very please with the quiet, cozy atmosphere as we learned many interesting facts about The Civil War and historical Marietta, Georgia.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Much appreciated the respect for jet lag and sleeping late. Awesome linens and bed. Wonderful goodies put out each day. We felt welcome for use of kitchen-in case we needed a late night snack. Antiques, history, modern bathrooms. -m&thall

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Stayed a few nights while in town for business. The bed was comfy but the room itself was crowded with furniture and outdated decor. I really disliked the steps up to the bathroom with a louvered door. Jumping down from a high bed and then trying not to stub toes into the bathroom in the middle of the night is not fun. I do love quaint and character in accommodations but this place leaned more towards dated. Did I mention the train tracks nearby? 3 am, 6am...ugh! Downstairs seemed nice if you just wanted to rent the facility for a party, wedding shower etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Didn't know beforehand, but Stanley House Inn is mainly set up for wedding parties, not for overnight guests. All of the downstairs common areas, which you would normally expect to be available for guest sitting, is populated instead with small circular party tables and folding chairs. Turned out that there was a wedding party going on the night I stayed. The joint was jumping with a band and open bar. Not being a party to the wedding party, I was exiled to my room trying to hear the television over the music. Beside the music issue, I could only see the top half of the television screen over the four-foot tall bed between the television and the chair. When the band quit, I retired and slept well. There were nearby trains during the night, but truthfully they did not particularly bother me. Possibly because the train noise paled in comparison to the band. Breakfast in the morning was simple, but good, and served promptly by a nice couple. The inn is an easy four or five blocks walk from the town square, which was my destination, so it was very convenient in that regard. But, the upshot of my review is that I would not return there intending to spend the night as a B&B guest under any circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Inn

Address: 236 Church Street, Marietta, GA 30060
Location: United States > Georgia > Marietta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Atlanta and three blocks from the historic Marietta Square, this Victorian beauty is the picture of Southern elegance. Best known for beautiful weddings and other special events, the Stanley House has 5 guest rooms with private baths. Bed and breakfast guests enjoy a great Southern breakfast in our grand dining room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.