We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New kid on the Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Butcher The Baker

The Butcher The Baker
23 North Park Square, Marietta, GA 30060
678-224-1599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 607 Restaurants in Marietta
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“New kid on the Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The food was very good, but not cheap----a little more pricey than other options at the Marietta Square.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Work in Progress, Maybe?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Based on Very Good reviews by Rebinga and RexalWillie, we made reservations prior to
attending a Christmas Show at the Strand. Very disappointing, or at least quite a letdown from
the reviews mentioned above, lighting was muted to the point of being dark, a table across from
the Bar was not conducive to polite conversation. Menu looked good, but the actual product
was at best marginal and significantly over priced. I had chicken about 3 oz and some kind of
carmelized brussel sprouts which bordered on being bitter and charred and I've had much better chicken almost anywhere else. My dining companions had other selections and none thought the food was very flavorable, and all had something other the brussel sprouts (that were also charred and on the bitter side). Only bright side was our Server, cheerful and professional.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still looking forward to the entrees...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

…because the small plates are so good - and so remarkably varied - that we never get past them to the main courses. The menu changes, of course, based on local availability so we may never get past the small plates. We had oysters with a huckleberry mignonette - inventive but a little tart for me (husband loved). We had fried quail that was fun and tasty. The cheese plate had a delectable assortment. The star, though, was the charcuterie board. There was a pate that rocked along with duck ham - yes, duck ham - that was like country ham jerky, bursting with flavor, and there were pickled vegetables (turnips? crazy good) and pickled mustard seeds. It was just chock full of flavor and texture. Very satisfying. The cocktails were wonderful as well. I had one - the Georgia Heirloom - that was surprisingly magnificent because it involved gin (hubby was having a classic gin martini and I just wanted to see if they could pull off making gin palatable - and indeed they did). The glasses were even tailored to the drinks. The martini glass was less lethally wobbly than the traditional version (who the heck thought of putting the most deadly drinks - the martini and the margarita - in the least stable glasses?). My Georgia Heirloom even came in a perfect glass for something with that name - a classic champagne/sherbet glass with a gold leaf rim. Delightful. The desserts were stunning, too. The staff was wonderful, too, on this occasion and one other group function held there since then (BTW - if you need a private dining room with great technology and helpful staff, this is your spot). TBTB may be a tad pricey and small (so make reservations) but pretty well perfect for something special on the Square. Good show!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Improving slowly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Unique small menu. Sugar Cakes and it rate as the best two restaurants on the square on Sat. and FRi nights; i.e, Fried Kale Salad...great. Scotch Egg (only one).; the egg was perfectly cooked, but it was encapsulated in a very bland, flavorless crust; It was much better last year. Restaurant is crowded with good service. Not fine dining, but good dining

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FINALLY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Something new and intriguing on the Marietta Square. The Square has been in need of something fresh and this is it. We walked in w/out knowing reservations were needed and took seats at the bar. We were early enough that a bar crowd had not gathered and were able to order. The bar staff was very sociable and answered our inquiries abt the drink & food menus. Seems the pork chop was popular at the bar, myself and 2 others ordered the same. Nice, thick cut & MOIST! most places overcook and send out a dry chop. Not here, very well seasoned. Sides were appropriate sizes and not over cooked. My wife had a seasonal veggie plate & was not disappointed. I've seen other less adoring entries & we didn't have any complaints. Suggested they bring in some of the local, legal moonshine to complement the bacon infused Bourbon they create tension.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher The Baker also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher The Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butcher The Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.