We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic Cuban-Family Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuban Diner

Cuban Diner
1484 Roswell Rd, Marietta, GA 30062-3670
770-509-2576
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 607 Restaurants in Marietta
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marietta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Authentic Cuban-Family Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

A little taste of calle ocho! Very good food and the owner oversees everything. Love the place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
630 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 253 cities Reviews in 253 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I am not an expert on Cuban food but what I have eaten here is very good. The owner is a personable chap and is very patient with gringos like me. The cuban sandwich is wonderful. I get the yaca fries with garlic oil dipping sauce as a side. The restaurant is big and bright with tasteful decorations. Full bar with speciality Cuban drinks

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Cuban Food With a Personal Touch From the Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I just returned from lunch at the Cuban Diner... What a great meal!

The Cuban Diner is located in a strip mall on the south side of Roswell Rd (the one sort of down in a hole!). The appointments are basic, but we were greeted by a friendly staff and seated. There is a lunch menu to select from and the prices are very reasonable. My wife went for the 1/2 Cuban Sandwich which included 2 sides (fries and black beans were selected) There are many great choices and I finally picked the Ropa Vieja with sweet plantains (AWESOME!) and mixed veggies (drizzled with a butter/garlic sauce that would improve any dish).

Prior to the arrival of our food, the owner, Jose Ricardo visited to let us know that our food would be ready in 2 "Cuban Minutes" and to welcome us to his restaurant. In reality our food arrived in 2 American minutes and was great! He even helped us out with some advice on a Latin themed party being planned.

I don't have much of a baseline, but my wife used to live in Miami and she declared both dishes, authentic. Call it what you want... but call it great food! And reasonable, too. For the two entrees with two sides each, a Cuban coffee and a Diet Coke, the bill was $19.00. Incredible for the amount and quality of the food.

Go enjoy. I know we will be back!

http://www.mariettacubandiner.com/about.html

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I fell in love with this place the first time I stopped in! I just wanted a Cuban sandwich to go, but had a warm conversation with the owner and sat down to some delicious flan and coffee while I waited. The decor is GREAT - they chose the perfect chairs, colors and posters to REALLY make if feel like you are in a Cuban diner. And when I got the sandwich, I was hooked! They have this purely magical dipping sauce, sort of a Mojito, that is amazing! Since then I have taken my wife there and we both agreed that the sauce works on EVERYTHING to kick it up a notch! I believe the baked half chicken is the best I have ever had in my life!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, GA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cuban food by the Big Chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I married a guy from south Florida who introduced me to Cuban food which I crave on a regular basis. Living 2 hours north of Atlanta, I dont get to indulge much. So craving Cuban one day I did a google search and found the Cuban Diner. Being next to Whole Foods and about 5 miles from Trader Joes is a huge perk since we go there to stock up all the time. Drove the 2 hours on our bikes and boy was it worth it. The owner was waiting tables and the co-owner, his wife, was in the kitchen. We had the sampler platter which included chicken empanadas, beef empanadas, Papas Rellenas, Maduros and tostones. I had the picadillo which I have eaten at El Siboney in Key West and Fernandez de Bull in Naples, Florida and this was as good if not better. My husband had the traditional cuban sandwhich which he loved. The tres leche cake is to die for.
The second trip there, i had the Ropa Vieja, which was a first for me. I had to restrain from licking the plate. My husband couldn't stray from the cuban sandwich and it was as godd as the first time.
The owners are great, the place is clean, and I fully recommend the Cuban Diner to anyone who will listen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuban Diner also viewed

 

Been to Cuban Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuban Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.