We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer selection; good food; OK service; Smoke-filled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnnie McCrackens

Johnnie McCrackens
15 Atlanta St. SE, Marietta, GA 30060
(678) 290-6641
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 621 Restaurants in Marietta
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good beer selection; good food; OK service; Smoke-filled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I like Johnnie Mac's. It's one of my favorite bars in Marietta, mostly because of the beer selection and pub atmosphere. Plus, it's a good value. The one BIG drawback, and the main reason I don't go more often, and the reason I don't invite more guests, is the smoking. FOR GOD'S SAKE, BAN THE SMOKING! They don't even allow smoking inside pubs in Ireland anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wouldn't waste my time unless you're already drunk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Old building, cramped seating, and sparse servers. Kind of dirty and full of old kitschy stuff, food standard bar fare and still allows smoking. . I wouldn't go in with kids or with a date. If you want to drink late night after tipping back a few, OK. Other than that, not worth seeking out.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worst lunch in Marietta”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We work on the Marietta square and frequent the various restaurants daily. We had never been to Johnnie McCrackens. We also had never experienced the worst lunch in town; and now we have. This place is supposedly famous for its corned beef, and makes much publicity of a visit by Food Network's Alton Brown. So I ordered a corned beef sandwich. My wife ordered the "Georgia Moonshine" - a sliced prime rib sandwich with irish cheddar and tomatoes. Why it is named that, heaven knows. My sandwich arrived and was 1/8" thick. When I peeled open the sandwich, you could see the bread. There was literally one scraggly piece of corned beef that didn't cover more than 2/3 of the slice of bread. It had good flavor, what little there was of it. My wife bit into her sandwich and began to make a very awful face. See, my wife can't eat spicy things, and nothing on the menu indicated that any such thing was on the sandwich. The wait person happened by about this time and asked if everything was ok. She told my wife that there was horseradish sauce on her sandwich. When I showed her my corned beef and asked if that was the usual amount they put on a sandwich, she said "not really" and said she would bring it to someone's attention. I took a bite of my wife's sandwich, since she couldn't eat it. It wasn't really a horseradish taste - it was just plain nasty, like industrial cleaner taste. No one came to see us about the issues, but instead, we were just brought the bill in full. Food "F", atmosphere "F", just gross.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I will never go there again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friend and I went there for Halloween. It took the waitress about 20 minutes to take our orders and the place was not packed at all. When our orders arrived, my friend's was completely wrong and when she complained the waitress told her well I placed the order correctly and I can change it if you want me to. Secondly, it took forever for her to come and check on us and only when some guys came over and hung out with us did we actually get some constant service. Also, when one of the guys ordered a drink from her she said well do you want to open another tab with me because your tab is at the bar and I'll be serving and cleaning up after you and I won't be getting the tip if your tab is at the bar. When I left her a below standard tip for her below standard service she came over to me and started questioning me about why I left her so little. I told her that her service was terrible and she kept arguing with me because she wanted more money. Needless to say I did not give her anymore than what I left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Irish Pub Anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We go to Johnnie MacCracken's every chance we get. It has a relaxed atmosphere with the best food and a great selection of beers and ale.
The owner strives to give an authentic irish feel to the decor and on Friday nights he has an Irish Buffet with corn beef & cabbage, shepherds pie, bangers & mash...I could go on, but I'm making myself hungry. I think I'll go now!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie McCrackens also viewed

 

Been to Johnnie McCrackens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnnie McCrackens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.