We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basq

Basq
1244 Marmion Avenue | Currambine Central,, Currambine, Joondalup, Western Australia 6028, Australia
08 9305 4666
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Currambine
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suburban Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Currambine area has been screaming out for a decent restaurant (other than Oscars) and I think we may have finally got it. The service was pretty good and the food was delicious & came out pretty quickly. The restaurant has a nice lay out and the prices are fairly average for what you pay to eat out now. I would definitely be going back to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service! What Service????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I can only say that we must have been sprayed with invisible paint or were sitting in the black hole. Probably the former as we moved tables ourselves hoping to be noticed but this was to no avail. The lone waiter looked like he was lost in the desert and had been there for weeks as he seemed very disillusional with no idea of what he was there for or what he was doing. I asked him three times if we can order but on each occasion he wandered off into some far flung corner to pick up random empty plates and pretend to take orders from other customers. After we moved tables the guy behind the bar who was in the middle of making cocktails must have had a vision of desparedness and sauntered over and asked if we had been served. Upon saying "No" his fleetingly hint of interestedness vanished and he disappeared back behind the bar to continue making cocktails. That was it. No further contact from mission control and we were left like Apollo13 on our own to make sense of what are we doing and how are we going to get out of this nightmare. We got up and left ....mission accomplished!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Couldn't find fault in this restaurant , staff were very helpful & efficient, food was excellent, will definetly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We fell on to this by chance and it's a great addition to the area.
The menu choices were just right and our orders were taken promptly. The cost is average perth price $17 starters $33 for mains and good drinks choices. The starters were average but the mains were beautiful I had the lamb cutlets and my husband had the chicken mash and truffle sauce. You need to book and get somewhere away from the door as the door doesn't close and it gets cold and a bit gusty. There was a little bit of overkill with the filling of the water glasses when me and hubby were talking they were over too often. But you can't have everything and it's better than being ignored.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice addition to currambine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Recently opened restaurant. Read reviews and wasn't disappointed. Good service - maybe a little too quick (took 20 mins to get food) - sat night!. Format is a combo of small plates and standard main meals. We had a mixture of small plates - all tasty You can mix any combination depending on your desires. Reasonably price $30 - $50 p/p. Drinks also reasonably priced. Pleasant change from your Asian\Indian eateries that seem to be numerous in the Joondalup\currambine area.
Like the open kitchen style as well.
Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basq also viewed

Currambine, Joondalup
Joondalup, Greater Perth
 

Been to Basq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.