We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see for spotting game and chillin out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve

Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve
St. Lucia Park, iSimangaliso Wetland Park, South Africa
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
Attraction Details
Jimena de la Frontera, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see for spotting game and chillin out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Driving at 20km, foot off the accelerator for most of the time, looking into the undergrowth for game and trying to determine what the shapes you see are. Brilliant adventure like a boys own novel, or playing ispy - was that a Kudu, or and impala? Gembok or Nyala? Well a Giraffe is a Giraffe and a Lion is a Lion, Elephants, crocodiles, rhino's (all called Neil - Rhino Neal), numerous bird (1000's of them). Excellent, to while away the hours, one finished on your 'road trip' you can opt for a game drive, walk, swim in the pool, or a beer on the terrace - your choice. The accommodation is basic, clean and practical - cook yourself or eat at the restaurant, again your choice. Well worth a visit, we stayed at hilltop, peaceful and quite. MAKE IT A DEFINITE IF COMING TO BEAUTIFUL SOUTH AFRICA.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    48
    15
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bergamo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Animal Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is one of the parks in South Africa where you can see the Big Five (buffalo, lion, rhino, elephant and leopards) and a variety of wild animals. We have never been disappointed and have always seen many animals. At night you need to be careful as the hyenas come to the cottages and tents hoping to get food and it is a wonderful sight to see them (but frightening at the same time if you are not expecting to see one!). Although the park has a lot of wildlife which is wonderful to see the safari tents and general maintenance has been deteriorating year after year. We often see something broken and six months later it has still not been fixed. The souvenir and basic foods shop seems to have less and less stock and we always wonder why considering the amount of visitors that go there. A stay of two nights is sufficient if you choose the tents but remember to bring your own kettle, toaster and water as the water is not potable. There is a tank of water in the tent kitchen but we always boil it. The cottages are far better and more fully equipped. There is not television - thank goodness! This is a fine place to rest and enjoy nature.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“a great game reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Been in many game reserves in Africa but I still like this one most. The land is hilly and beautiful with its abundant biodiversity. I took a morning game drive and saw many animals including a big family of African elephants, Cape buffalo, a group of giraffes, zebras, kudus, springboks and a variety of birds. Highly recommended this game reserve.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Game viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fantastic game viewing as we saw 4 of the bid 5 and a number of the little 5 too. We were based at the chalets which are basic but clean and comfortable. Cooking on the braai at the back of the chalet was great but you do have to keep an eye out for the game. We had warthog and hyena sniffing round as well as impala, and monkeys. This all added to the experience. The little shop offered some bits and bobs but don't expect too much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing array of animal sightings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We did 2 game drives here. One for 3 hours and a second visit for 6 hours. We paid to go in a safari vehicle, rather than driving ourselves. I would really recommend doing this as we could concentrate on seeing, rather than driving. But the biggest bonus is the guide who is a fountain of information about the animals and the park. They also know their way around so no map issues. The safari vehicles are also able to go places that ordinary cars could not. We had well over 20 sightings of rhinos, a great viewing of a herd of elephants and the most amazing experience of wild dogs with a fresh kill, amongst many, many more animals. Would thoroughly recommend a visit here. We saw as much in this park as we did in Kruger.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve also viewed

 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve to your Saves list