We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable ahort break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Higher Langridge Farm

Higher Langridge Farm
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Higher Langridge Farm
Save
You added Higher Langridge Farm to your Saves list
Exbridge, Exebridge TA22 9RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exebridge
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“enjoyable ahort break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent two nights here. warm welcome with tea and cake.beautiful room and very warm comfortable bed.no other guests at the time we were there, so had the lounge to ourselves. Home from home, loved every minute. Immaculately clean . Didn't have big breakfasts from choice, but what we had was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for my girlfriend's birthday, and had a lovely time. Higher Langridge Farm is in a simply stunning location, and the room was faultless. In such a peaceful and quiet setting, a better sleep would be hard to find.

We would highly recommend the horse trek at West Anstey Stables (about a 15/20 min drive down the road), and visiting Ilfracombe and Woolacombe (about an hour drive). Breakfast was delicious, and there was an excellent variety of foods available. Gill and Mike were very friendly, and we would love to return again in the not too distant future.

There is nothing negative that can be said – hence the 5 star ratings all round. Bottom line - my partner now wants to move to a farmhouse like Higher Langridge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

In an area a little bit difficult to find - not on the Sat Navigation so make sure to get directions and call when you are close to get guided in directions. Do NOT go in the dark as it is really hard to find! BUT once you get there...wonderful. Spankingly clean, nigh on everything looks brand new - although they say not so! Would not say the furniture has any nice quaint pecularities but still it is all of a high standard. Beds may be a little short for some people similarly the futon-like bedding. Absolutely peaceful, quite spacious rooms if you don*t want to go self-catering this is as close as you can get. Separate from the owners part of the house you don*t get bothered by the owner except at breakfast. No TV in the bedroom but there is a large communal TV in the living/dining room for the 3 rooms - excellent if you want some good nights' sleep! No Wi-fi which may be a small minus point in this day and age.

If you are staying more than a night the traditional English cooked breakfast menu may become a little boring - bacon, fried tomatoes, sausage and egg.

Loved all the dogs and the cats! So friendly and were always pleased to see you!

Tourist information is a bit sparce in the B&B - pamphlettes and books, so make sure to arrive with your own guide books but the lady of the house will always make some suggestions if you ask and her suggestions are certainly of good taste! May have liked a key on my bedroom door - just a little more security!

Room Tip: Any room is fine so nothing to worry about! You'll certainly get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip2travel, Owner at Higher Langridge Farm, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B.

Just a couple of things I would like to add in response for the benefit of other guests who may choose to stay at our B&B in future ....

Our guests are able to use Wi-fi with a Hub password, available on request.

I can only apologise for you not having a key for your bedroom door, I had simply forgotten to replace it after the previous guests.

Once again many thanks it is always helpful to read reviews left by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Higher Langridge Farm B & B is set in a somewhat remote part of the Exmoor National Park and can be difficult to locate, but instructions given by the host were clear and easy to follow. The B & B is set in rolling farmland dotted with sheep and cattle, bordered by hedgerows, and close to areas where Exmoor Ponies can be spotted. The farmhouse has been sympathetically restored and offers modern conveniences with the charm of yesteryear. The B & B accommodation is divided off from the family's living quarters and guests enjoy private rooms with a large, comfortable shared living/dining area. Breakfast is a generous serve of sausage, bacon, egg & mushrooms along with cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit and coffee. The owners are friendly and generous hosts while giving guests all the privacy they desire.
There are many attractions in the area including the National Trust properties Knightshayes and Dunster Castle. Highly recommended is a visit to the Tarr Steps including the circular walk along the river. it is just a short drive to some great value English pubs. We were amazed to see dogs frequenting the front bars with their owners - it all adds to the atmosphere and ambience! Overall, the icing on the cake of our month long European holiday.

  • Liked — The great room with a view
  • Disliked — Climbing the stairs with suitcases
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Higher Langridge Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Langridge Farm

Address: Exbridge, Exebridge TA22 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Exebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exebridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast on the edge of Exmoor National Park.Superbly situated farmhouse B&B to explore all the delights Exmoor has to offer close to Dulverton on the southern edge of Exmoor. A lovely old farmhouse with beams, inglenooks and many charming features. En suite rooms. Hearty Aga cooked breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Higher Langridge Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.