We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mexican Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chonas Mexican Grill

Chonas Mexican Grill
1032 Old Peachtree Rd NW, Suite 301, Lawrenceville, GA 30043
(678) 847-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 282 restaurants in Lawrenceville
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Marietta GA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the front desk staff, at a nearby hotel we were staying at. It is located in a very nice, small strip mall. With that you get very easy access into the parking lot, which is a plus along with plenty of free, well lit parking.

We enjoyed our meal so much the 1st night, we ate there the next night also. Everything we had was very good, no complaints on anything we had. From the drinks, cheese dip, salsas, and meals, everything was fantastic. Only wish there was a location near where we live. We will definitely eat there again when we are back in this area. Almost forgot, the staff is very friendly and the service is very fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    12
    1
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newborn, Georgia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Roasted tomatoe salsa is THE BOMB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stopped by here for the first time on a business lunch. Recommended by a fellow diner to have the Burrito al Carbon. Good call on his part. The steak was tender and the fire grilled taste shined thorugh the appropriately seasoned meat. The beans that came with the plate were to die for----------creamy and satisfying.
But, before the meal started the regulatory fresh salsa was accompanied with a second dish of fire roasted tomatoe salsa. This stuff was good enough to eat by the handful....."SECONDS PLEASE"!
A clean and modern Mexican dinining environment were a nice touch to the kitchy sombraros that one normally sees.
Worth the visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best pork carnitas we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were in the local are for business and were in the mood for mexican food. After reading the reviews, and being familiar with the general area, we decided to give it a try. Don't be fooled by the "strip mall" feel and the potential lack of customers on the weeknight. We were a little skeptical when we walked in as only one other couple was there. We were greeted and seated quickly and the service seemed great right off the top.

The chips were fresh and they brought two salsas that were both fresh and very tasty. Neither of them were very hot but both were full of flavor. We ordered the pork carnitas and some taco dish. The taco dish was great and the charro beans were superb but all was dwarfed by the carnitas. It was like nothing we've had before and we're afraid that we'll never enjoy it again.

The server came around a few times to make sure we had water and weren't in need of anything else. All in all, it was a great experience and I will certainly go back the next time I find myself in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is truly one of the best Mexican restaurants around Atlanta. I have eaten here numerous times during work lunch hours and with family and friends. Staff is friendly and professional. I've never had a bad meal here ever! They have never given me any problems with messed up orders, over charging, or given me anything to complain about during my visits. So, if you like Mexican food and are near Discover Mills Mall in Lawrenceville, I would consider giving them a try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The new location is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited Chona's for the first time since they moved, and was very favorably impressed. The atmosphere is very good, although maybe a little dark for lunch time. The Tortilla Soup was amazing as always, and I ate way too many of the light corn chips and salsa, along with the cheese dip with jalapenos we ordered. The prices and service are top-notch, and the restaurant is actually quiet enough for a business lunch! Five stars all the way!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chonas Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chonas Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chonas Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.