We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Local Republic

Local Republic
225 East Crogan Street, Lawrenceville, GA 30046
(678) 205-4782
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 289 Restaurants in Lawrenceville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had appetizers as my main meal. They were great. Mussels in coconut /lemon grass sauce were very good. The mussels were on the tinnie tiny side -dime size or smaller. Quails were also small. But nice presentation & has a good dipping sauce. Other dishes were also good. We waited for about 20 mins at 7:30pm on a Saturday night for an outside table.. Longer wait for inside tables. Many different choices of beer you don't see in other establishments. Friendly waiters. Helpful & tentative. On a slightly pricey side. Overall, fun experience trying new food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    44
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An outstanding burger (and I suspect more)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have am in the area for business a few times a month and discovered this great spot a few months ago. BIG FAN. The creative burger selection is great and the atmosphere relaxing and fun. The outdoor patio is a nice touch. On my last trip, the burger was a big undercooked, but they addressed the issue moderately well. I'll return and look forward to swinging by after work to check out their beer selection, too. Give it a short - you'll be pleased!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawyerdaggett
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing Short of Miraculous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I can't help but post again about this fantastic sleeper restaurant. I can't believe the amazing food they produce in such a tiny kitchen. This trip, my husband and I shared two very healthy sized appetizers, the lamb belly on a bed of cheese grits, and the chicken livers. I know this sounds a little weird, but let me tell you this...it was amazing. We also shared a cup of chile and a Ceasar salad. All together, the food portion of our bill was only $25.00 and we were both stuffed. Not only that, it was one of the best meals I have ever eaten in any restaurant in any city (including New York and New Orleans). If you haven't tried this little gem, get there fast. It gets better and better every time I eat there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been wanting to try this restaurant so for my husbands birthday we went there. He enjoyed shrimp and grits. I had a patty melt on rye. Both were delicious. It was very crowded but that just lets me know it's a popular place. I was surprised to see 2 large parties of 8 because the restaurant is so small. I think it must be a converted gas station. The waiter was kind, prompt and friendly. Food came out quickly and steamy hot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's about time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lawrenceville, GA - not exactly home to good eating - well, if you like bar food and mexican, then you have a lot to pick from but if you want good quality, good tasting food, try Local Republic. Go to the website to see the menu - the menu changes seasonally. Recently I had a chicken dish with mashed sweet potatoes and figs over a good size chicken breast - not sure what the sauce was but it was delicious! Peanut Butter Pie will leave you speachless but share it because it is very rich. Atmosphere very casual - go early on the weekends or you will wait 1-2 hours. During the week, no wait. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Republic also viewed

Lawrenceville, GA
Lawrenceville, GA
 

Been to Local Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.