We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Small Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Owens Drive, Lavonia, GA 30553   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lavonia
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Small Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lavonia is a quaint small town in NE Georgia close to Lake Hartwell. Not many lodging options of this standard really here. We stayed one night on 21 Feb 2013 while on a business trip to Hartwell. Upon arrival we chilled in the breakfast area before retiring for the night and got complimentary beers ... Nice.

Rooms are big and very plush. Slept well.

The Breakfast next morning was basic but fresh and kind of worked.

Lake Hartwell seemed like a great tourist destination. The city people are friendly and simply awesome. They just want you to come back.

Paid USD 114 + 17% Tax

Room Tip: They have elevator so higher floor rooms can be nice. Stayed only one night after a rather tiresome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express and Suites.We appreciate you and are thankful that with so many lodging choices you chose us.
We are so happy that you seen in our small town what we see everyday,friendly people,Quaint town,smiling faces.
We're excited that you were able to enjoy our social our and that you were able to have a "beer" or two and relax and get to know other guests.
A good nights sleep is all that matters when you're away from home.I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy the spacious room.
We want you to return as much as possible,We will definately enjoy seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
11
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here while working in Toccoa. Very nice staff who gave great suggestions for dinner. Breakfast and coffee was great. Very clean rooms. New facility. Right at interstate but no noise. Cookies in the evening was a great touch after all day driving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Lavonia, Ga.
We are thankful for your gracious comments concerning our staff and our hotel, your comments help us improve.Thank you for them.
We strive to make your stay the best possible with friendly staff who really treats you as part of our family.
We're so happy you enjoyed our clean rooms,Your comments were terrific and we enjoyed them.
Our coffee is out 24 hours a day and we, like you, think our breakfast is amazing and all i can say is i am so glad you enjoyed it.
One of the best ways to end the day is with wonderful, fresh, cookies! They always bring a smile to our face, too!
We appreciate you and will love seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. No, there isn't a golden fountain in the courtyard, no Godiva chocolates on your pillow. But what you will find is a little like going back in time.

Our family first stayed here on a lark, we were visiting a museum in nearby Taccoa and had always been somewhat lucky with HIEs. What started as a lark has turned into at least 2 trips to Lavonia a year just because it is such a neat small town. Real restaurants, not a lot of chains, nice antiquing, beautiful lakes and camps nearby.

The hotel is perfect, the staff seems to really care about directing you to a nice dinner, a good bargain, or whatever you may need or just chatting. They are more than responsive to any needs you have and are very family friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. Last year, we were there over the Easter Holiday and the staff let me work on and keep the kid's Easter Baskets downstairs so they could be surprised as they opened them in the Breakfast Nook.

We now travel there for our anniversary every year and, in fact, are traveling there for just that date in several weeks. Is it the Ritz? No. But it is a taste of old time small towns from an era when people cared about others and didn't spend all their time texting or facebooking. The hotel is a trip back in time that you will be glad you took.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Happy New Year! And thank you SO much for posting a review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Lavonia!
I truly appreciate the kind words and I am also happy that you enjoy our “Mayberry like” hotel and town! There are many hidden treasures here that get passed over for shopping malls and such. It sounds like we both agree on that!
I want ALL of my guests to feel at home, taking advantage of our free hot breakfast, free high speed internet, heated indoor pool and all of the other great amenities we offer. You and your family are very important to me and my staff! I am glad to hear that y’all have made our hotel a tradition! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel. I received a complimentary water and chocolates for being a Priority Club member (free to sign up).

The room was clean and spacious. It had a kitchenette, with a mini fridge, single serve coffee maker, microwave, and sink.

It also had a small couch, chair, & coffee table, along with a round table & 2 chairs.

They serve breakfast which is included with the room. It had pastries, cereal, eggs, sausage, and few other things. Juices and coffee were available also.

Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lavonia, GA! Your comments are valuable to our continued improvement and success! Our staff here strives to make our hotel the best in every aspect.
I would also like to thank you for your continued loyalty and support as a Priority Club member! We appreciate you!
We are very happy that you enjoyed our “spacious” room and all of its wonderful amenities. I am also glad you were able to enjoy our full hot breakfast and appreciate those comments as well!
Again, we are honored that with all the lodging choices out there you chose us! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Lavonia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly Hall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The staff here make this a 5 star hotel. The rooms are nice and the hotel has a free social every evening to the guest. This is the best place to stay in Lavonia,GA. The breakfast has a moderate variety of items to choose from.

Room Tip: The suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lavonia, GA! Your comments are valuable to our continued improvement and success!

My staff here is always willing to go the extra mile and I’m glad you got to experience that! Likewise, I hope you enjoyed the evening Manager’s Reception and got to mingle with other guests while you relaxed; it’s a nice way to wind down after a busy work day!

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your return! I’m confident my staff will continue to impress! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fantastic oasis in an area hard to find good lodging; staff very helpful; our suite was quiet and spacious; the inn is new so everything is fresh and clean; the breakfast was super! We would go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings! I want to thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lavonia, GA! We strive for excellence and your feedback helps us to constantly perfect and improve our service.

I know that there are other options for lodging and I am very glad that you chose my hotel! The hotel is a little over 3 years old and my staff works very hard to maintain the freshness you mentioned. Likewise, the breakfast attendants are held to a high standard and I’m happy that you got to experience the fruits of their labor.

Please come back and visit our “oasis” when you return to the area! Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is my pleasure to endorse Holiday Inn Express in Lavonia, GA. I am a weekly guest at this property and have never been disappointed. This "three year young" property is beautifully maintained both inside and out. The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The full breakfast offers a variety of hot and cold items every morning and guests can enjoy a complimentary cocktail reception during the week Mon-Thurs (I have yet to partake of this due to my work schedule but I have seen it and hear it is good.) Amenities include:a guest laundry room, business center, free wifi, indoor pool and fitness room. The staff is courteous and eager to make guests feel at home. If you are looking for a place to stay in the area, for business or pleasure, I highly recommend that you choose this property. It may be a bit more expensive than the other two motels that are within close proximity, but as they say, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lavonia, GA!

I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your weekly stays! I have an EXCELLENT staff and your feedback lets me know that they are continuing to provide great customer service. In the future, I hope that you get a chance to partake in our nightly Manager’s Reception, which runs Monday thru Thursday from 5pm to 7pm. Stop in and enjoy a glass of wine and some snacks!

I look forward to your next visit with us and I hope that we continue to impress you! Thank you again for your endorsement! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia

Address: 110 Owens Drive, Lavonia, GA 30553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Lavonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lavonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lavonia, GA Travelers can enjoy a relaxing stay at our Lavonia, Georgia hotel conveniently located off I-85 and near many area businesses and attractions. Situated just three miles from the Georgia and South Carolina border, the Lavonia Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lavonia Hotel offers guests a suburban retreat near Lake Hartwell. Families can enjoy our Holiday Inn Express, Lavonia Hotel near the Commerce Tanger Outlet Mall, the Ty Cobb Museum, Clemson University, University of Georgia, Athens, Mall of Georgia, Lake Hartwell and Toccoa Falls. There's something for everyone in Lavonia. There are many businesses including Sibley Mill, Bosol Industries, T&S Mill, Ross Controls, Ritz Instrument Transformers, K and Toccoa College. Travelers can enjoy premium services at our new Holiday Inn Express Lavonia, Georgia, hotel including our 24-hour business center, 1,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and free, high-speed Internet access. Our Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Lavonia Georgia hotel welcomes guests to take a dip in the indoor pool, keep up their workout routine at the state-of-the-art fitness center and enjoy the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. For the very best in Lavonia accommodations, book your reservations today at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Lavonia, GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lavonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.