We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Well Spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hills & Dales Estate

Hills & Dales Estate
1916 Hills and Dales Drive, P.O. Box 790, LaGrange, GA 30241
706-882-3242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in LaGrange
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This far exceeded our expectations. We have toured houses and gardens from Monticello to San Simeon. We enjoyed this as much as any other. We stayed at Callaway Gardens, but this was well worth the side trip. Take your time and enjoy the details.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens and Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Worth the visit to Lagrange. The historic Callaway familly home tour and the 35 acres of beautiful gardens are a wonderful attraction. Built by the original Callaway and lovingly maintained. We had a private house tour with a very knowledgeable guide on a weekday.
Stop on your way to nearby Callaway Gardens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and great history!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

You will not be disappointed with a visit to Hills and Dales. The home tour is very well done, as is the entire experience. Very freindly and knowledgable staff. The gardens are beautiful. Take the time and spend a few hours. Take the time to learn about the history. The Calloways were a humble and hard working family. Some great life lessons here about how working hard and caring about people can lead to great success.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a beautiful home and gardens open to the public. Younger children might not be up for the house tour, but the gardens (which you can purchase a ticket for separately) would be appropriate for them. You can explore the gardens on your own, and there are lots of paths to follow that are just enchanting. The 1916 house is exquisite and you will learn a whole lot about the Callaway family, who had such an impact on this region of Georgia.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Mountain, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I loved touring the house and the gardens. I cannot wait to go back once all the flowers have bloomed. It was amazing how they kept the house in such pristine condition. The gardens are truly magnificent. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves gardens and antiques.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hills & Dales Estate also viewed

 

Been to Hills & Dales Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hills & Dales Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.