We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like eating at mama's house!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fried Tomato Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fried Tomato Buffet
127 Commerce Ave # G, LaGrange, GA 30241
(706) 884-8842
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in LaGrange
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lagrange,Ga. 30240
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just like eating at mama's house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love this place! It reminds me of home! I love just about everything they cook. The buffet is hot and always has way too many choices! lol, but I mean that in a good way!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quantity over quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food is pretty good by buffet standards, but there are places where you can tell that they cut corners. The vegetables always taste canned and tinny, but their fried chicken is pretty solid. The outrageous lines on sunday afternoons testifies to that as well. Heads up though, it is cash only so be prepared for that.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataula, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Great Southern cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We travel 45 minutes one way to go eat at Fried Tomatoes. It is the best, by far, of all the buffet restaurants we've eaten at over the years. I don't like fish, but LOVE their fried fish on Friday nights! Of course, you have to stand in line at the buffet and wait on it to come out, but its worth it. Also, the fried tomatoes are wonderful and they have the best corn! The price can't be beat either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wow, I was visiting LaGrange for a football game and was told that I had to stop in the Fried Tomato Buffet for dinner. When we arrived there was a short wait, but the lady at the counter was very pleasant. We went on a Friday night which is called fish night to all the patrons around town. The fish was there and then it was gone. The people would line the buffet waiting on the fish. I did get an opportunity to taste the fish and it was pretty tasty. I don't remember the name of the fish, but I had never had it before. The sides were very tasty as well. You have to try the sweet corn it was very good. They had plenty to choose from and the people who worked there were very helpful. It is not a large place so be prepared to sit in close proximity to the other patrons. It is well worth the stop if you are visiting LaGrange or passing by from Atlanta to the Alabama border. The total for 4 adults was $30 you can't beat that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Southern Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Tonight we ate at this fine establishment after having read good reviews about it. The buffet features mouth- watering Southern cooking at its best. Friday night is catfish nights. We had to miss out on the fish, for as soon as a tub was filled, folks swarmed it like gulls and, poof!, it was gone! We settled for the fried chicken, which was good. There was a line of patrons waiting when we arrived....had to take a number, but it was worth the short wait. Senior price was $6.50, how can you beat that? Though the place was crowded, we received good service...drink attendant was cordial, prompt , and accommodating, Good food,friendly service, reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fried Tomato Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Fried Tomato Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fried Tomato Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.