We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart-breakingly-good fish -- in a surreal setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cart Barn Grill

Cart Barn Grill
2157 Whitesville Rd, LaGrange, GA 30240
706.884.3362
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in LaGrange
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Auburn Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Heart-breakingly-good fish -- in a surreal setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Okay, the guy in front of us ordered balls. He got a large bucket of them and merrily headed off to enjoy them at the driving range that is home to this excellent restaurant. Want atmosphere? Forget it. It's called The Cart Barn - truth in advertising. Want beautifully prepared fish? This is it. I had gag grouper prepared in a Costa Rican style with Moros y Cristianos and plantains. Among the top ten best fish I've ever had. My wife had a succulent snapper with a mango sauce. No dessert. No wine (BYOB! - yeah!). But there is fish that will break your heart. And you can hit a bucket of balls to whet your appetite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    11
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A little gem - but hard to find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was away on business and saw that this restaurant had gotten good reviews on TripAdvisor so I decided to check it out. After driving by the restaurant 3 times I finally figured out it was part of the local driving range. The driving range had no one on it and the restaurant looked closed but I took a chance by tugging at the closed door. The small restaurant wasn't only open but all the tables were filled but one. The place doesn't look like much but the food was great. I ordered scallops and wasn't disappointed with the 1/2 lb order (in fact I could't actually finish my plate). Just as I was ready to ask for the check one of the cooks came from behind the kitchen and offered me a wonderful crab cake (no charge) that was even better than the scallops I had just eaten. I tried to eat most of it but had to leave some behind as well!! Try this place out next time you are in or near Lagrange, GA. Well worth the hunt. And FYI - they don't serve alcohol but I do believe you can bring your own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Easy to accidentally drive by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Drive by at 3:00 p.m. between service hours and it looks like an abandoned building, but four hours later the unpaved lot is full and there's a short wait for a table. This is truly a hidden gem, known only to the lucky few. Excellent scallops, good sides, a good variety of main dishes. Service is truly friendly and accurate. Always a pleasure, never disappointing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You will love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Cart Barn is the definitive dive. I can honestly say this is the Best restaurant/golf driving range in the world. From the road you would never want to go in until you notice all the cars in the lot. Something must be going on in this place. Once inside you will find some of the best, fresh seafood anywhere. Tony the chef and owner is always creating interesting ways to eat fresh Seafood. This place is all about the food. Forget about fine china and linen tablecloths. Relax and enjoy the surprise of eating fantastic food in the most surprising location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprising and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

On a business trip and locals suggested this unique grille. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. The service was extra ordinary and the food was out of this world. They only serve the freshest sea food and the menu changes daily based on availability. Fried shrimp that melt in your mouth. Had the groper with vidalia onion pie the first night. It was so good we returned the next night for lobsterzilla, a 20 ounce Maine lobster tail split and grilled to perfection. If your are in Lagrange it is a sure bet. BYOB no corking fee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cart Barn Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cart Barn Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cart Barn Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.