We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like BBQ, this is the place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
1302 Lafayette Pkwy, Ste A, LaGrange, GA 30241-2611
706-845-7994
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 97 Restaurants in LaGrange
Restaurant details
LaGrange, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like BBQ, this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great place to have BBQ. There are two locations to try, but the original on West Point Road is the best!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Food but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Title says it all. BBQ is avg., lunch buffet a little better than average with meat and vegetable choices. Good atmosphere with plenty of seating, indoor and out, and parking. And ice cream shoppe next door!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will not return to this place!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The wait staff acted as if they had better things to do than take care of customers. I have eaten bar-b-que in many different states, and many different variances on the bar-b-que theme, but this rates among the worst that I have ever had the misfortune to try. The meat flavor has hidden by what I believe to be Oak smoke rather that the southern tradition of Hickory. The meat was so greasy that grease dripped from my sandwich as I tried to eat it. The sauces had no bar-b-que flavor to them, they were just over spiced to be hot. When I asked if any other sauces were available I was told "we have a sweet/smokey sauce in back that you can get for an additional charge"...an additional charge for sauce??? The side orders appeared to either be from a can or box, not fresh or homemade. Unfortunately one more place to mark off of my list of places to try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

There are better places in lagrange for bbq. The salads look good and huge. Never had them. The BBQ was just average.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotlanta
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Pretty good pulled pork.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had lunch here with a colleague after a meeting at the local hospital.

They have a "Country Buffet" for lunch, but it didn't have any Q on it, so I ordered the pulled pork plate with cole slaw and mac & cheese.

The pulled pork was tasty, moist, and very good. the cole slaw and mac & cheese were pretty good too. The sauces they had were obviously homemade, and very good as well.

The wait staff was attentive, friendly and took good care of us.

Very pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.