We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South
6288 Old Dixie Rd, Jonesboro, GA 30236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jonesboro
clearwater, florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Ugh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We also had to stay there after having our Delta flight cancelled. Seems this is where a lot of stranded passengers end up, so the hotel should expect people arriving late in the evening. There was a line of over 60 people and one poor desk clerk, who was pleasant and doing her best. At one point she asked the manager to come help her but all he did was stand there smiling instead of opening another line. We stood in line over an hour before getting our room, and behind us were well over 100 more. As more shuttles arrived, people took one look and went back to the airport. To some extent this is also Delta's fault. They should not send everybody to the same place.

After all the standing around, you'd think I would be so happy to see a clean room and a bed. Boy, was I disappointed. The room stunk of cigarettes even though it was nonsmoking. Actually, the whole place smelled like a Vegas casino. The bed had ill-fitting sheets and just a piece of felt for a mattress pad. The bathroom was gross. Hair on the floor, mold and grime on the tiles under the sink. Lighting extremely poor, probably for a good reason. The shower was clean.

When we left four hours later (thanks to all those long lines) we got on the shuttle and then waited around until the shuttle was absolutely packed with people (and everybody starting to panic about getting to the airport on time). Then they decided to bring around another shuttle so we had to wait while half the people on the bus got back off. Caused needless anxiety to people who were already exhausted and annoyed.

Would I stay there again? Don't think so. Next time, I'll just take my chances at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    12
    12
    17
See reviews for
14
21
23
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was forced to stay at this hotel because I chose to be booted off a Delta flight, and this is where they put me up for the night. If you're comfortable with people with gold teeth and mariachi bands, this place is for you! Total ghetto. The staff was super friendly though, and the shuttle driver was exceptional. He went out of his way to drive me and another stranded traveler to a liquor store. He was super fabulous. Another positive thing about this hotel is the lobster mac and cheese. It's delicious, but not worth getting mugged for. I would NEVER go to this hotel, or any other Clarion in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

An airline (Airtran) put us up at up this hotel last minute and we arrived late night almost midnight. I would define this experience as very good primarily because of the staff and service they provided to a bunch of angry travelers who had an unexpected layover. Kudos to them! The rooms were clean and we did not have great expectations. I would recommend checking this hotel out if you need a place to stay in between flights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, ga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband’s 50th birthday party was a blast! I rented the banquet rooms and the hotel catered food for 120--135 guest! I chose the Italian Menu (which my guest absolutely LOVED)! Event Services Manager, Samantha Harris assisted me every step of the way! Her exceptional customer service is the reason why I selected this hotel! From room rentals, shuttle services and the continental breakfast, the hotel staff exemplified excellent customer service to me and my guest. My decorator, Veronica Johnson of I~AM Wedding Creations (678.973.6466) turned the banquet room into elegant affair that wowed my guest!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I am so happy that I followed through on a co-worker's recommendation to have my husband's surprise retirement dinner party at the Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South.
The staff was very professional, courteous, and accommodating. Any requests that I made were handled with respect and prompt service; i.e., providing a portable podium and microphone. Our dinner party was enchanting with bright, beautiful colors and classy tableware, and the food was simply fantastic! Everything was set up on time, and the servers came in to disassemble the buffet with precision. Overall, we felt as if we were in our own private cafe and appreciated the warm and wonderful catering service which this hotel provided.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

In town to help celebrate my cousin Book signing and birthday bash. This is an average looking Hotel with a big punch" The rooms were clean and the lobby staff was sweet like candy. The hidden jewel was the Up close 2 lounge with the sweet sound of Chicago/New York Jazz. This Hotel is a short distance from several restaurant in the area but the menu at Up close 2 is to die for" I will be coming back. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South

Address: 6288 Old Dixie Rd, Jonesboro, GA 30236
Location: United States > Georgia > Jonesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jonesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport, the choice for accommodations on the south side of Atlanta. Experience a full service stay on a limited service budget! Our complimentary amenities include 24 hour airport shuttle service, hot/cold buffet breakfast, parking, Wi-Fi internet access, business center, and local calls. Join us for live jazz performances every weekend in the CloseUp2 Jazz Lounge. Enjoy amazing culinary delights in Cravings American Bistro- open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service.Other features include a seasonal outdoor pool with large sundeck and separate kiddie pool, picnic area, as many as seven separate meeting/socializing spaces with a combined 4200 square feet. We are an ideal location for your wedding, family reunion or general get-together. Here on business? We've got you covered there too! Audio/video packages, flexible meeting, and catering options are available.Conveniently located just off of Interstate 75 Exit 235, we are minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, and the Atlanta Motor Speedway. The Georgia Aquarium, the Atlanta Braves Turner Field, CNN Center and the World of Coca Cola are just some of the local attractions just a short drive away.Motorcoach tours welcome- we provide free parking in our ample bus-friendly lot. Government and military per diem rates honored.Call today for information on rates, packages, and specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.