We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard at Crane

Courtyard at Crane
375 N Riverview Dr, 371 Riverview Dr., Jekyll Island, GA 31527
(912) 635-5200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Courtyard at Crane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School House Lane
Description: The Courtyard at Crane, Jekyll Island, a less formal dining option, is located in the center courtyard and loggia of the historic Crane Cottage. The cottage, designed in 1917 by Chicago architects Adler and Dangler, was inspired by an Italian Renaissance villa admired by Richard T. Crane Jr., the original owner. Guests are offered the option of dining inside or outside.
Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A step back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been visiting Jekyll Island the past four years and usually have at least one lunch at the Crane. My husband loves its stately architecture and grand furnishings. Its like taking a step back in time. We have always had delicious lunchs and this year was no exception. We usually get their Monte Cristo sandwich with their fantastic sweet potatoe fries. The portions are so large, that you could share this. This year, we brought other family members who were duly impressed with their chicken salad croissant. We will definitely eat there again next year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    43
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great atmosphere inside and out. Patio seating around the fountain in the courtyard or inside in one of the old parlour rooms or this old club residence. Very attentive service. Highly recommend. Located on the grounds of the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I think reservations are required. We got there when they opened and made an early reservation. Prices were pretty high, especially for the wine, but they did have an Early Bird menu which was very reasonable. The food was very good and the atmosphere is very nice. White table cloths, fancy glasses, candles, etc... It says Casual Fine Dining but it seemed a little fancier than that. We wore jeans and dress shirts but felt slightly under dressed. Service was very good and attentive. Overall, we enjoyed dining here very much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROY, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WONDERFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wonderful place.. a step back in time . A bit pricie but well worth it the service was very special. Loved it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting but Disappointing Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My experience was average at best. The setting is unique: the beautiful courtyard of a historic house. The loaf of vegetable bread was the best thing about the meal. The duck spring rolls were very greasy and the accompanying compote was heavy with soy sauce. The entree size was more appropriate for an appetizer. Since I was still hungry, I tried the lemon-chess pie. Straight out of the refrigerator. Lemon-chess pie should be served at room temperature or slightly heated. The filling was thick and gummy; the pie crust, thick and tasteless. What a disappointment!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtyard at Crane also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Courtyard at Crane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard at Crane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.