We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard at Crane

Courtyard at Crane
375 N Riverview Dr, 371 Riverview Dr., Jekyll Island, GA 31527
+1 912-635-5200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Courtyard at Crane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School House Lane
Description: The Courtyard at Crane, Jekyll Island, a less formal dining option, is located in the center courtyard and loggia of the historic Crane Cottage. The cottage, designed in 1917 by Chicago architects Adler and Dangler, was inspired by an Italian Renaissance villa admired by Richard T. Crane Jr., the original owner. Guests are offered the option of dining inside or outside.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had lunch here. Food was excellent. It is pricey but the food was delicious and the portions very large. I had the shrimp and lump crap salad on croissant. The salad was topped with caramelized onions and mango slices. Light and delicious. My wife had the Ali tuna salad. Very large portion of tuna. Service was excellent. We were so sorry we did not eat dinner here the night before instead we went to Lattitude 31 which was one of the worse meals we have ever eaten

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    65
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent early bird dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We at several locations on Jekyll Island. The early dinner (from 5:30-6 for $20) at this restaurant was the best, and in a beautiful setting. The catch of the day was grouper and our friends had the stuffed shrimp. Both were good portions and skillfully cooked. We would have gone back, but the catch was the same grouper for several days afterward.

We also had lunch in the main dining room at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel, which is also an elegant location. The entrees were not as good, however. The chicken breast was tough, and the seafood pie contained small shrimps and scallops. The dessert of an ice cream sandwich was outstanding, so don't miss it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always such a pleasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've never had anything but stellar food and service here, but last night was particularly nice. We opted for a 4-course deal they were offering, and it was more food than we could eat (well, we did eat it all, but we shouldn't have). The service was charming and prompt, the price was more than fair, and our food was great. Standouts were the fried green tomato appetizer, the crab cake appetizer, the cucumber soup (very complex, not for everyone, but I fell in love with it), and the lobster entree. Key Lime Pie, available in many club hotel eateries, was quite tasty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Wanted to experience millionaire dining without paying a million. Lunch at the Crane Cottage fit the bill. Good food. Loved the bread and dipping sauce. My salad looked just like the one in the picture. My only complaint was the tomatoes on the salad. July is peak tomato season. Why did I get unripe tomatoes that looked like they came from California?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal at Jekyll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We ate at several restaurants in Jekyll Island, and our lunch at Courtyard at Crane was by far the best. The food was fresh and well prepared; the chef clearly knew what he was doing. Lovely ambiance as well.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtyard at Crane also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Courtyard at Crane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard at Crane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.