We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCormicks Grill

McCormicks Grill
322 Captain Wylly Road, at The Clubhouse, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
912-635-4103
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Jekyll Island
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Thomaston, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we went for lunch and got a sandwich and hamburger which was huge. the views of the golf course was amazing. will go back again

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    16
    21
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Several great restaurants on the Island....this is NOT one of them!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have never written a bad review in my life, but there was just no way I could not inform travelers of our horid experience at this restaurant. This was our first visit to Jekyll Island, and believe me, there are some wonderful restaurants on the Island, so there is no need at all to visit this dump! Our experience began at the front door, where we had to step over vomit to get into the restaurant...that in and of itself should have been clue enough! We did decide to enter though, stood waiting, not knowing if we were to seat ourself or wait to be seated (should have known by the looks of the place that we would seat ourselves). One waitess walks up to us, only to check someone out and then walk off, not even acknowledging that we were there. A few minutes later, she tells us to seat ourselves. After passing 4 tables that had not been cleared from the previous patrons, we finally found a cleared table. Ten minutes later and still no waitress, so we decided to leave. On our way out we mentioned to the only waitresses we saw while there, that they needed to clean up a mess at the front door. She gave us a look that said she could care less. I have no doubt that the Golf Course is the only thing keeping this place in business, perhaps they have great service and drinks at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We eat here before and after our rounds of golf while at Jekyll. The breakfast is reasonably prices and generous. The hamburger at lunch is wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normal
1 review
“best food place on jekyll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

the best place on the island. great food and prices. i eat there at least once a week. it never gets old and its always quick service

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“1980 flashback”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We almost got up and left before someone came to take our drink order. Wish we had...it's right on the golf course, so I'm sure it's great for snack's etc, but for out-of-towners on vacation, you need to choose somewhere else. I have to just assume like others that restaurants like this get by because of reduced competition on the island. Our food was surely taken out of the freezer, heated up and served. Wife had a salad, and when they cut a slice of the processed cheese into little squares, we have to wonder how often they serve things other than fries. Breakfast may be better, but lunch would be a "no go!"

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormicks Grill also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to McCormicks Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormicks Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.