We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhurried, relaxing atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 31 Seafood Restaurant

Latitude 31 Seafood Restaurant
370 Riverview Drive, Historic Wharf, Jekyll Island, GA GA 31527
+1 912-635-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the historic wharf in the heart of the beautiful Jekyll Island Club National Historic Landmark District and overlooking the Jekyll River and famous Marshes of Glynn, Latitude 31 Seafood Restaurant serves amazingly fresh seafood, beef, pasta and certified organic poultry dishes with friendly and attentive service. Full bar.
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Unhurried, relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Located on the pier at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. Good service, good food (I had the scallops - large and lots of them). Small dining area, with tables overlooking the water and a bar area. Reservations recommended. Prices reasonable (dinner for two, with drinks, taxes, tip - $65.00 range).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    250
    146
    68
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Latitude 31 Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

At lunchtime, the Rah Bar and Latitude 31 Lunch menus are combined. At dinner time, Latitude 31 is an actual indoor restaurant and the Rah bar is an outdoor bar with drinks, music, and some food. We had lunch off of the Latitude 31 menu and it was very good. The selection is limited but the food was good. We got the shrimp, which was very fresh. We had a choice to get it as a sandwich, wrap, or salad. Overall it was a nice lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too Little for Too Much, Service Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were on our way to dinner at the Rah Bar (outside eating at Latitiude 31, but the music playing was too loud for us, so decided to eat inside... we had chicken with angel hair pasta $18 and Catch of the Day (Tuna) $20...food was o.k., waitress was friendly, but not informed, or informative...she didn't tell us the daily special, what the Catch of the Day was, whether it was available (she left to find out), my husband wanted some wine with dinner & since I wasn't planning on having any, ordered it by the glass for $6.50. He later realized he could have had a bottle for $12 & taken home any unfinished wine....our waitress should have pointed all this out.
I didn't finish my meal and wanted to take the rest home...she brought me an empty styrofoam container, so I could do it myself!!. Other restaurants usually take your plate away and bring your food back for you to take home.
She cleared our table, and neglected to ask if we wanted coffee or dessert and just brough us our bill.....$50 for 2 main meals, a glass of wine & a diet coke...no appetisers, dessert or coffee.
Needless to say, we probably won't return there for dinner!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island Ga
1 review
“Worst food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wife ordered shrimp and grits. Shrimp were small, torn, overcooked. Grits were....literally...a brick removed from the freezer and deep fat fried to a over done dry brick of grits. Close to overcooked McDonalds hash browns...only far worse. All this was thrown on a watery cheese sauce.
I ordered Red Fire Fettuccini. Again small, torn, overcooked shrimp. Pasta was passable. Sauce was poor quality and watery.
The entire entrees had to have been ordered frozen, removed from the freezer, and poorly prepared.
Our 4 th year visiting this restaurant....and our last.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just okay food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

For $80 including tip, we got 1 dozen raw oysters, 1 pound spiced shrimp, a hot dog, 1 slice of key lime pie, iced tea, and 2 draft beers. The best part was that the restaurant is on a pier overlooking the river. We should have tried the restaurant in the main hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latitude 31 Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia

Been to Latitude 31 Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 31 Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.