We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boiled Shrimp in Georgia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 310

Latitude 310
370 Riverview Drive, Historic Wharf, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
912 635 3305
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Dessert, Family Fare, Pasta, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For the freshest seafood and best atmosphere in the Golden Isles, come to the Historic Wharf on Jekyll Island and find yourself at Latitude 31º and the "Rah" Bar. Enjoy our Low Country Boil with Wild Georgia Peel-N-Eat Shrimp outside at the Rah Bar, or check out inside at Latitude 31º for our coastal lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh seafood, exciting pastas, beef, and a wonderful wine selection.
boca raton
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best Boiled Shrimp in Georgia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped for lunch outside at the RAH BAR next to Latitude 31 on the recommendation of some shop owners in the Landmark section of Jekyll Island. It is located on the historic wharf, right behind the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. You sit outside, on the water listening to live music on Saturday afternoon.
Food choices for lunch are limited but it does not matter---GET THE BOILED SHRIMP! We ordered a half pound for my wife and I had a blackened Shrimp salad. Hers came out first and they were hot, plump, sprinkled with I believe Old Bay and with tartar sauce and a combination of butter and hot sauce. Until that day I was not a fan of boiled shrimp, but after tasting one of them dipped in the butter hot sauce mixture, I could not get enough.
The salad was very good but after we finished it and the boiled shrimp we ordered a second half pound and enjoyed every one of them. Our waiter indicated they were brought in fresh, from their own boat and they sure tasted like it.
I do not know how good the Latitude 31 restaurant is, but since it is connected with the RAH BAR, it has to be OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    193
    91
    45
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a lovely setting on the wharf, overlooking the Jekyll River and marsh! I anticipated a lovely dinner on my first night on Jekyll. I was disappointed. The Grouper Hemmingway tasted of nothing but lemon caper butter--otherwise, no flavor. The Key Lime Pie was run-of-the-mill. I must say the service was excellent, but most menu items are incredibly overpriced. Drop the pretense and just serve good food at reasonable prices! The next time, I'll try the Rah Bar. They looked like they were having much more fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“second time around better than the first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

On our second visit to Jekyll we once again ate here because of the close proximity to The Jekyll Island Club Hotel, and the beautiful views. This time our service was wonderful, as was the food. I had broiled scallops, my husband had sea bass, and the couple with us had shrimp and grits. All were delicious and our waitress was very attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Superb service and dinner. Stick with the seafood. Ample portions and cooked to perfection. Rather than fried, asked that fish be sauteed in garlic, lemon and butter. Without hesitation, request was granted. Seafood prices were most reasonable. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice view and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staff very warm and friendly. Food is fine yet nothing extraordinary. Great view. A bit on the expensive side for what you get (in terms of refinement - quality and quantity fine).
Broken AC the night we were there so very hot and humid.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latitude 310 also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Latitude 310? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 310, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.