We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$$$$$$” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fins On The Beach - CLOSED

Fins On The Beach
201 N. Beachview Dr., Jekyll Island, GA 31527 (Formerly Blackbeard's)
912-635-3522
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Jekyll Island visitors and residents alike have been anticipating a fresh new restaurant, designed to satisfy their every seafood craving and now they have it with Fins on the beach! The former Blackbeard’s Seafood Restaurant, has been completely renovated and features a revamped and improved food and drink selection. The menu at Fins has been built from scratch to provide delicious flavors, unbeatable freshness and variety to please everyone. Enjoy signature dishes like the Fried Oyster Bucket or the Key West Salmon Salad! What are you waiting for? Join us on the back deck, overlooking the beautiful Jekyll Island beach and ocean and try out this fun new place to dine!
Merrill, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“$$$$$$$$”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Waaaaay to pricey. Great location but high end over the top. Will seek out good food at a batter value when we stay our annual week on one of our favorite islands!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    128
    80
    43
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Some of the reviews we read before we came here had mixed feelings on the food and as such, we almost didn't go. But we were happy we did -- the food was delicious and was reasonably priced. Like previous reviewers mentioned, we enjoyed the complimentary hushpuppies they provide when you sit down at the table. We ordered the grilled and jerk seasoned varieties of the fish platter and felt they were delicious without being dressed with a lot of butter. The vegetable sides -- perfectly cooked green beans, red potatoes and red beans and rice were pleasing. We left having enjoyed a nice meal without a punch to the pocketbook!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Boring food in an amazing setting !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Well I'll start off by saying my wife got the shrimp and grits 18$ and it was awesome ! The free hush puppies are the best ever ! I got the " signature dish " fish tacos 11$ that taste fresh but bland . My daughter got a chicken Caesar wrap that was ok . The little one ( 4 ) got the kids hot dog and fries 7$ . But the view ..... Priceless . Kind service but slow on the food . I would go back if not just for the view !

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good view of the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After riding our bikes on a Sunday we were looking for a place to have lunch. It was too windy to eat outside but that would be the place to sit if the weather was agreeable. The inside is nice enough with a good view of the ocean. The special that day was a crab cake sandwich with a side. The crab cake was huge and the side I chose was fresh nicely steamed vegetables. Service and price were great. Free hushpuppies at the start that were nicely fried and delicious. We are looking forward to eating there again when the weather is nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“OK food in a beautiful setting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

What we had was good. We had Gumbo and Shrimp Salad with Mango Dressing. The soups here are from a bag, not homemade but it was good. Service was friendly and efficient. Complimentary Hushpuppies were good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins On The Beach also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fins On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.